Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

IFLA Stands with Beirut: A Statement by the International Federation of Library Associations President and Secretary General

Special Libraries Association (SLA) Takes Stands Against Diversion of Information

Roundup (August 11, 2020)

Royal Book "Finding Freedom" Gets the Crown Today | Book Pulse

Report: “People are Using Facebook and Instagram as Search Engines. During a Pandemic, That’s Dangerous.”

Full Text Book: “OER Course Marking Book Models Best Practices”

A Video Sneek Peek Inside the Renovated Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library in Washington, DC

OER: University of Alberta Leads Project to Open Access to Digital Learning Across Alberta (Open Education Alberta)

Roundup (August 10, 2020)

"Choppy Water" by Stuart Woods Leads Library Holds For the Week | Book Pulse

“Sharing Indigenous Cultural Heritage Online: An Overview of GLAM Policies” (International Day of the World’s Indigenous Peoples 2020)

Immersive Scholar Residents at North Carolina State University Libraries to Explore Online Privacy Through Gaming

Report: “In Fort Lauderdale, an Historic Effort to Archive Black Digital Lives Begins”

Not Real News: An Associated Press Roundup of Untrue Stories Shared Widely on Social Media This Week

Research Resource: Journalists’ Guide to COVID Data and Metrics

LJ Talks to Comedy-Rock Duo Tenacious D | Author Spotlight

Datasets: The Washington Post Releases U.S. Climate Data on GitHub

Interview: “Smithsonian Chief Ponders Reopening Strategy”

Can Old Buildings Be Turned Into Libraries? A Sneak Peek Into an Upcoming Open Access Book by IFLA’s Environment, Sustainability and Libraries Special Interest Group (ENSULIB)

SciELO Network and Accessibility: Emphasis on Policies, Products And Services

PREMIUM

Constant Comedy: How I Started Comedy Central and Lost My Sense of Humor

Bell acknowledges that he’s taken liberties, but his unexpectedly gripping account of the early 1990s cable television scene makes for compelling reading.
PREMIUM

Nine

Dekker (“Seer” series) comes into her own with this thought-provoking companion to the Girl Behind the Red Rope, coauthored with her father Ted Dekker, exploring themes of good, evil, and the power of choice. Fans of thrillers by James Rollins, Ronie Kendig, or the “X-Men” comics series will relish this fast-paced story.
PREMIUM

Hoodoo Cleansing and Protection Magic: Banish Negative Energy and Ward Off Unpleasant People

Fascinating, well-written, real-life stories illustrate the uses and power of Hoodoo practice. Students of the occult will find this a more than worthy read.
PREMIUM

The Snow Killings: Inside the Oakland County Child Killer Investigation

A moving, well-crafted narrative for true crime buffs.
PREMIUM

She Gets That from Me

Wells (Still the One) sympathetically and accessibly presents many sides to matters of infertility, grief, and ways families are chosen. This tender story full of warmth and hope is perfect for fans of Sarah Jio.

Me and Sister Bobbie: True Tales of the Family Band

Country fans, especially Willie Nelson devotees, will devour this down-to-earth yet inspiring account of an unbreakable bond between brother and sister. [See Prepub Alert, 4/1/20.]
PREMIUM

The Invitation

The Big Chill meets the board game Clue in this British whodunit. Lies, secrets, and the wonderfully twisted murder game will have readers furiously turning the pages.

When No One Is Watching

This sizzling summer thriller starts on low and heats up fast. Smart, sexy, and surprising, this suspenseful novel revealing the underbelly of urban gentrification will keep readers reading late into the night. [See “Turn the Page: Editors’ Fall Picks,” LJ 8/20.]
PREMIUM

The Doors of Eden

Meticulous and spectacular worldbuilding make this slow-building sf novel a truly fascinating read.
PREMIUM

Yellow Jessamine

Creating a macabre and sinister atmosphere in her horror/fantasy novella, Starling leaves details of the setting rather blurry. Suitable for readers of creepy Gothic tales.
PREMIUM

Sucker Punch

Blake’s 27th outing (after Serpentine) is a crafty murder mystery wrapped in plenty of fur and fury. Fans of the series will be pleased to see Anita Blake’s return. [See Prepub Alert, 2/12/20.]
PREMIUM

Who Is Alex Trebek? A Biography

With Trebek’s public battle with pancreatic cancer, it’s hard not to ascribe a eulogistic tone to this work. Nevertheless, Rogak’s work is a well-crafted biography that will especially appeal to Jeopardy! fans.
PREMIUM

A Dance with Fate

Marillier’s (“Blackthorn and Grim” series) latest novel in the “Warrior Bards” series (after The Harp of Kings), set in a fantasy world inspired by mythic Ireland, is a brisk and engaging read with vivid characters and a satisfying conclusion that makes this work as a standalone. Recommended for fans of Katharine Kerr’s “Deverry” books or Patrick Rothfuss’s “Kingkiller Chronicles” series.

Waiting for an Echo: The Madness of American Incarceration

With consideration and compassion, Montross has written a must-read that asks us to consider who our system is leaving behind.
PREMIUM

Learn To Paint in Acrylics with 50 More Small Paintings: Pick Up the Skills, Put on the Paint, Hang Up Your Art

Any novice painter should be able to complete each project in this guide and be proud of what they accomplished.
PREMIUM

Natural Homemade Skin Care: 60 Cleansers, Toners, Moisturizers and More Made from Whole Food Ingredients

Overall, an accessible and affordable resource for those interested in creating natural skin-care products but are unsure of where to start.
PREMIUM

The Book of Pie: Over 100 Recipes, from Savory Fillings to Flaky Crusts

Aspiring bakers will appreciate this colorful and comprehensive book on pies.
PREMIUM

A Death Long Overdue

This follow-up to Read and Buried features a huge cast of librarians, and sometimes it’s difficult to keep everybody straight. Series fans will be excited to catch up with Lucy, her romantic partner, the mayor, and Lucy’s friends.
PREMIUM

Recovering from Your Car Accident: The Complete Guide to Reclaiming Your Life

Zender’s experience, knowledge, compassion, and empathy are evident throughout this book. Owing to the complexity of the medical language, this would be most useful for academic or health library collections.
PREMIUM

Pie Style: Stunning Designs and Flavorful Fillings You Can Make at Home

This creative cookbook will strike a chord with anyone valuing eye-popping visual appeal in addition to flavor. A welcome addition to culinary collections.
PREMIUM

Foretelling the End of Capitalism: Intellectual Misadventures Since Karl Marx

An insightful study of capitalism and the “harbingers of doom” that have been part of its history. Faculty researchers, and students of economics and philosophy should find this informative and timely. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Set My Heart to Five

Stephenson’s (Let Not the Waves of the Sea) novel will appeal to fans of Philip K. Dick or Isaac Asimov. Through frequent allusions to movies and novels, the story is also made accessible to almost anyone who enjoys romance, intrigue, or outsider tales.
PREMIUM

A Traveler at the Gates of Wisdom

Boyne’s (A Ladder to the Sky) latest novel ingeniously interrogates the historical and cultural roots of our present age
PREMIUM

The Killings at Kingfisher Hill

Hannah follows The Mystery of Three Quarters with a drawn-out story. Only Poirot’s fans and the author’s readers will appreciate this intricate, slow-moving book.

What’s Wrong with Economics? A Primer for the Perplexed

This is an excellent overview of the field and a good starting point for students of economics. Highly recommended reading.

Adaptations of Colin Dexter, Frances Hodgson Burnett, and J. M. Coetzee Arrive | Book Pulse

Longing and Speech: Nine Major Poetry Collections from Writers Veteran and New

ALA Takes 2021 Midwinter Meeting Virtual

Society of American Archivists (SAA) Council Approves Revised Core Values and Code of Ethics for Archivists

Nearly 900 National and Community Organizations, Including ALA, Call on Senate to Extend Census Deadline

Research Resource: A Decade After the Occupy Movement, A New Digital Archive Chronicles its History—and Continuing Influence

ALA Announces 2021 Midwinter Meeting Will Be a Virtual Event

UC San Diego Begins a Yearlong Celebration to Commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the Iconic Geisel Library

Report: “Circuit Panel Rebuffs Judiciary on Excessive PACER Fees”

The Princeton University Library Inclusive Description Working Group Shares Progress on Effort to Describe Collections Accurately, Respectfully

Roundup (August 6, 2020)

Phoebe Robinson on Spotlighting Diverse Voices Through Her New Imprint

ALA Announces 2021 Midwinter Meeting Will Be a Virtual Event

"Deadlock" by Catherine Coulter Leads The New Bestsllers | Book Pulse

Dataset: Elsevier Releases OA CC-By Corpus For NLP and AI Research

Report: “Colorado Authors are Finding Readers, Book Clubs By ‘Book Bombing’ Little Free Libraries”

Texas Library Coalition for United Action: Twenty-Seven Universities Across Texas Join Forces, New Coalition Seeks Lower Costs and Greater Access to Research

Report: “National Library of Israel to Suspend Services and Put 300 Workers on Unpaid Leave”

NISO Releases 2020-2023 Strategic Plan

Knight Foundation and Gallup Release: “American Views 2020: Trust, Media and Democracy” Report

Webinar Recording From NNLM: “Part 1: Citizen Science in the Academic Library”

Roundup (August 5, 2020)

Research Resource: U.S. College and University Financial Fitness Tracker (Database and Analysis)

More Literary Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Short Story Collections: Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Young Women in Trouble: Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Mythic Touch: Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Halloween Humor and B&B Murders | Mystery & Suspense Review Spotlight

Two New Books Explore the Battleground State of Ohio | Review Spotlight

Three New Books Put Classic Chefs in the Spotlight | Cooking & Food Reviews

Senior Services, How-To Archive & Guides to Privacy & Reference Practice | Professional Media Reviews

Oprah Picks "Caste" by Isabel Wilkerson As Her Next Book Club Title | Book Pulse

No Longer Home: Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Chang-Rae Lee Takes Us Abroad and Back | Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

More Literary Fiction Previews, Feb. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

New Online: Cornell University Library Launches Paniccioli’s Vast Hip-Hop Photo Archive, Nearly 20,000 Images Available

Preprint: “MementoEmbed and Raintale for Web Archive Storytelling”

Digital Collection: Nearly 500 CC-Licensed Education Images Now Available!

Fourth Round of REALM Project Testing Underway, Results Due in Mid-September

Roundup (August 4, 2020)

New Directors, Fresh Faces in Publishing, Urban Libraries Council Elects Executive Board; and more Library People News

Two Forthcoming Titles on Lincoln's Life and Times | History Reviews Spotlight

Reese Witherspoon & Jenna Bush Hager Announce August Book Club Titles | Book Pulse

Oxford University’s Bodelian Libaries Releases Adam and the Ants Tribute Video, “Scan and Deliver”

Penguin Random House Announces Extension of Special Library Terms of Sale Program in Response to COVID-19

Roundup (August 3, 2020)

Act Locally, Lobby Nationally| Editorial

35 Standout Summer/Fall 2020 Debut Novels

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month