Moreno-Garcia, Silvia

9 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

This is historical science fiction at its best: a dreamy reimagining of a classic story with vivid descriptions of lush jungles and feminist themes. Some light romance threads through the heavier ethical questions concerning humanity. Readers of Isabel Cañas’s The Hacienda will be drawn in by the setting and themes; fans of other classic remixes, such as Megan Shepherd’s The Madman’s Daughter, will also enjoy.

Velvet Was the Night

Fans of Moreno-Garcia’s other novels will relish this title, as will noir aficionados and readers who like stories about everymen and -women rising to the occasion.
PREMIUM

Certain Dark Things

This vampire crime thriller with romance elements will have wide appeal, especially among the author’s many fans.
PREMIUM

Mexican Gothic

This original, well-paced novel from Moreno-Garcia (Gods of Jade and Shadow) has great gothic elements with a little VanderMeer creativity thrown in. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]

Untamed Shore

This thriller sets a quiet tone before building slowly and evenly, showing how a meek teenager trapped by circumstance grows into a strong woman who takes control of her future, though in the end it might change who she is. For fans of Celeste Ng, Alafair Burke, and Kent Anderson.

Gods of Jade and Shadow

Purchase where Naomi Novik, Nnedi Okorafor, and N.K. Jemisin are popular. [See Prepub Alert, 2/18/19.]
PREMIUM

The Beautiful Ones

The talented author of Certain Dark Things and Signal to Noise returns with a novel that is light on fantasy but overflowing with delicious melodrama.
PREMIUM

Certain Dark Things

The Mexican setting is a huge part of the allure of this new novel from Moreno-Garcia (Signal to Noise), as are the fascinating varieties of vampires she sets forth.
PREMIUM

Dead North: Canadian Zombie Fiction

A few of the stories contain scenes of a graphic nature, but for the most part this anthology is appropriate for teenage audiences and up. If you're a fan of zombie fiction, this book has enough originality mixed with the usual tropes to make it a worthwhile read.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?