Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Book Banning Continues Across the U.S. | Book Pulse

EarlyWord's August GalleyChat | Book Pulse

'Before We Were Trans' by Dr. Kit Heyam Tops September Loanstars List | Book Pulse

SF/Fantasy/Fairy Tale Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Top Fall Debut Novels | 20 Titles To Know

Arts & Fashion Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Historical Fiction Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Family, Friends, Coming of Age: Contemporary Fiction Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Pulitzer Prize-Winning Author David McCullough Dies At 89 | Book Pulse

House and Home | The Most Sought-After Titles by Public Libraries

Read-Alikes for ‘The Family Remains’ by Lisa Jewell | LibraryReads

'The Family Remains' by Lisa Jewell Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Cinderella’s Secret Baby

Add this title to shelves for fans of slow-burn romance novels.
PREMIUM

Capturing the CEO’s Guarded Heart

This first in a series from Winters (Second Chance with His Princess) is a fast-paced and sweet romance with a beautiful and scenic Parisian setting.
PREMIUM

Wealth Management

The chapters are unusually short, enabling Zuckerman to keep a lot of thematic balls in the air; he really hits his stride in his first time out, telling a story torn from the headlines with a quick-read focus.
PREMIUM

Her Highlander for One Night

Brisbin (The Highlander’s Inconvenient Bride) shines in this tropey, meant-to-be romance that is perfect for fans of hot-and-heavy highlander stories.
PREMIUM

Murder on the Vine

Fans of David P. Wagner’s Italian mysteries will appreciate the lush descriptions of food and wine in Trinchieri’s third atmospheric “Tuscan Mystery” (following The Bitter Taste of Murder). The complicated personal relationships (helpfully elucidated in the book’s list of characters) add to the enjoyment.
PREMIUM

Reunion at Greystone Manor

Unfortunately, this stand-alone novel from Vanek (Rescue from Darkness) has a convoluted plot and a rather unconvincing second-chance romance.
PREMIUM

Dead on Arrival

Libraries will find this book from Severn (Dead Giveaway) an excellent addition to their Harlequin collection.
PREMIUM

The Marriage That Made Her Queen

Anthony does an excellent job of developing characters and backstory, but perhaps a fresh story line would keep readers more engaged.
PREMIUM

Protected by the Texas Rancher

Though the romance is a bit stronger than the suspense with this one, readers who have enjoyed Whiddon’s (Texas Rancher’s Hidden Danger) other Getaway, TX, novels will be satisfied with this one as well.
PREMIUM

Last Chance Reunion: An Enemies-to-Lovers Reunion Romance

Singh Sasson has a gift for depicting close-knit family bonds and showing the importance of resolving familial trauma before a romantic relationship can thrive.
PREMIUM

My Year with the Billionaire

A second-chance romance with the twist of enemies-to-lovers, this contemporary novel from Stewart (The Billionaire Behind the Headlines) will have readers rooting for Summer and Edward from the first page.
PREMIUM

The Pregnancy Proposal: A Passionate One-Night Romance

Bryant’s (An Offer from Mr. Wrong) surprise-pregnancy story succeeds on the strength of the characters.
PREMIUM

Awakened by the Wild Billionaire

Romance readers will be interested in Mason’s first novel that is sure to draw in the contemporary reading fans.
PREMIUM

An Ex To Remember: A Western Romance with an Amnesia Twist

Lemmon’s (Million-Dollar Consequences) appealing character work imbues this story with heart.
PREMIUM

How To Marry a Bad Boy: A Glamorous Marriage-of-Convenience Romance

McKenna once again combines business and personal matters in the resolution of the love story, fitting for characters who need to make the leap from a professional to a personal relationship.
PREMIUM

Falling for His Stand-In Fiancée

The latest from Milne (Second Chance in Sri Lanka) is a modern marriage-of-convenience story with genuine characters that will leave readers wanting more.
PREMIUM

Escape from Ice Mountain

The latest from Miles (Gaslighted in Colorado) could have better dialogue and characterization and features a relationship that feels a bit forced.
PREMIUM

May the Best Duke Win

In this debut novel, Belgado uses a feminist lens on the historical romance genre. Her sumptuous writing brings drama and a little bit of spice to the forced-marriage and single-forever tropes that readers know and love.
PREMIUM

Pregnant Innocent Behind the Veil

Another title romance readers will be snatching off the shelves.
PREMIUM

Claimed by Her Greek Boss

The latest from Lawrence (Innocent in the Sicilian’s Palazzo) is a passionate love story that will draw in Harlequin fans.
PREMIUM

Their Desert Night of Scandal

Readers will flock to this well-written, international romance.
PREMIUM

The Comeback Heir: A Single-Dad Second-Chance Romance

Readers might wish that Maynard (Staking a Claim) had focused more on building the emotional connection between her characters, instead of bridging the emotional gaps with a series of increasingly intense outside incidents, to but they ultimately work as catalysts for the characters to acknowledge the full depth of their feelings.
PREMIUM

The King’s Christmas Heir

Well-plotted and developed, this would be an excellent addition to any collection.
PREMIUM

Best Man Rancher: A Western Romance

Yates nicely depicts the slowly developing trust between the characters, and though the road is long, the happy ending is deserved.
PREMIUM

Captured on Kauai

While the writing is occasionally stilted, Flowers’s love of Hawai‘i and background as a criminologist make an impact. .
PREMIUM

Tempting the Sensible Lady Violet

This is a steamier series than Shepherd’s previous books and is complemented by detailed characters and a strong understanding of trope pitfalls.
PREMIUM

How To Woo a Wallflower

Heath’s (The Earl’s Inconvenient Houseguest) series launch, with a slow-burn romance and a heroine with a disability, is sure to woo fans of Regency romances; both leads are well-drawn and relatable.
PREMIUM

The Millionaire’s Italian Invitation

A fun take on the friends-to-lovers trope from Darkins (Rules of Their Parisian Fling). Ally and Caleb will have everyone falling in love with their story.
PREMIUM

Cowboy Justice at Whiskey Gulch

Best for those who enjoy dramatic story lines or fans who want to continue the “Outriders” series, after Missing Witness at Whiskey Gulch.
PREMIUM

Colton’s Rogue Investigation

Overall, the romance and the suspense are rather tepid, making this an unobjectionable but also uninspiring read.
PREMIUM

Stranded with His Runaway Bride

Recommend Howells’s (Desert Prince’s Defiant Bride) must-read to those who enjoy royal wedding tales.
PREMIUM

Cavanaugh Justice: Up Close and Deadly

Bound to appeal only to the most die-hard series fans, the latest “Cavanaugh Justice” book (after Cavanaugh Justice: Up Close and Deadly) suffers from both a lackluster romance and an improbably motivated villain who doesn’t even make an appearance until the last chapter.
PREMIUM

Montana Wilderness Pursuit

Purchase for fans of Winters’s “STEALTH: Shadow Team” series, whose previous installment was Lone Wolf Bounty Hunter.
PREMIUM

The Lost Hart Triplet

This series launch from Helm (Undercover Rescue) is a highlight of this month’s offerings.
PREMIUM

Because I Could Not Stop for Death

Agatha Award winner Flower’s (“Amish Candy Shop” and “Magical Bookshop” series) first historical mystery introduces a courageous Emily Dickinson as a protagonist who’s stronger than expected. The thoughtful story involving class, social, and political issues may appeal to the poet’s fans, as well as readers of Edith Maxwell’s “Quaker Midwife Mysteries” series.
PREMIUM

A Pretend Match for the Viscount

In this classic Regency romance, Martin (The Marquess Meets His Match) explores the nuances of society life, the delicacy of the position of women at the time, and the joy of unexpected romance.
PREMIUM

Secrets of Her Forbidden Knight

Matthews is a master of atmosphere, diligently researching the medieval era and making it easy for the reader to envision the setting and characters entirely. This title is full of lush prose and delicious suspense that are sure to entertain and ensnare readers, especially fans of the fake-engagement trope.
PREMIUM

Finding Karen Black: Roots Become Wings

Focused more on Bay’s journey than on her mother’s, this memoir may appeal to other adopted children searching for their roots, plus to those seeking self-realization.
PREMIUM

The Third Reconstruction: America’s Struggle for Racial Justice in the Twenty-First Century

Joseph centers the work of Black women and activists, while demonstrating that the current backlash to racial equity progress has deep roots in history. A compelling analysis of current events.
PREMIUM

Nothing but the Night: Leopold & Loeb and the Truth Behind the Murder That Rocked 1920s America

While the full truth of what happened may never be known, the authors make a compelling case for who the instigator was and will have readers debating the root cause.
PREMIUM

Organize, Fight, Win: Black Communist Women’s Political Writing

This book returns the voices of Black women Communists to their rightful place in histories of labor, race, and gender in the 20th century. Libraries serving historians or general readers interested in Black women’s history and activism need to add this to their shelves.

Rise of the Black Quarterback: What It Means for America

A highly recommended and important study, ideal for sports fans and those wanting another view of Black history in the United States.
PREMIUM

Conflicted Scars: An Average Player’s Journey to the NHL

Recommended for libraries serving youth athletes and their parents and coaches.

A Reluctant Saint

Fields’s seventh Josie Gray mystery is a timely police procedural that deals with current issues from border policing to election tampering. Suggest for readers who appreciate atmospheric procedurals that capitalize on setting.
PREMIUM

The Last Karankawas

Populated by indelible characters, this graceful, deeply compassionate work is a moving study of memory, the permeable boundaries it shares with myth, how it roils and folds and persists into the present, and how we are often forced to choose between learning to live inside it and trying to outrun it.

Moth

Indian political history is effectively played out in this intense, focused debut, with Razak’s eloquent writing making historical events seem like they are just taking place now.

The 2022 PEN Translates Winners Announced | Book Pulse

Beyond Superheroes: The Expanding Universe of Graphic Novels

The 2022 New American Voices Award Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

August Book Club Picks Arrive | Book Pulse

Fall Picks | LJ's Review Editors' Reading Lists

Reading Inside and Out | Fall Book Preview

Invisible Child, Dirty Work, Rage of Innocence, Believing, and More in Social Sciences | Academic Best Sellers

Historical, Contemporary, and Futuristic Chills: Thriller Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

The World War II Era: History Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Love, Friendship, Family & Historical Reckonings: Memoir Previews, Feb. 2023, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Hiron Ennes's 'Leech'; Jane Igharo's 'Where We End & Begin'; and 64 Other Excellent Titles | August 2022 Starred Reviews

Stephen King To Testify in Federal Antitrust Case Against the Penguin Random House and Simon & Schuster Merger | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘Black Dog’ by Stuart Woods | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Night Eaters: She Eats the Night

An intriguing first entry in a promised trilogy, sure to leave fans anticipating the second installment.
PREMIUM

An Indiscreet Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria’s Defiant Daughter

Anglophiles and history buffs will enjoy seeing inside the lives of the royal family and find inspiration in Louise’s strength. Readers of Marie Benedict and Melanie Benjamin will want to scoop up Blalock’s (The Other Windsor Girl) latest.
PREMIUM

One Woman’s War: A Novel of the Real Miss Moneypenny

Fans of James Bond will definitely want to check out this novel. Readers of Ben MacIntyre’s Operation Mincemeat may also enjoy Wells’s take on this. This title features the usual cast, but due to its telling from the viewpoints of two charismatic women, it offers a fresh women-centric perspective not always found hand in hand with military themes.
PREMIUM

Signal Fires

Creator of the popular podcast Family Secrets, acclaimed novelist/memoirist Shapiro (Inheritance) writes with compassion and a deep understanding of the damage that secrets wreak. Shapiro’s first novel in 15 years was well worth the wait.
PREMIUM

Upside Dawn

Jason’s virtuosic storytelling and idiosyncratic perspective remain as compelling as ever in this essential new collection.
PREMIUM

My Government Means To Kill Me

Unfortunately, the raw, powerful immediacy of the novel is too often interrupted by a didactic distraction that mostly functions to distance the reader from the action, but Newson’s reputation as a TV writer/showrunner (Bel-Air) will attract attention.

Mademoiselle Revolution

A richly imagined work of historical women’s fiction incorporating themes of diversity and equality very relevant today, this thrilling debut will give book clubs much to discuss.
PREMIUM

Phenomena: The Golden City of Eyes

Bendis and Araújo have created a fascinating world of adventure, with intriguing mysteries and likable characters galore. A wildly entertaining first installment.

Birds of Maine

DeForge’s often hilarious, sometimes cutting satire is made more impactful by the sense he’s driven less by anger than compassion for those trapped in absurd, faltering systems. Not to be missed.
PREMIUM

Take It from Me

Many women will see aspects of themselves here in this relatable women’s fiction from Beck (The Happy Accidents). It should appeal to book clubs and readers who enjoy books by Danielle Steel or Kristin Hannah.

Unleashed

In this poignant novel, Emmons reveals how people react under high levels of stress, capturing the reader’s imagination as she moves in an unexpected direction. Excellent for book discussion groups.
PREMIUM

About Face

An insightful, wild, and wildly appealing romp that zeros in on the all-consuming nature of celebrity in the social media–fueled environment of the 21st century.

Our Missing Hearts

Ng’s beautiful yet chilling tale will resonate with readers who enjoyed Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Jessamine Chan’s more recent School for Good Mothers. As with her previous novels, her storytelling will not disappoint.
PREMIUM

Afterlives

Will appeal to aficionados of historical fiction but could leave others yearning for a deeper understanding of the characters’ motivations for their sometimes inexplicable actions. Still, the Nobel Prize bestowed renewed international acclaim on Gurnah’s body of work, making this novel a must-have.

Carrie Soto Is Back

Reid (Daisy Jones & the Six) has written another knockout of a book. Public libraries will need multiple copies.
PREMIUM

The Mitford Affair

Benedict captures the mood of a certain element of upper-class England in the years leading up to World War II. Appearances by historical figures like Winston Churchill and Evelyn Waugh round out the story. Fans of World War II historical fiction will be fascinated.

Factory Girls

From the author of Big Girl, Small Town, this novel is a wonder; the heroine is cheeky, the humor dark, the dialect thick, the sorrow palpable. Fans of Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast and television’s Derry Girls will find much to love.
PREMIUM

The Wilderwomen

Reminiscent of Catherine Ryan Hyde, Lang focuses the main characters’ journey toward finding and cherishing family and friendship under challenging circumstances.
PREMIUM

The Goddess Effect

This is a funny and fresh coming-of-age tale. Recommended for readers of Elin Hilderbrand or Jennifer Weiner.

Happyish

Cuban American Escudero (The Apology Project) writes a sometimes gritty, occasionally hilarious, and mostly heart-wrenching story. A relatable, gripping tale, infused with Latinx culture, that packs an emotional wallop.

Sugar Street

A story of the desperation and ultimate impossibility of isolation, Dee’s narrative is a spider web of questions that won’t let readers go, questions like where does insanity begin and end? Readers of Dee’s earlier novels will not want to miss this page-turner.
PREMIUM

Emergency

The pandemic provides a lens through which Hildyard’s narrator assembles a pastiche of memories. This quiet, well-written novel, which has a surprise ending, is worth a look.
PREMIUM

Among Wolves

Readers will find 50 shades of domestic suspense in this sexy thriller focused on unreliable narrators and cheating spouses. Regular readers of the genre will likely have the twist figured out long before the ending, but they will enjoy the journey. Recommended for readers of Tarryn Fisher or Shari Lapena.

The Cloisters

The tension and foreboding builds gradually in this outstanding gothic debut, allowing readers to savor Ann’s voice. The disturbing account plays with class differences and women friendship, set against a medieval, academic atmosphere sheltered from the city.
PREMIUM

Behind Her Lives

Cole’s characters are well developed and compelling. Fans of B. A. Paris and Liv Constantine will enjoy this book.
PREMIUM

No Strangers Here

Known for her cozies, O’Connor (“Home to Ireland” and “Irish Village” series) moves into darker territory here. For fans of Louise Penny.
PREMIUM

Marple: Twelve New Mysteries

Readers will be eager to try this anthology as a dozen celebrated crime fiction authors try their hand at writing traditional short stories featuring Christie’s amateur sleuth. As in any collection, some stories stand out, but they all capture the character of the shrewd, always underestimated Miss Marple.

Secret Lives

Add another wise, experienced senior sleuth to a group that includes Richard Osman’s “Thursday Murder Club” series and even Miss Marple. De Castrique’s (“Blackman Agency Investigations” series) quirky characters and offbeat twists will appeal to Osman’s readers.
PREMIUM

Flight Risk

This lighthearted mystery with its travel agent/psychic and her occasional, unofficial partner is a good choice for cozy mystery lovers, animal lovers, and fans of the author. Recommended.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?