Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

New From CDL: “Artificial Intelligence for Libraries FAQ”

National Archives Apologizes for Alteration of 2017 Women’s March Image

Milestones: CrossRef Turns 20 Years Old on Sunday

A Group of Open Access Publishers and Others Send Letter to President Trump Supporting Proposed White House Open Access Policy

Reference: Selected Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports on the Impeachment Process and Impeachment History

White Paper from JSTOR: “The Impact of Open Access Latin American Scholarship”

White Paper from JSTOR: “The Impact of Open Access Latin American Scholarship: Digitizing the Backlist of El Colegio de México’s Press”

Roundup (January 17, 2020)

PREMIUM

The Third To Die

Brennan is well known for her psychological thrillers and this is another great addition that will be enjoyed by mystery and psychological thriller readers. [See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]
PREMIUM

Crooked River

Preston and Child’s latest could be enjoyed as a stand-alone novel. Recommended for mystery readers who enjoy bizarre twists.
PREMIUM

Dead to Her

A mix of steamy sex, lies, secrets, betrayals, murder, and a dash of voodoo, Pinborough’s latest novel (after Cross Her Heart) will keep readers guessing until the very last chapter. A twisty thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]
PREMIUM

Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace

Because of the change in setting, most of the characters from the previous book do not appear. Felicity retains her feisty spirit and wit and once again has to battle for acceptance and credibility in a male-dominated society. Readers will look forward to her next adventure.
PREMIUM

The Aosawa Murders

A chilling and skillfully crafted mystery about the spellbinding spaces between evidence, facts, intuition, and the will of a killer.
PREMIUM

The Other Mrs

Kubica (Every Last Lie) writes a mesmerizing tale with an unreliable narrator that draws attention to a less-understood mental health condition, but the story is wrapped up a bit too neatly. What is satisfying and most effective is the oppressive sense of unease that permeates this intense psychological suspense drama. For fans of A.J. Finn and Gillian Flynn.[See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]

House on Fire

This thriller is not only topical but beautifully driven by the intricacies of personal agendas, both obvious and hidden. Easily read as a stand-alone as well as part of the series, this is sure to captivate a new audience and bring them to the Joseph Finder backlist. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
PREMIUM

Letters from Hollywood: Inside the Private World of Classic American Moviemaking

Only dedicated film buffs will read this volume from cover to cover, but they will have a blast. Recommended for comprehensive film history collections.
PREMIUM

Doomed To Fail: The Incredibly Loud History of Doom, Sludge, and Post-Metal

Anselmi’s conversational tone, fervid storytelling, and passion for his subject combine for a fascinating piece of music history that the obsessive cult of metal fans will devour.
PREMIUM

Silver Surfer: Black Treasury Edition

A gorgeous interstellar adventure dedicated to Silver Surfer cocreator Stan Lee.
PREMIUM

The Girls with No Names

A well-plotted story with an excellent sense of time and place. Readers looking for historical fiction with emotional depth will enjoy. [See Prepub Alert, 7/15/19.]
PREMIUM

Heart of Junk

Readers hoping for a Carl Hiaasen–esque view of the antiquing world will be disappointed. The characters are drawn with too heavy a hand; most of them are borderline hoarders who are more interested in their stuff than they are in forming or maintaining basic human connections.
PREMIUM

Benediction

As a Western, there are a few notable missteps here: errors about horse coat coloring, a much-too-long description of cooking gnocchi, and not enough time devoted to actual cow punching or horse breaking. This is best for readers interested in a visceral take on a cowboy reinventing himself.

MO Bill Proposes Parental Review Board for “Age-Inappropriate” Material, Legal Penalties for Noncompliance

Versifying | Collection Development: Poetry

Page to Screen, Jan. 17, 2020 | Book Pulse

“Digital Preservation at CDL: Where We Are Headed”

New Video: The Library of Congress Digital Strategy

Funding: MLA’s Humanities Commons Receives $500,000 NEH Challenge Grant

“Digital Preservation at CDL: Where We Are Headed”

Report: “Proposed Book Banning Bill in Missouri Could Imprison Librarians”

Ex Libris Announces the Completion of Innovative Acquisition

Research Article (Preprint): “The Archives Unleashed Project: Technology, Process, and Community to Improve Scholarly Access to Web Archives”

Report: Maintainers of the Two Largest Collections of Nazi Testimonial Evidence Discuss Large Data Collaboration

Op/Ed: “Scholarly Publishers are Happy to Give Stuff Away if Someone Pays Them”

Journal Article: “Almost in the Wild: Student Search Behaviors When Librarians Aren’t Looking”

Interview: “How Toronto’s Leading the Way in Library Innovation: A Conversation with Pam Ryan”

Roundup (January 16, 2019)

Crosby Kemper on Becoming the Next Director of IMLS

New Bestsellers, Jan. 16, 2020 | Book Pulse

What's Next: Electronic Information Retrievals | Star Libraries 2019

America's Star Libraries 2019

Stars on the Map | Star Libraries 2019

2019 Star Libraries By the Numbers | LJ Index 2019

America’s Star Libraries 2019

Journal Article: “Funding information in Web of Science: An Updated Overview”

LSU Libraries Awarded Digital Collections Grant

University of Florida: $1.2 Million Digitization Project Expands Access to Newspapers in Florida and the Caribbean

Journal Article: Developing a Reusable Methodology to Conduct a Review of Library Resources

New Reports/Data: Assessing the Global and U.S. Climates in 2019; NOAA Reports Near-Record Warm Year For the Globe

Law Library of Congress Announces Release of the Supreme Court Nominations Web Archive

U.S. Government Publications Office (GPO) Announces Digitization and Availability of Historical U.S. Government Manuals (1935-1994)

U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) Announces Digitization and Availability of Historical U.S. Government Manuals (1935-1994)

Tracie D. Hall Named New Executive Director of the American Library Association

Journal Article: “ISNI and Traditional Authority Work”

Roundup (January 15, 2019)

Tracie D. Hall Named New Executive Director of the American Library Association

Fan Favorites & Tor Turns: SF/Fantasy Previews, Jul. 2020, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Bill Clegg, Yiyun Li, Maggie O’Farrell, & More), Plus Literary Glitter Galore: Fiction Previews, Jul. 2020, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Center, Chase, Franqui, Sullivan), Plus More Hot Pop: Fiction Previews, Jul. 2020, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Top 20 Best-Selling Physics Titles | Academic Best Sellers

The Atlantic Will Publish More Fiction; LitHub's 2020 Picks, Jan. 15, 2020 | Book Pulse

Civic Data Partnerships

CRL and East View Information Release Open Access Collection of Middle Eastern and North African (MENA) Newspapers, Over 100,000 Pages Available Currently Available

Report: Nike to Fund Athletic Facility at Obama Library, First Such Complex in a Presidential Library

Event Report: “Architecting the Future of Open Textbooks in Minneapolis”

Cengage Announces Plan to Offer eTextbook Option Within Cengage Unlimited

Project Information Literacy Publishes New Report on Information Literacy and College Students in the Age of Algorithms

University of Miami: “Pioneering Librarians Shine in their U-LINK Roles”

Report: Audible to Settle with Seven Publishers in Captions Lawsuit

Library Renovations: Arizona State University: New Doors Open to Renovated Hayden Library After $90 Million Renovation

National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Announces $30.9 Million for 188 Humanities Projects Nationwide

New Open Access Policy Expands Public Accessibility of Penn State University Research

NEW Report: “Trends in High School Dropout and Completion Rates in the United States: 2019”

Roundup (January 14, 2019)

Change Is Coming | ALA Midwinter Preview 2020

A Tale of Two Hayden Libraries (ASU and MIT), New Property for Deschutes, and a Multiyear Project Launch in Cincinnati | Branching Out

Jason Reynolds Named National Ambassador for Young People's Literature, Jan. 14, 2020 | Book Pulse

Eight Publishers to Volunteer Pricing Info in Pilot Study; Open Access Price Transparency Report Published

Journal Article: “Diversity Initiatives to Recruit and Retain Academic Librarians: A Systematic Review”

Music: The Dave Brubeck Collection of Recordings, Documents, Photographs and More “Comes Home” to the Wilton Library in Connecticut

Preservation: The People Trying to Save Scents From Extinction

Roundup (January 13, 2019)

Pittsburgh: “Men Plead Guilty in Carnegie Library Rare Books Theft”

Research Tools: New Interactive Map Highlights Great Lakes Shipwrecks and their Lore

The UK Government’s Social Media Web Archive is Now Fully Searchable

Self-Help Book Sales are Rising Fast in the US According to New Data From NPD Group

Launches of New MOOC Degrees Declined in 2019

NYPL Launches 125th Anniversary with List of the Top Checkouts of All Time; Two Special, Limited-Edition Library Cards Also Released

Op/Ed: The Case For Public and Academic Shared Libraries in Connecticut

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Jan. 13, 2020 | Book Pulse

Journal Article: “A Cross-Institutional Study of eBook Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) Use and Efficacy of Eight Large Academic Libraries”

Research Article: “A Cross-Institutional Study of eBook Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) Use and Efficacy of Eight Large Academic Libraries”

Journal Article: “A Cross-Institutional Study of eBook Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) Use and Efficacy of Eight Large Academic Libraries”

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month