Matthews, John

61 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Great Book of King Arthur: And His Knights of the Round Table

Valuable to those interested in literary history or medieval history, as well as for those who just want to read a great, age-old tale.

Blank Pages: And Other Stories

The 12 stories that make up MacLaverty’s seventh collection emphasize his mastery of image, characterization, and dialogue. He remains one of the most graceful storytellers in modern literature.
PREMIUM

Checkout 19

Bennett follows her celebrated debut, Pond, with a stunning demonstration of reading as creation.

Small Things Like These

Keegan’s beautiful prose is quiet and precise, jewel-like in its clarity. Highly recommended.

Read-Alikes for ‘Beautiful World, Where Are You’ by Sally Rooney | LibraryReads

Beautiful World, Where Are You

Rooney’s third novel deals with some of the emotional dynamics and ideas explored in Conversations with Friends and Normal People but expands and enriches them by depicting human dramas against vast historical backdrops, amplifying art’s essential status in human life. Once again, she has written a masterly and significant work of fiction that is both traditional and innovative.

PREMIUM

A Traveler at the Gates of Wisdom

Boyne’s (A Ladder to the Sky) latest novel ingeniously interrogates the historical and cultural roots of our present age

Leonard and Hungry Paul

Dublin-based songwriter Hession has written a tender and hilarious debut. The title characters are unforgettable, and their shared amazement of the world is a gift to readers. Essential reading, especially in these times.

Love

Doyle’s latest novel (after Smile) brilliantly highlights his ear for speech, especially the recursive fluency of inebriation. Narrated by Davy, this novel is a tough and tender celebration of the complexities of authentic friendship, as well as the ephemeral nature of memory. [See Prepub Alert, 12/2/19.]

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?