Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Journal Article: “All the Research That’s Fit to Print: Open Access and the News Media”

Open Statement by Canadian Urban Libraries Council (CULC/CBUC) on Truth and Reconciliation – Access to Data and Information

Report: “This Academic Librarian is Working to Make Children’s Books More Diverse”

New York Public Library (NYPL) and LYRASIS Announce Next Steps in National E-Book Collaboration

OurResearch, Providers of Unsub, Unpaywall, and Other Services Receives $4.5 Million Grant From Arcadia & Commits to Principles of Open Scholarly Infrastructure (POSI)

Columbia University Libraries: “Learning From the Crowd: The CULHebrewmss Twitter Bot”

News Roundup (June 11, 2021)

Tia Williams’s 'Seven Days in June' Headed To TV | Book Pulse

UNC Libraries’ Machine Learning Project Analyzes State’s Jim Crow Laws

Senators Murray, Portman, and King Introduce Major Bipartisan Legislation to Close Digital Divide, Promote Digital Equity; Legislation Endorsed by ALA, ULC, and Others

Cultural Heritage: Orbis Cascade Alliance Contributes More than 50,000 New Items to Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

News Roundup (June 10, 2021)

LJ Releases Virtual Galley Guide for 2021 ALA Annual | Book Pulse

ALA Annual in the Cloud | 2021 Preview

Arizona State University: “Book Collection to Help Children Of Parents Who are Incarcerated”

New Resource: “Museums for Digital Learning” Site for K-12 Educators Launches

Report: “Game Show History to Be Preserved with National Archives at Strong National Museum of Play “

Acquisition Time: OverDrive is Acquiring Kanopy

K. Matthew Dames Appointed Chief Librarian of Notre Dame’s Hesburgh Libraries

Open Access Pilot for Latin American Monographs Expands

New PIL Provocation Series Essay Published, “The iSchool Equation” by Dr. Kirsten Hostetler

News Roundup (June 9, 2021)

Pre-loaded Content from Playaway Helps Libraries Stem COVID Learning Loss

The Legacy of White Supremacy in American Christianity, Transcendent Kingdom, Secret Lives of Church Ladies and More in Religion | Academic Best Sellers

Manuel Hinds’ Urgent Case for Democratic Principles

Hilderbrand Cuts Anne Frank Reference From 'Golden Girl' | Book Pulse

OverDrive is Acquiring Kanopy

Ohio Senate Restores Library Budget

COAR Announces Launch of the “Notify Project”

Muhammad Ali Center Launches New Digital Museum and Archives

Ohio Attorney General Files Lawsuit to Declare Google a Public Utility

A New, Free Toolkit From University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Libraries Helps Communities Tell Their Stories

A New Podcast From the LA Times : “How the Los Angeles Public Library Made Libraries Cool”

Library of Congress Acquires Audio Diaries From More Than 200 Frontline Healthcare Workers During COVID-19

Roundup (June 8, 2021)

Utah State Creates Outdoor Gear Ephemera Archive

ALA Virtual Galley Guide Ready Now

Current Issues: Nonfiction Previews, Dec. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Cooking & Culture: Last of the Fall Titles for Foodies | Prepub Alert

Darling Husbands & Replacement Wives: Thriller Previews, Dec. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Read-Alikes for ‘The President’s Daughter’ by Bill Clinton and James Patterson | LibraryReads

Health & Fitness Best-Sellers, June 2021 | The Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

Moving Examples | Editorial

Edelweiss Kicks Off Bookfest | Book Pulse

Edelweiss Kicks Off Bookfest | Book Pulse

Research Article: “Spread of Misinformation About Face Masks and COVID-19 by Automated Software on Facebook”

From Amherst to Seattle: Simon Neame Named Dean of University of Washington Libraries

First-Edition Jane Austen Novels Added to Washington State University Libraries’ Collection

The British Library’s Endangered Archives Program (EAP) Announces Release of Four New Collections Available Online

Roundup (June 7, 2021)

Mary Davis Fournier on Taking the Reins at PLA

PREMIUM

The Listen List: More Great Audiobooks | The Reader’s Shelf

Google v. Oracle: Takeaways for Software Preservation, Cultural Heritage, and Fair Use Generally (2021 Reflection)

New Crossref Strategy Through 2025 Released

Article: “Wikidata Projects in Times of COVID-19: IUPUI Libraries’ Engagement in Open Knowledge”

Martha Wells Wins Nebula Award For Best Novel | Book Pulse

Recap: What COVID-19 Taught Us About Affordable Course Materials

Not Real News: An Associated Press Roundup of Untrue Stories Shared Widely on Social Media This Week

The New York Public Library Names Joy Bivins Director of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture  

Nicole Saylor Appointed New Head of the Library of Congress Digital Innovation Lab

Movers by Year

Movers by Category

Movers on the Map

Vanderbilt University Special Collections Library Acquires Dinah Shore Collection

SAGE Provides Free Access to Collection of LGBTQIA+ Research Resources

New Journal Article: “The Value of Subject Specialization and the Future of Science Liaison Librarianship”

PREMIUM

Jim Hanvey, Detective

The slow-moving detective stories, with no murder or violence, are likely to appeal to readers who enjoy classic short mysteries such as G. K. Chesterton’s “Father Brown” tales.
PREMIUM

The Power of Strangers: The Benefits of Connecting in a Suspicious World

An eye-opening account blending sociology and self-help. After this enlightening and uplifting exploration, readers will undoubtedly view strangers in a different way.
PREMIUM

Once More to the Sky: The Rebuilding of the World Trade Center

Complete with extensive photographs of people and place, this is a comprehensive look at one of the most famous spots in the United States, from a different perspective. This book is meant for readers who like learning background details and want more than a surface-level look at landmarks and monuments.
PREMIUM

The Warlord

Fans of Showalter’s long-running series will be elated to finally have a story with Taliyah as the main character, while new readers will be able to step into the established world at the start of a new story arc. For fans of paranormal romance with snarky characters and quippy lines.
PREMIUM

Learning To Speak Southern

Readers of Southern and women’s fiction will become deeply immersed in this mother-daughter narrative.
PREMIUM

Neon Gods

Though the worldbuilding is sparse, and a few of the pop culture references might feel out of place, this modern-day retelling of the story of Hades and Persephone has lots to offer for romance fans looking for a slightly darker romance.
PREMIUM

The Shape of Darkness

This is a well-crafted Gothic tale, complete with a compulsive mystery and the visceral medical details of Emma Donoghue’s The Pull of the Stars.
PREMIUM

Kiss of Death: True Cases of Fatal Attraction

With cases spanning the globe, this compelling volume reinforces the sobering reality that the person most likely to end your life might just be lying next you. A great beach read for true crime fans.
PREMIUM

Should We Stay or Should We Go

As an exercise in possibility--how any of us may reach old age and face death--this novel is sometimes prophetic, sometimes preposterous, but never boring.
PREMIUM

Emotional Robots: A Question of Existence

This graphic novel is structured like a children’s picture book, which complements the genre well. The illustrations are simple in execution, but full of hidden gems which heighten the overall comedy significantly. The tone is a hybrid of A Day in the Life of Marlon Bundo, by John Oliver, and Pat the Zombie: A Cruel (Adult) Spoof, by Aaron Ximm. It tackles primarily political topics and contains mature content; it would be great for any adult graphic novel collection.

The Other Passenger

Sure to please readers looking for thrillers in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Aimee Molloy; a single-sitting page-turner with character and thematic depth.
PREMIUM

The Family Plot

Diehard mystery/thriller fans may be disappointed, and true crime fans will be confused as to why they were led here.

Choose Me

With deceitful characters and plenty of twists, this novel is highly recommended for fans of Gerritsen or Braver, and readers who love suspense stories.
PREMIUM

A Lonely Man

A combination of political thriller, mystery, and meditation on artists’ responsibility to their subjects, this follow-up to Power’s story collection Mothers is a satisfying blend of thoughtfulness and suspense.

Governor General's Literary Awards Are Announced | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

When the Stars Begin To Fall: Overcoming Racism and Renewing the Promise of America

Johnson supports his argument with a mix of stories, both personal and historical, which brings a personal aspect to a work that can be academic at times. While the book covers the same territory as recent works by Isabel Wilkerson and Ibram X. Kendi, Johnson’s particular point-of-view makes his call to action feel like a patriotic duty.
PREMIUM

Rock the Boat

First-time novelist Dorey-Stein has written the perfect beach read, filled with delicious heart and meaty observations about knotty relationship issues and offering surprises and delights with every chapter. Expect renewed interest in her 2018 memoir of her career as a White House stenographer, From the Corner of the Oval.

PREMIUM

Impostor Syndrome

A smart character study for fans of Dave Eggers’s The Circle looking for a different perspective.
PREMIUM

The Eternal Decline and Fall of Rome: The History of a Dangerous Idea

While not as strong as Watts’s last work, Mortal Republic, this is still a compelling read. It will find an audience among classicists as well as readers interested in contemporary discourses concerning American decline and possible renewal that draw from the narrative of Rome.
PREMIUM

The Sweetest Charade

A solid addition for public library collections.

Movers & Shakers 2021

Ozy Aloziem | Movers & Shakers 2021–Innovators

Todd Deck | Movers & Shakers 2021–Innovators

Kelly Passek | Movers & Shakers 2021–Innovators

Millie Plotkin | Movers & Shakers 2021–Innovators

Nini Beegan | Movers & Shakers 2021–Innovators

Bridget B. Striker | Movers & Shakers 2021–Innovators

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?