Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

PREMIUM

What the Hex

Fans of Clare’s Go Hex Yourself will be happy with this follow-up in which Willem and Penny continue the enemies-to-lovers arc, with their own twist. Hand to readers who love witty banter, the fake-dating trope, and couples who fall hard fast.
PREMIUM

The Nanny

Readers who enjoyed Julie Murphy and Sierra Simone’s A Merry Little Meet Cute will adore this positive, upbeat, sex-filled romp.
PREMIUM

Jasmine and Jake Rock the Boat

An enemies-to-lovers romance full of humor and heart. Readers will fall in love with Jasmine, Jake, and the cast of aunties, uncles, and friends who help them along the way in Lalli’s latest (after A Holly Jolly Diwali).

Happy Place

This sexy and profoundly romantic novel will satisfy fans of best-selling Henry’s (Book Lovers) thrilling trademark mix of witty banter and intensely emotional storylines.
PREMIUM

Off-Earth: Ethical Questions and Quandaries for Living in Outer Space

This well-researched and accessible book is for general readers or those interested in the philosophy of science or the ethics of space travel.
PREMIUM

Twelve Hours in Manhattan

Gabriel’s (After Perfect) sophomore novel offers great hope and a grand happy ending.
PREMIUM

Seven Rules for Breaking Hearts

Romance readers who enjoy single-point-of-view enemies-to-lovers romances will enjoy this solid if predictable debut from Miller. Recommended as a read-alike to The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood.

Wildlife Anatomy: The Curious Lives & Features of Wild Animals Around the World

This book, more than many like it, will entice readers to consult it over and over, consistently finding new information each time they do. Highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

The Only Game in Town

Bursting with charm and humor, this novel from Waldon (From the Jump) is unputdownable, and readers will clamor for more stories set in Redford.

Will They or Won’t They

Wilder (How To Fake It in Hollywood) has created a gem of a novel with characters who unfold in complex and unexpected ways. The grounded Hollywood story utilizes a perfectly paced slow-burn romance, and at the end there’s a winking nod to the entire journey.
PREMIUM

Double-Decker Dreams

Recommended for readers hooked on Josie Silver’s One Day in December and craving another chance-encounter-on-a-London-bus romance.
PREMIUM

Wyoming Wild

With lots of danger and intrigue, Eden’s latest will keep readers on the edge of their seats, but constant threats tend to dim the fragile romance between Hawk and Liesl. This historical romance is a stand-alone novel, but fans of Eden’s The Sheriffs of Savage Wells will be happy to see so many familiar faces return to action here.
PREMIUM

Mushrooming: An Illustrated Guide to the Fantastic, Delicious, Deadly, and Strange World of Fungi

This book would complement environmental art and nature lovers’ collections. It also pairs well with works about Beatrix Potter’s artwork, Paul Stamets’s contributions to mycology, and Eugenia Bone’s Mycophilia. A beautiful artistic exploration and tribute to mushrooms for their own beauty and value.
PREMIUM

The Cleaving

McKenna (The Green Man’s Gift) tells a compelling new story from an old tale that is timely, giving the women of Arthur’s heroic tale a voice and place in this world. Give to fans of Michael J. Sullivan and David Dalglish who appreciate stories with swordplay, revenge, and medieval adventure.
PREMIUM

Dual Memory

This rollicking thriller from Burke (Immunity Index) moves at a fast pace but manages to maintain its focus on the true threats of climate change and human hubris, all the while keeping readers riveted and entertained.
PREMIUM

Witch King

After the rousing success of “The Murderbot Diaries,” Wells has returned to her fantasy roots in a tale of revolt, rebellion, and betrayal. Readers looking for more Murderbot may be disappointed, but fantasy readers looking for new worlds and characters to explore will be enthralled.
PREMIUM

The Warden

Ford (Cheap Heat) begins an appealing new fantasy series filled with adventure, action, and old magic.
PREMIUM

Backpacking Through Bedlam

Following on Spelunking Through Hell, this latest installment in the “InCryptid” series continues to highlight the fast action, delightful cryptids and the gloriously dysfunctional family dynamics the Prices are known for. Urban fantasy fans will rejoice.
PREMIUM

Paved Paradise: How Parking Explains the World

Grabar offers an intriguing, wide-ranging, readable perspective of the urban American parking scene, its issues, and possible future.
PREMIUM

The Angel Makers: Arsenic, a Midwife, and Modern History’s Most Astonishing Murder Ring

True crime readers are sure to enjoy this debut.
PREMIUM

The Thick and the Lean

The two storylines in Porter’s (The Seep) latest, particularly Beatrice’s story of accepting herself for who she is and what she loves in spite of everything, will make readers hunger for more.
PREMIUM

Truth and Repair: How Trauma Survivors Envision Justice

An intriguing exploration of alternative methods of justice for trauma survivors.
PREMIUM

Sugar, Spice, and Can’t Play Nice

A strikingly vibrant love story for modern dreamers and hopeless romantics. Those who’ve read Sharma’s Love, Chai, and Other Four-Letter Words will be happy to see familiar characters return in this follow-up, but newcomers will also be able to enjoy it as a stand-alone.
PREMIUM

Best Men

Karger tells a good and ultimately compelling story, but readers seeking a romantic tale may be disappointed by the focus on the main character’s internal struggles.
PREMIUM

Love, Nature, Magic: Shamanic Journeys into the Heart of My Garden

Recommended for people who love gardening or those with an interest in spiritual connections with nature.
PREMIUM

At Work in the Ruins: Finding Our Place in the Time of Science, Climate Change, Pandemics & All the Other Emergencies

A thought-provoking suggestion for readers well versed in climate discourse.
PREMIUM

A Rogue’s Rules for Seduction

Leigh’s series installment will appeal to readers seeking a scintillating historical romance that is engaging and erotic, a heartwarming reunion with more than one happy ending. Recommended for fans of Tessa Dare, Ella Quinn, and Sarah MacLean.
PREMIUM

Birdgirl: Looking to the Skies in Search of a Better Future

This is Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle meets Neil Hayward’s Lost Among the Birds, and it will likely generate strong millennial appeal as well.

The Dueling Duchess

Readers who enjoyed The Boxing Baroness won’t want to miss Spencer’s sequel. Indeed, anyone who appreciates strong, unconventional heroines—and the Regency-era heroes who know (or at least manage to learn) better than to take them for granted

Mrs. Nash’s Ashes

Adler’s delightful opposites-attract debut is perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey and Christina Lauren; good for all public library collections.
PREMIUM

Monstrilio

An enthralling debut that packs a heavy emotional punch. Fans of domestic horror like Zoje Stage’s Baby Teeth or Ashley Audrain’s The Push will find a lot to chew on here.

A House with Good Bones

Highly recommended for lovers of Southern gothics, readers who like their horror to sneak up on them, and anyone who appreciates the voice of Kingfisher (What Moves the Dead), no matter what genre she’s currently writing.
PREMIUM

Piñata

A great choice for readers who enjoy novels where the true horrors of colonization and human-rights atrocities are corrected in gruesomely riveting fashion while retaining the utmost respect to the victims, as seen in the works of V. Castro, Stephen Graham Jones, and Tananarive Due.
PREMIUM

Goes Like This

These emotionally resonant, innovatively illustrated stories assure Crane’s standing as one of the finest storytellers of his generation.
PREMIUM

Starhenge, Bk. 1: The Dragon and the Boar Deluxe Edition

Sharp weaves together Celtic mythology, Christian theology, Arthurian legend, linguistics, theoretical physics, and astronomy in an immensely ambitious and tremendously trippy epic adventure. (This edition collects the first six issues of an ongoing series.) Think The Terminator meets Excalibur with more arcane philosophy, or The Green Knight meets 12 Monkeys with terrifying cyborgs.
PREMIUM

The Deadly Weed

Harrison’s 10th “Reverend Mother” mystery (following Murder in the Cathedral) is repetitive, and the details about Sir Walter Raleigh, tobacco, and Ireland tend to overshadow the mystery, making it almost secondary. Will appeal only to readers of the long-running series or historical-mystery buffs.
PREMIUM

Symphony of Secrets

Slocumb’s second novel (following The Violin Conspiracy) is an improbable but fun mystery that will attract fans of Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code (a lot of readers, in other words).

The Rescue

For lovers of quality crime fiction; Parker (Then She Vanished) never disappoints.
PREMIUM

Scorched Grace

The first book from suspense novelist Gillian Flynn’s imprint at Zando. Sister Holiday’s violent, sexually provocative past life and her current language and behavior might be too outrageous for some readers, but the series has already been acquired for a prestige-television adaptation.

Before She Finds Me

Fans of suburban thrillers or of Lisa Unger and Alex Finlay will want to read this one.
PREMIUM

Just One More

This is Lyon’s first foray into suspense, after writing mostly romance and women’s fiction (most recently contributing to The Inns of Devonshire). Consider this for purchase where the LDS community is strong, as Lyon has an audience there.
PREMIUM

Standing Dead

Readers who have followed the story of Mattie’s family through Mizushima’s other “Timber Creek K-9” mysteries will enjoy this fast-paced, relentlessly tense installment.

The Poisoner’s Ring

Armstrong’s intriguing and atmospheric time-travel mystery will appeal to readers who enjoy historical detail.
PREMIUM

The Sandman Universe: Nightmare Country, Vol. 1

Tynion and Estherren have crafted an intriguingly mysterious thriller that evokes the distinct gothic sensibility of Gaiman’s original “Sandman” series.

How I’ll Kill You

Not for the squeamish, but fans of Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister the Serial Killer or of Patricia Highsmith’s Ripley novels will be equally ensnared in DeStefano’s assured literary clutches.
PREMIUM

The Last Kingdom

Berry is like a fine-tuned machine, melding historical fact and authentic locales within a complex fictional storyline. History enthusiasts will relish the intricate research behind the spy-versus-spy thriller, which challenges readers to consider historical what-ifs.
PREMIUM

Survival Street

Absurd humor and hyper-violence collide in this blisteringly satirical mash-up of Sesame Street and Robocop from Asmus (Rick and Morty) and Festante (Field Tripping).

Nejishiki

A disturbing, thoroughly captivating depiction of masculinity in postwar Japan.
PREMIUM

Harvey Knight’s Odyssey

Maandag’s combination of surrealism and deadpan humor makes these stories unpredictable, unforgettably weird, and thoroughly entertaining.

The White Lady

The award-winning author of the Maisie Dobbs series skillfully juggles three timelines in a riveting stand-alone about a woman whose wartime experiences overshadow her post-war retirement.
PREMIUM

Bert and Mamie Take a Cruise

Suggest for fans of pre-war mysteries or Agatha Christie.
PREMIUM

A Tempest at Sea

Who doesn’t enjoy a murder mystery at sea? While this seventh “Lady Sherlock” mystery (after Miss Moriarty, I Presume) does not advance the larger series plot in any way, it is still an amusing look at characters fans have grown to love. Readers of authors such as Deanna Raybourn should give these novels a try. While this could work as a stand-alone, best to start with book one to fully appreciate the skillful character development.
PREMIUM

Brooklyn’s Last Secret

An immersive odyssey featuring a cast of truly lovable characters.

Murder at an Irish Bakery

Siobhan and her Garda husband Macdara Flannery add humor and zest to this follow-up to Murder on an Irish Farm. Fans of competitive baking shows or Amy Patricia Meade’s cozy mysteries will enjoy it.

Wined and Died in New Orleans

Byron, author of the award-winning “Cajun Country” mysteries, combines setting, vintage cookbooks, recipes, and family drama in another delectable cozy.

All That Is Mine I Carry with Me

Fans of Megan Goldin and Hank Phillippi Ryan and those who like open endings, complex plots, stories about family dynamics, and convoluted whodunits will devour this novel.
PREMIUM

Chalice of Darkness

The author of the Phineas Fox mysteries launches a series featuring a family of thieves, beginning with this dramatic gothic mystery.

The Winter Knight

Battis (Bleeding Out) gives Arthurian retellings a new twist with this queer urban fantasy.
PREMIUM

To Shape a Dragon’s Breath

Blackgoose blends Indigenous history with fantastical beasts, taking themes of inequality and social agency in new directions. An excellent crossover novel for adults and young adults alike.
PREMIUM

Quantum Radio

Eclectic author Riddle (Lost in Time) combines science and history to create a riveting thriller.

The Surviving Sky

This Hindu-inspired sci-fi fantasy is a transcendent debut, full of cosmic magic and set in an exquisitely glorious and treacherous world. Such a daring ecological and metaphysical endeavor is perfect for fans of Wesley Chu and Brandon Sanderson.

Never Too Old To Save the World: A Midlife-Calling Anthology

Highly recommended for lovers of woman-forward SF/F and any reader still waiting for that wardrobe to open.
PREMIUM

Grimhaven

Tasker’s (1903–44) unromantic, soul-baring account combines the authenticity of memoir with the stirring progress of a bildungsroman. A worthy revival.
PREMIUM

On the Marble Cliffs

More than a mere roman à clef about Hitler or Stalin (or both), Jünger’s vivid and evocative narrative transcends its moment in capturing the ageless struggle between our individuality and creative wonder, and the darkness and terror sure to follow when people abandon themselves to belief, even if only to a belief in nothing.
PREMIUM

The Bolivian Diary

Among Seven Stories Press’s vibrant English and Spanish editions of Che’s complete works, this raw account of his desperate and ultimately tragic final campaign makes a riveting and sobering bookend to the youthful idealism of his cult classic The Motorcycle Diaries.
PREMIUM

Damage

Next to the often-contrived twists and revelations of today’s psychological suspense, Hart’s spare tale of all-consuming obsession is refreshingly straightforward. Louis Malle directed a 1992 film adaptation of the same name; a limited series for Netflix is currently underway, so anticipate demand.
PREMIUM

Black Empire

A proto-Afrofuturist potboiler poised between Black Panther and the works of Percival Everett, this fascinating glimpse beyond the Harlem Renaissance canon anticipates Black power and Afrocentrist themes.
PREMIUM

25 Ready-To-Use Sustainable Living Programs for Libraries

A useful collection of ideas for libraries interested in offering sustainable-living programs.
PREMIUM

The Amazing Spider-Man: Web-Slinger, Hero, Icon

A necessary addition to library pop culture collections.
PREMIUM

Birdlife: A Naturalist’s Guide to Birds of the Southeast

A useful companion to classic guidebooks, rounding out collections for birders in the Southeastern U.S.
PREMIUM

Ikebana: The Zen Way of Flowers

This visually striking art book will appeal to all who appreciate the beauty of ikebana and might inspire readers to try their hand at creating their own hanaike using Ueno’s techniques.
PREMIUM

2023 Night Sky Almanac: A Month-by-Month Guide to North America’s Skies from the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada

More than 60 illustrations and detailed monthly notes makes this a good choice for Northern Hemisphere public libraries.
PREMIUM

Planktonia: The Nightly Migration of the Ocean’s Smallest Creatures

Sea angels, tonguefish, hydromedusae, and peppermint shrimp in all their majestic beauty. Consider for all libraries.
PREMIUM

The Tracker’s Field Guide: A Comprehensive Manual for Animal Tracking

Improved photos, updated species names, and ample sources make this revised edition a recommended choice, particularly for rural libraries.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?