Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Apollo Murders

Hadfield draws on his expertise as an astronaut to add authenticity and realism to his debut thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler and Andy Weir will enjoy this genre-bender combining military fiction, the detective novel, and techno-thriller.

Far From the Light of Heaven

A clever, haunting read from Arthur C. Clarke–winner Thompson.
PREMIUM

When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky

Readers of general fiction will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Viewers who followed the TV series The Americans will recognize and enjoy its thrilling hallmarks in this exciting novel about the erstwhile first couple.
PREMIUM

Midnight, Christmas Eve

Clapp’s novel will resonate with readers searching for peace in a busy holiday season, as a gentler take on the Book of Hosea’s lesser-known redemption parable, which was also retold in Francine Rivers’s classic Redeeming Love.
PREMIUM

Wolf Point

An intriguing sequel, though it could do without some of the details of Chicago and golf; fans of Stephen Mack Jones’s “August Snow” mysteries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

I Am Not Who You Think I Am

Rickstad ratchets up the suspense, filling Wayland’s investigations with misdirection, shadowy characters, and gothic elements. There’s a sense of dread throughout the book, but the final plot twist is a jaw-dropper. Recommended for readers who like their thrillers dark and twisted.
PREMIUM

In the Company of Witches

Wallace’s wonderful Connecticut setting and quirky characters make this a fun new cozy mystery series.
PREMIUM

Dark Tarot

Feehan’s 31st entry in the “Dark” series (after Dark Song) is simultaneously a jumping-in point for new readers since it sets up a new story line, and a place for long time fans to enjoy a new couple and revisit old favorites. Required for libraries where Feehan is popular.
PREMIUM

Sleepless

Hausmann’s ominous psychological suspense tale masterfully uses restraint, inserting a continual flow of small but significant clues to create tension and a heavy tone. The multidimensional characters will keep readers questioning what they know. For fans of Fiona Barton and Gillian Flynn.
PREMIUM

Tales from the Cafe

These tearful stories hit hard but ultimately lead to a beautiful ending. Fans of Matt Haig’s Midnight Library will enjoy this quick read with touches of magical realism and soul-searching.

Isolate

Readers will be caught up in Modesitt’s world, which is just close enough to reality to make the lessons feel real, and just fantastic enough to provide distance and interest. The gas lamp setting will draw in plenty of steampunk readers, while anyone who likes to delve into the way worlds work will be riveted.
PREMIUM

Pretty Little Lion

An optional purchase where the first book is popular.

Payback’s a Witch

With a satisfying end to the tournament, and smart, funny characters who support one another, Harper’s series is off to a fantastic start. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Nanny Dearest

Mercifully avoiding the sexual clichés of many other domestic thrillers, Collins’s debut illustrates the sometimes obsessive and terrifying nature of love and the shattering consequences of its betrayal. Nanny services across the country may see a dip in demand when this intensely emotional psychological roller coaster is released.
PREMIUM

A Wanton for All Seasons

Fans will enjoy seeing these former lovers come together once again, but those new to the series should start with the first “Wantons of Waverton” book, Someone Wanton His Way Comes.
PREMIUM

The Best Horror of the Year, Vol. 13

An essential purchase for the quality of stories included in the volume, as well as for Datlow’s extensive “Summation” section, in which she recaps the year in awards, key publications, and horror news. Readers will not find a more comprehensive (yet still easily digestible) snapshot of the entire genre anywhere else.
PREMIUM

Hidden Treasures

For readers who enjoy romantic suspense.

Small Things Like These

Keegan’s beautiful prose is quiet and precise, jewel-like in its clarity. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Undertakers

Glover has written another fast-paced story of luck, fate, and betrayal. Readers will be engrossed by its celestial magic, hidden tunnels leading to unexpected places, and cliffhanger ending.
PREMIUM

Dark Stars: New Tales of Darkest Horror

Most readers will focus on the epic table of contents, but ardent horror fans will appreciate this volume’s ode to the seminal out-of-print Dark Forces anthology edited by Kirby McCauley.Dark Forces similarly strove to bring horror to a wider audience in the 1980s and featured both an early Campbell story and Stephen King’s The Mist (which many consider to be his best novella).

Pearl

Malerman delivers with another completely different yet equally crowd-pleasing and awesome horror novel that is not to be missed. Fans of tales as varied as Eden by Tim Lebbon, Tender Is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica, or The Night of the Mannequins by Stephen Graham Jones will all find something to savor and enjoy here.

A Thorn in the Saddle

If Weatherspoon isn’t already on autobuy, now’s the time.

Queen of Teeth

This is a fun page-turner on its surface, but as soon as readers pause for breath, the real-world issues at play will wrap their tentacles around them. Readers who like old school science fiction dystopias (à la Philip K. Dick), with a healthy dose of cosmic awe (as in Caitlin Kiernan’s “Tinfoil Dossier” series) and a few dashes of kaiju mayhem, will be in horror heaven with this mesmerizing, original, and breathtaking debut.
PREMIUM

The Cure for What Ales You

Fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams will love Alexander’s latest Sloan Krause cozy mystery; enjoy with a cold beer.

The Ex Hex

Recommended for all public library collections.

Betrayal on the Bowery

An action-packed historical mystery with a strong female protagonist and hints of future romance.
PREMIUM

As the Wicked Watch

Hall’s decades of field experience lend a lot of credibility to the story and provide a strong footing for an intriguing new crime series.
PREMIUM

Hold Me Down

A mystery that explores character motivations rather than the murder itself. For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich.

Mango, Mambo, and Murder

The character-driven debut introduces a fresh protagonist, a Cuban American woman trying to maintain her culinary heritage and Spanish language while attempting to find friends and a killer.

Sistersong

Holland crafts a tale tied to folklore, history, and song, bringing rich detail and imagination to characters and setting. Give it to readers who have enjoyed Arthurian retellings or Madeline Miller’s Circe.
PREMIUM

Miss Moriarty, I Presume

Existing fans will appreciate the romantic plot developments, while new readers could treat this as a standalone but would be better served by starting with book one, A Study in Scarlet Women. Suitable for those who enjoy Deanna Raybourn’s “Veronica Speedwell” mysteries.

The Perks of Loving a Wallflower

This clever novel will delight readers looking for queer historical romances and or a series featuring a group of unconventional romantic leads.
PREMIUM

A Line To Kill

Horowitz’s latest reveals vulnerability in the condescending Daniel. Fans of the series or and Agatha Christie will relish character-driven mystery set on an isolated island.
PREMIUM

The Starless Crown

An interesting blend of science and magic, flying ships and prophetic gods, propel this fantasy into epic territories.

Our Country Friends

Both the definitive COVID-19 novel and not, this work captures an uncertain modernity and speaks to the existential peril of contemporary life.
PREMIUM

The Forest

Quigley, cohost of the award-winning Ladies of the Fright podcast, is well-versed in active contemplation of the horror genre itself, and it shows here with a story line that could be described as a 21st-century update to Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery.” Fans of Hex, by Thomas Olde Huevelt, and The Twisted Ones, by T. Kingfisher, will find a kindred spirit in Quigley’s debut.
PREMIUM

Even Greater Mistakes

This fascinating, emotional collection is a welcome addition showcasing Anders’s range and prose.
PREMIUM

After Dark with the Duke

Long continues her “Palace of Rogues” series (after I’m Only Wicked with You) with another strong heroine and the entertaining residents of the Grand Palace. A must-buy for libraries that own the series.
PREMIUM

Shiloh

A pass except where fans of the first book need to know what happens next.
PREMIUM

Three Sisters

Readers of historical and World War II fiction will be gripped by the conclusion to Morris’s trilogy.
PREMIUM

Such a Pretty Smile

An obvious choice for fans of female-driven psychological horror (e.g., Sarah Pinborough’s Cross Her Heart and Rachel Harrison’s The Return). Also a good suggestion for readers who want to explore the trauma and inequalities in mental health treatment (like in Victor LaValle’s The Devil in Silver).

Under Color of Law

Clark’s ripped-from-the-headlines police procedural should make readers uncomfortable. It’s a frightening, tragic tale.
PREMIUM

A Reckless Match

Historical romance readers will love this steamy, star-crossed enemies-to-lovers adventure featuring a strong, intelligent heroine and a hero who learns to support her.

Flowers for the Sea

Rocklyn has written an astounding story that will leave readers begging for more, recalling other critically acclaimed novellas like Priya Sharma’s Ormeshadow and P. Djèlí Clark’s Black God’s Drum.
PREMIUM

Elder Race

Recommended for lovers of portal fantasy, lost colony science fiction, and stories on the border between the two genres.
PREMIUM

Never Fall for Your Fiancée

Readers will relish this engaging, late Regency romcom’s witty duo as they navigate escalating mishaps and growing feelings. Heath (“The King’s Elite” series) has set the stage for an enjoyable new series.
PREMIUM

Trinity

Fans of Jack Campbell’s “Lost Fleet” series will enjoy Bara’s latest.
PREMIUM

Noor

Okorafor packs swift action and harsh emotions into this slim novella, showing her strengths once again as a speculative fiction writer.
PREMIUM

Brothers of the Wind

Recommended for fans of old-school epic fantasy and anyone who remembers Williams’s 1988 classic The Dragonbone Chair with fondness.

Last Girl Ghosted

Unger keeps readers guessing, with revelations that will make them stop and question what they thought they knew. She might also make them think twice about online dating. Recommended for those who like psychological thrillers with women protagonists, such as Andrea Bartz’s We Were Never Here.
PREMIUM

Femlandia

A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Naomi Alderman’s The Power, and Kim Liggett’s The Grace Year.
PREMIUM

Thanatrauma

Tem has won just about every major speculative fiction prize (including a 2015 Bram Stoker Award for Blood Kin), but he has slipped through the cracks because his work doesn’t fit neatly into established genre boxes. Library workers can make up for this oversight by confidently suggesting this collection to fans of creepy, weird fiction by the likes of Carmen Maria Machado and John Langan.
PREMIUM

Death in a Desert Garden

For fans of cozy mysteries in Southwestern settings.

Doctors and Friends

Some readers will find that it hits too close to reality, but there is beauty in Martin’s gem of a story that confirms that friendship is a powerful force.

Repentance

A tense debut thriller with excellent characters and a timely, satisfying plot; knowledge of recent Argentinian history would help readers contextualize the violence Díaz depicts. For fans of Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” novels.
PREMIUM

The Savage Kind

Copenhaver’s latest is jam-packed with noir themes and plot twists. Sure to please fans of queer fiction and twisty mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Spindle Splintered

Sleeping Beauty crashes into the multiverse in Harrow’s queer, subversive, explicitly feminist retelling. This story of power, agency, and sisterhood is recommended.

Count Your Lucky Stars

A warm hug of a queer contemporary romance with sparkling prose, heartfelt dialogue, and delicious dirty talk. Fans of the series will be delighted by the returning characters and the steamy heat between Margot and Olivia, while new readers who liked Tessa Bailey’s It Happened One Summer or Karelia Stetz-Waters’s Satisfaction Guaranteed will find much to love. Highly recommended for all libraries.

Where the Drowned Girls Go

The message of owning one’s truth instead of losing one’s individuality will resonate. Highly recommended.

Don’t Cry for Me

A deeply perceptive evocation of what it has meant to be a man and especially a Black man in the United States, all the more affecting for not being shouted out but told with quiet, sturdy intimacy.

The Love Con

Recommended for all public library collections.
PREMIUM

The Kindly Ones

Dystopian fiction fans will find a lot to admire here.
PREMIUM

All Things Deadly: Salem Stories

An uneven collection with some promising ideas.
PREMIUM

ZRT: Division Tennessee

Perfect for readers who like their zombie novels with a little extra bite. Recommend to those who enjoyed Ben Tripp’s “Rise Again” duology and Peter Clines’s “Ex-Heroes” series.
PREMIUM

Oh William!

A fine examination of relationships that asks how well one can know someone, even after years together, but it’s sometimes hard to connect to the narrative. William is rather awful, which might leave readers wondering why so many women’s lives revolve around such men. Perhaps that is Strout’s point.

Road of Bones

An essential read for horror and supernatural thriller fans.
PREMIUM

The Night She Disappeared

Jewell (Watching You) uses three closely aligned timelines to unpack the events leading to a soul-crushing crime; these shifts in time and points of view are mildly confusing. Plot twists are deftly incorporated while remaining highly unlikely. Yet this satisfying suspense story is rich with emotional depth and delivers a steady dose of uneasiness. For fans of Sophie Hannah.
PREMIUM

The Burning

As always, the Kellermans guarantee that readers will turn pages rapidly to enjoy the complex characters and intricate plot turns. It’s another winner for mystery readers.
PREMIUM

Friends Like These

McCreight artfully delivers a solid psychological thriller with a twistedly complex plot. Readers who enjoy unraveling the mystery through numerous viewpoints as in The Guest List, by Lucy Foley, or Into the Water, by Paula Hawkins, will be sure to enjoy.
PREMIUM

Beneath the Stairs

Fawcett’s debut is both incredibly suspenseful and immersive. A word of caution to readers: leave the light on.
PREMIUM

When Things Get Dark: Stories Inspired by Shirley Jackson

This solid anthology contains quiet horror takes on the themes and motifs that often appear in Jackson’s work.

The Strange Thing We Become: And Other Dark Tales

Fans of dark fiction will not want to miss this collection of stories about love, loss, choice, consequence, and the horrors therein.

Immortelle

With this novella, McCarthy has solidified her position as an heir to the canon of British women novelists, including Tanith Lee and Sarah Pinborough. This title would make a great addition to a “women in horror” library display.
PREMIUM

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife

Though some plot points strain credulity, and most characters are thinly drawn, Winstead’s first novel successfully gets inside Jessica’s head and conveys the excitement and terror of college days.
PREMIUM

Mastermind: A Theo Cray and Jessica Blackwood Thriller

This high-energy tale reads like Wonder Woman and Dr. Who came together to battle the Joker in an over-the-top thriller that still entices readers to keep feverishly turning pages. Blackwood, Cray, and the Warlock are likely to appear again in future confrontations between good and evil.
PREMIUM

We Were Never Here

This gripping and thoughtful novel with a self-aware protagonist considers feminism and the psychology of memory while never losing its pace. This book will appeal to readers of psychological thrillers such as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train.
PREMIUM

Kill All Your Darlings

This one will please aficionados of campus crime stories and novels about writers and academic skullduggery.
PREMIUM

God Rest Ye, Royal Gentlemen

Fans of Georgie and the series will not be disappointed in this latest adventure. Readers are once again treated to a glimpse into the private lives of the royals as Bowen weaves another mystery with historical figures as peripheral players.
PREMIUM

Arya Winters and the Tiramisu of Death

In this mystery best compared to The Addams Family, anxious Arya is an intriguing narrator who admits to her faults. With all its sex, discussion of sex, and naked bodies, this is not a cozy mystery, despite the blurbs.
PREMIUM

The Hidden Child

A good choice for readers who enjoy 20th-century historical fiction, Fein’s novel is well researched if a bit heavy-handed, with factual passages on eugenics and epilepsy. The classism and racism fundamental to eugenics come through clearly, as do the heartbreaking consequences of a child’s serious illness.
PREMIUM

The President and the Frog

In a tale of survival, resilience, and resistance, of forming connections and establishing personal priorities, De Robertis (Cantoras) delivers a meditation on human feeling, both ugly and beautiful. The ex-president always felt close to the earth, with living things a balm to his soul, just as a beautiful story like this one is a balm to readers.

Chronicles from the Land of the Happiest People on Earth

A lifelong political activist, essayist, playwright, poet, and teacher, Soyinka is the first African recipient of the Nobel Prize for Literature, and this highly anticipated novel, his first in almost half a century, will be much sought after.

Talk to Me

Against a backdrop of lurid news stories of chimps living with humans, where things go horribly wrong, this novel makes a visceral kind of sense and raises uncomfortable issues of human relationships with other species. Highly recommended.

Paper Doll Lina

This is a gripping story with characters that come to life on the page, but it is a difficult, possibly triggering read. The heartbreak of an abusive marriage should be fertile ground for book groups. There are similar story lines in Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty, and The Journey, by Danielle Steel.

What Storm, What Thunder

A highly recommended account of a terrible tragedy that also illuminates the deep interconnectedness of Haitian society.
PREMIUM

Just Haven’t Met You Yet

At times heartbreaking, and incredibly hopeful Cousens’s delightful read is a sweet romance that gives its protagonist the freedom to grow as a character. Readers of Jill Mansell or Mhairi McFarlane will definitely enjoy.

Sweet Tea

Fans of Beverly Jenkins, Debbie Macomber, and Sharon Sala will devour this sweet small-town romance.
PREMIUM

Call Me Stan: A Tragedy in Three Millennia

Wilson’s (An Idea about My Dead Uncle) latest is great for readers of historical fiction, especially ancient military fiction, or those who prefer character driven stories. Good for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ken Follett, and Robert Harris.
PREMIUM

The Devil’s Own Duke

Some much-needed historical context and a steamy, satisfying romance between the two well-written protagonists tempers some of the sillier aspects of this delightful Regency romance.
PREMIUM

Keep Me Close

Virtues’s paranormal romance might not match the Greek mythology that inspired it, but fans of modern retellings will enjoy the second outing in this sexy, action-packed world.

Sailor Proof

This title is a perfect starting point for libraries wanting to add more military romance series and will be in demand by Albert’s many fans.
PREMIUM

The Bounce Back

An optional purchase where the author circulates well.
PREMIUM

The Year’s Best Dark Fantasy & Horror: Volume Two

Recommended for fans of dark fiction and other literary-minded readers who enjoy a dash of the strange and unusual.
PREMIUM

Researching Stories | Reader’s Shelf

Read-Alikes for ‘Beautiful World, Where Are You’ by Sally Rooney | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Child of Light

Brooks’s (The Last Druid) latest series launches in an exciting new world filled with juxtapositions of magic and machine, Fae and human, and introduces the one young woman who may be able to bridge the gaps.
PREMIUM

Fight Night

Swiv’s narrative voice, by turns angry, sardonic, and full of both love and exasperation for her mother and grandmother, provides much of the charm and appeal of the novel. Elvira is a force of nature, charming everyone around her with her zest for life. Despite the dark elements in the story, the humor and love between the characters shine through. Recommended.
PREMIUM

We Know You Remember

While still full of very grim crimes, this mystery’s setting in the countryside during the summer makes for a less bleak setting than usual for the genre. Alsterdal plots enough twists to keep the police procedural interesting and writes a great woman protagonist; fans of international mystery will be happy to discover her.

The Wrong End of the Telescope

The great strength of this latest novel from National Book Award finalist Alameddine (An Unnecessary Woman) lies in how it deftly combines the biographical with the historical; the small, more personal moments often carry the most weight. A remarkable, surprisingly intimate tale of human connection in the midst of disaster.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?