Elizabeth Masterson

29 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Amy & Lan

Though difficult to follow at times, Jones’s (Uninvited Guests) novel will be of interest to adults who enjoy coming-of-age stories told from the children’s point of view.
PREMIUM

Call Me Stan: A Tragedy in Three Millennia

Wilson’s (An Idea about My Dead Uncle) latest is great for readers of historical fiction, especially ancient military fiction, or those who prefer character driven stories. Good for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ken Follett, and Robert Harris.
PREMIUM

Black Sci-Fi Short Stories

The latest installment of Flame Tree Press’s “Gothic Fantasy” series has something for every speculative fiction taste. All of the short stories, old and new, are written by authors of color, and many have appeared in other compilations. The oldest story, by Martin Delany, was first published before the American Civil War; the most recent were published in 2019. The W. E. B. Du Bois short story “The Comet” appears on several college required reading lists.

PREMIUM

Local Woman Missing

The latest from Kubica (The Good Girl; The Other Mrs.) will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Gregg Olsen and readers who enjoy missing-persons novels. The twists, turns, and an unpredictable ending make it irresistible.

The Blacktongue Thief

Readers of epic fantasy novelists, like Tolkien or Brandon Sanderson, will enjoy this journey, which is by turns fun, magical, or terrifying for the travelers. Buehlman (The Lesser Dead) offers a departure from his horror novels in this fantasy with dark undertones. With fabulous examples of invented languages and dialects, this title is transporting.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Guests

Rous’s second novel (after The Au Pair) has surprises and twists that mystery fans will love, and parallel intrigues that will draw romance fans.
PREMIUM

Outré

Wilson’s (Natural Complexions) latest is a wild, surreal modern trip down the rabbit hole. Anyone who enjoys stream-of-consciousness stories, as well as fans of artists Salvador Dalí and René Magritte, will enjoy this hallucinatory dreamscape. Modern cultural elements are supernaturally twisted, while the movie industry is satirized. Logophiles will love the imaginative uses of obscure words.
PREMIUM

Prodigal Son

Fans of Tom Clancy or Lee Child will love this latest installment of the “Orphan X” series by Hurwitz (“Tim Rackley” series), which offers twists and turns, danger and adrenaline, and gadgetry worthy of James Bond. There is an underlying examination of the meaning of family that lends extra depth to the book.
PREMIUM

Set My Heart to Five

Stephenson’s (Let Not the Waves of the Sea) novel will appeal to fans of Philip K. Dick or Isaac Asimov. Through frequent allusions to movies and novels, the story is also made accessible to almost anyone who enjoys romance, intrigue, or outsider tales.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?