Reviews

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
PREMIUM

The Golden Hour

Lulu and Elfriede’s stories are built piece by piece, and while the plotting is a bit of a slow burn, Williams’s deft hand with characterization and emotionally connective storytelling pays off for readers in big ways. Recommended. [See Prepub Alert, 1/23/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lady’s Guide to Celestial Mechanics

Waite (A Thief in the Nude) delivers a sweet lesbian romance with a hint of spice, fitting into the decorum of the era. Recommended for libraries where LGBT historical romance is popular.
PREMIUM

Love at First Like

This frothy read will be a hit for fans of both Orenstein’s first novel and books by Christina Lauren. [See Prepub Alert, 12/17/18.]

Fumbled

Readers who enjoyed Intercepted will definitely want to read more about the love interests of the Mustangs.
PREMIUM

Big Sky

This long-anticipated reappearance of fan-favorite Brodie (following 2011’s Started Early, Took My Dog) is ultimately disappointing. Brodie takes a backseat throughout and the first half is a jumble of the various characters and their nefarious activities. The minimal action occurs toward the end, and the denouement feels contrived. Brodie has seen better days. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]
PREMIUM

Theme Music

There’s a character in this engaging but somewhat repetitive debut who talks about a “blood bucket,” the amount of violence one can take before it tips over. For fans of A.J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window with sufficiently large buckets, this twist-filled story will be mostly eagerly welcomed.
PREMIUM

A Bloody Business

Scholars and hard-core fans of American mafia history will sift through these stories to find the occasional gem; however, the work isn’t compelling or satisfying enough for leisure readers who can find a better account of the period elsewhere.

Winter's Debut of the Month, El-Mohtar/Gladstone, Forest, Hall, Huang, Thompson, Wendig, & More | SF/Fantasy, June 2019

PREMIUM

Turbulence

The novel’s global range is impressive and the interconnected stories and overall tone will appeal to readers who enjoyed Lisa Halliday’s Asymmetry and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad. [See Prepub Alert, 1/23/19.]

14,220 articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.