Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Secret Staircase

The final installment in Connolly’s series wraps up the mystery of the Barton family. Connolly died in 2020, before she could write books about renovations of the house and village. The descriptions of the house and family life are slow-paced, but the author’s fans will want to finish the series.
PREMIUM

Dust to Dust

The follow-up to Murder at Hotel 1911 is a slow-moving, character-driven story. Keown has created sympathetic, realistic characters, including a young boy on the autism spectrum, and portrays Ivy’s struggles with anxiety. It takes a while for the story to unwind, with all the background Keown reintroduces, so this mystery is suggested only for those who read the series’ first book.
PREMIUM

You Can Run

Cleveland weaves technology, motherhood, and spydom’s skullduggery into a taut, alluring web. Acclaimed for fiendishly clever plotting, she whips up the story to a breakneck pace, then rewards readers with a knockout ending. Fans of Stella Rimington’s series about MI5 agent Liz Carlyle will thrill to the steely grit and brave hearts of Jill and Alex.
PREMIUM

Another Kind of Eden

Dark backstories linger behind each complex character in this action-packed novel. Readers who first meet Aaron here will want to read previous novels in Burke’s “Holland Family” saga.
PREMIUM

Cajun Kiss of Death

The seventh “Cajun County Mystery” (after Murder in the Bayou Boneyard) wraps up the award-winning series. Fans will want to read this final volume, which resolves the futures of Maggie, Bo, and the other beloved characters from a comforting series that brings Cajun food, culture, and music together.

Gone by Morning

Miller’s background as a lawyer in New York brings an authenticity to this intense, intricately plotted thriller. The politics and menacing atmosphere combine in a promising debut.
PREMIUM

A Slow Fire Burning

Hawkins (The Girl on the Train; Into the Water) returns with another novel of psychological suspense, sure to top best-seller lists. She takes seemingly ordinary characters and peers deeply into their complicated lives, skillfully building tension and keeping readers guessing.
PREMIUM

Be My Ghost

Perry (“Witch City” series) kicks off a character-rich series with this installment, which leaves unresolved Maureen’s mysterious connection to Penelope Gray, for future books. Readers of E. J. Copperman’s “Haunted Guesthouse” mysteries will enjoy this title.
PREMIUM

56 Days

Howard crafts likable characters, witty banter, and clever POV shifts throughout, but readers may need a strong neck to withstand the whiplash of frequent time jumps. This quibble aside, Howard has written an eerie, twisty story ripped from current headlines, in which a global pandemic becomes the foreboding hypotenuse of a dangerous love triangle.
PREMIUM

Her Perfect Life

Ryan has a sure hand with her page-turning, twisty plotting and complex, multifaceted characters. Readers looking for a fast, thrilling read will love this one.
PREMIUM

All Her Little Secrets

In her debut thriller, corporate attorney Morris deftly combines a creepy Nazi-esque sect with a murderous plot and rounds out the intrigue with a striking commentary on racism, sexual assault, and misogyny.
PREMIUM

Graveyard Fields

The unconventional heroes of this debut are exaggerated, awkward characters in a story that progresses from tragedy to dark humor. Fans of irreverent crime novels with flawed protagonists will appreciate it.
PREMIUM

Grave Reservations

Priest, the Locus Award–winning author of Boneshaker, is known for writing horror and steampunk. Her witty mystery has a likable amateur sleuth and a strong supporting cast. For fans of Wendall Thomas’s offbeat travel agent Cyd Redondo.

Hello, Transcriber

Former police transcriber Morrissey brings her expertise to this suspenseful debut. The story of an introverted, troubled woman, isolated in a bleak small town, will appeal to fans of Jess Lourey’s atmospheric books.

The Heron’s Cry

Matthew Venn, introduced in The Long Call, is the primary detective in this installment, but Cleeves uses multiple voices, including those of Matthew’s team members, to show the personal effects of this troubling case. Fans of Cleeves’s “Vera Stanhope” and “Shetland” mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where a police team struggles to cope with professional and personal lives.
PREMIUM

Mrs. March

Feito’s debut can be classified as a literary psychological thriller, but it doesn’t fit neatly into one genre. Fans of novels about psychological degeneration will be satisfied.

Ice and Stone

A must-read for Sharon McCone fans; the series should also be explored by any fan of strong women detectives.

Harlem Shuffle

Another can’t-miss from the versatile Whitehead, for readers who loved James McBride’s Deacon King Kong.
PREMIUM

My Sweet Girl

In her debut novel, Sri Lanka–based Jayatissa is a master of first-person narration as she delves into questions of identity--how individuals perceive themselves, and the tendency not to see others for who they really are. Her fast-paced mystery, with an unreliable but sympathetic narrator, will hook readers from the very beginning, but the twist ending might leave them disappointed and unsatisfied; the frequent profanity may also be problematic for some readers.

PREMIUM

Butcher Pen Road

A quick-read police procedural that is aided by knowledge and context of the setting while highlighting the challenges of law enforcement in rural Oklahoma. For fans of Kent Anderson, Danny Gardner, and Lisa Sandlin.
PREMIUM

Riccardino

Camilleri’s series finale busts out of the traditional mystery genre to give fans an inspiring, thoughtful, and humorous farewell to a beloved character.

The Hollywood Spy

Longtime fans of the series will savor the perfectly calibrated mix of intriguing plot and engaging characters in the latest “Maggie Hope” mystery, and the impeccably written book should also work as a good introduction to the series for newcomers.

Island of Thieves

Hamilton has written his best “Van Shaw” book to date with this slow-burn tale that takes his main character in unexpected directions. Van is torn between wondering whom he can trust and keeping his known allies safe. High stakes, a genuinely complex plot, compelling characters, and excellent writing make this another winner from Hamilton. Fans of Daniel Silva and Gregg Hurwitz should add Van Shaw to their list of go-to characters.
PREMIUM

Murder Always Barks Twice

Fans of dog-centric cozy mysteries will thoroughly enjoy this charming crime-solving duo and the enchanting Cornish setting.

Read-Alikes for ‘Black Ice’ by Brad Thor | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Murder in an Orchard Cemetery

Harrison follows Death of a Prominent Citizen with another leisurely paced mystery with roots in the history and culture of Cork. It’s a treat for Irish history buffs who follow the series.
PREMIUM

The Newspaper Widow

An old-fashioned novel isn’t a bad thing when it’s as well done as this one about people growing, loving, and rectifying past mistakes.
PREMIUM

Gone for Good

There is no neat ending here, which leaves room for more books in the series. A great read, recommended for true crime fans and mystery lovers alike.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Ruin

Williams (Coach Me; My Fiancé’s Brother) is an award-winning author of romance and suspense novels; her tale of revenge will find an easy spot in fiction collections. Tailored for book clubs and for those who like to read about the sleazy side of rich elites.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Cellist’ by Daniel Silva | LibraryReads

What the Cat Dragged In

The 14th “Cat in the Stacks” mystery (after Cat Me If You Can), with its family stories, descriptions of meals, and two cats, might be the most satisfying in the series for regular readers.

Palace of the Drowned

Mangan’s excellent sophomore effort (after Tangerine) feels like an homage to Hitchcock and Highsmith both. Frankie feels tensions, both real and imagined, that seep through the story with every word and page. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Silver Tears

Läckberg leaves her thriller’s conclusion open-ended, signaling the possibility of a third installment. Libraries that own The Golden Cage will want this sequel
PREMIUM

The Darkness Knows

Last seen in The Shadow District, detective Konrád is back for the launch of his own series. The award-winning Indridason has a long track record of writing grimly compelling Nordic crime thrillers, but this latest title moves at the pace of its retired protagonist. Konrád is often mired in his past, and there’s little suspense as he slowly pursues suspects in a decades-old murder.

False Witness

Slaughter skillfully and assuredly relates the violence of a sociopath, while creating an emotional connection to lives touched by tragedy and addressing current events. Her latest will be a favorite for thriller lovers, as well as fans of Jennifer Hillier, Michael Koryta, and Alafair Burke.

PREMIUM

How To Kill Your Best Friend

Elliott’s latest (after The Missing Years) is a great thriller with lots of red herrings and a blindsider of a twist ending.

The Madness of Crowds

This book has layers within layers: good versus evil; our duty to the weak; the nature of power; the fact that good people are not always likable, and likable people are not always good. Penny’s familiar characters are back, along with some intriguing visitors. The mystery will keep readers absorbed until the end and might make them realize how this unprecedented pandemic has changed the world. Highly recommended for public libraries.

Fallen

This intense, suspenseful whodunit is full of twists and turns, red herrings, and an OMG ending, with a realistic mix of English and Amish cultures. Fans of this series, realistic crime drama, and multicultural or Amish literature will find this mystery unputdownable.

Velvet Was the Night

Fans of Moreno-Garcia’s other novels will relish this title, as will noir aficionados and readers who like stories about everymen and -women rising to the occasion.

Clark and Division

Hirahara does a masterly job of incorporating extensive historical research into an emotionally compelling story. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy high-quality historical fiction with well-drawn characters and an engrossing plot.
PREMIUM

The Wonder Test

Richmond’s (The Marriage Pact) latest is a two-in-one winner: a gripping thriller set in a Stepford-esque California suburb, and a story of surviving loss and building family bonds. With a realistic protagonist, well-described setting, and an uber-creepy villain, it will please readers who like their stories with action and heart in equal measure.
PREMIUM

Dog Eat Dog

Fans of the “Andy Carpenter” series will enjoy this 23rd outing featuring the talented but reluctant advocate (after Silent Bite), as will fans of brisk, dog-filled mysteries in general.
PREMIUM

Much Ado about Nauticaling

The first in a new series by Allan, who has written cozies under a different name. It has an original setting and a unique job for the amateur sleuth, and it’s a refreshing change to read about a sleuth who’s not fleeing her past. Suggest to readers of Bree Baker’s “Seaside Café” mysteries.

Silence in the Library

Although the second “Lily Adler” mystery (after The Body in the Garden) incorporates issues of racism, classism, women’s independence, and neurodiversity, Schellman never forgets that it’s a mystery. The fast-paced, engrossing story has a climactic confrontation worthy of Rex Stout or Agatha Christie.
PREMIUM

Ghost Blows a Kiss

Fans of paranormal mysteries will appreciate this 10th “Bailey Ruth Ghost” case (after Ghost Ups Her Game), a template for a traditional mystery in the style of Agatha Christie. The likable Bailey Ruth should appeal to fans of Cleo Coyle’s “Haunted Bookshop” mysteries.
PREMIUM

The Stranger in the Mirror

This latest novel (after The Wife Stalker) from sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine (writing as “Liv”) is a deliciously disorienting psychological thriller that will keep mystery lovers second-guessing everything they read as they struggle to unravel the complex tapestry of Addy’s life.

Dark Things I Adore

Lattari’s unreliable narrator pivots between present and past. This vengeful tale that pits artistic genius against mental health and happiness will captivate fans of dark suspense.
PREMIUM

The Disappearance of Trudy Solomon

This debut forces a police detective to question her own actions in a situation ripped from the headlines, while also juggling a cold case. Readers looking for an up-to-date police procedural will be satisfied with Susan Ford’s investigations, which use current forensic evidence, including DNA and security cameras.
PREMIUM

The Parting Glass

Despite the book’s allusions to Lauren’s previous Icelandic adventures in A Full Cold Moon, newcomers who enjoy cold cases can appreciate this mystery and the scenic Irish locale.

Lightning Strike

This sensitive, moving prequel introduces and draws readers into the series. Krueger (Ordinary Grace; This Tender Land) has written another perceptive coming-of-age novel, the poignant story of a father and son trying to understand each other. It provides Cork O’Connor’s backstory for those who haven’t read the series.

A Fiancée’s Guide to First Wives and Murder

The American-born countess’s skills in maneuvering as an amateur sleuth in Victorian society are on full display in this charming historical mystery. New readers can easily pick up this fourth in the series (after A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Murder), and fans will delight in the dramatic conclusion.
PREMIUM

Her Last Breath

Davidson draws readers in through Deirdre’s quest for justice for her sister and keeps them engaged by detailing the downfall of a corrupt family business. Readers who enjoy domestic suspense will appreciate Davidson’s surprising spin on family drama.

Razorblade Tears

Cosby follows his award-nominated Blacktop Wasteland (an LJ Best Mystery selection for 2020) with another stand-alone mystery that’s already been optioned for a film. His story of fathers and sons, of men learning to respect others’ lives, has an unexpected depth for such a violent, confrontational book. This powerful book should be in every library.
PREMIUM

Unthinkable

This fast-paced novel, narrated in alternating chapters by Nate and Jenny, has twists and turns that’ll keep readers guessing. Recommended for readers who enjoyed Parks’s other stand-alone works, as well as fans of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay.

Down Range

Moore has written a tense and irresistible thriller that fans of C. J. Box and the military action novels of Brad Taylor will savor. The chaos mixes well with a stellar panorama of Texas. Readers will happily look forward to the next installment in what looks to be a series featuring Garrett Kohl and his family’s ranch life.

Read-Alikes for ‘Survive the Night' by Riley Sager | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘Dream Girl’ by Laura Lippman | LibraryReads

Maids, Mitfords & Murder: Mystery Previews, Jan 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

PREMIUM

Above the Rain

Readers of his previous works will welcome the author’s ambition, but fans of crime fiction may struggle with the meandering pace and abandon the story before he successfully pulls all the threads together.

PREMIUM

The Therapist

Paris’s fifth novel (after The Dilemma) is not on the same level as her great debut, Behind Closed Doors. Alice is overeager, insipid, and immature; she makes terrible decisions and flails willy-nilly throughout the story. Supporting characters are not fleshed out nor likable, making it hard to become invested. The big reveal is unconvincing, and the killer’s backstory isn’t particularly believable. Only for diehard Paris fans.
PREMIUM

Bone Rattle

Cameron writes with great respect for Indigenous Alaskans and builds suspense steadily in this story. Readers can pick up this installment without having read the other titles in the series. This crime fiction won’t disappoint fans of law enforcement novels and adventures set in the Alaska wilderness.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Maidens’ by Alex Michaelides | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘The President’s Daughter’ by Bill Clinton and James Patterson | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Jim Hanvey, Detective

The slow-moving detective stories, with no murder or violence, are likely to appeal to readers who enjoy classic short mysteries such as G. K. Chesterton’s “Father Brown” tales.

The Other Passenger

Sure to please readers looking for thrillers in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Aimee Molloy; a single-sitting page-turner with character and thematic depth.
PREMIUM

The Family Plot

Diehard mystery/thriller fans may be disappointed, and true crime fans will be confused as to why they were led here.

Choose Me

With deceitful characters and plenty of twists, this novel is highly recommended for fans of Gerritsen or Braver, and readers who love suspense stories.

Castle Shade

Highly recommended for historical mystery fans who have followed the series, as well as readers looking for historical heroines with agency such as Maisie Dobbs, Bess Crawford, or Phryne Fisher.

Dream Girl

Lippman (Lady in the Lake) nods at Stephen King and Alfred Hitchcock in this hair-raising tale, but makes it wholly hers and completely riveting. She conveys the horror of being housebound and reliant on strangers, as well as the fear of losing one’s mind. It’s a page-turning, plot-twisting masterpiece.

The Mystic’s Accomplice

Miley (“Roaring Twenties” series) returns to the jazz age in this mystery introducing a remarkable amateur sleuth, widow, and mother. It skillfully combines the tantalizing atmosphere of a speakeasy- and mob-filled Chicago, historical figures, and an intriguing mystery.

The Art of Betrayal

Like Jane K. Cleland’s “Josie Prescott” mysteries, this novel contains details of antiquities and history. Berry’s follow-up to A Dream of Death is a meaty, traditional mystery that combines British legend with a contemporary story of crime and betrayal.

The Killing Hills

Offutt (Country Dark; Kentucky Straight) has a reflective voice and a spare use of language. Hardin is an unforgettable character trapped between his army life and the “eye-for-an-eye” culture of rural Kentucky. Readers of James Anderson will appreciate this thoughtful mystery with a strong sense of place.
PREMIUM

Dead Dead Girls

Debut author Afia’s historical series launch, while a little uneven in the writing and light on the suspense, is a character-driven mystery that will appeal to readers who enjoy Roaring Twenties mysteries such as Susanna Calkins’s “Speakeasy Murders” series.
PREMIUM

Embassy Wife

Crouch does an excellent job of bringing her characters to life and conveying the beauty and challenges of life in Namibia through their eyes. Recommended for readers who enjoy armchair travel, well-drawn characters, twisty plots, and complex relationships.
PREMIUM

Body Zoo

Like Emilee, the reader won’t know who to trust in this fast-paced, sometimes outrageous third “Sin City Investigations” novel. The complex characters, along with the voices of Bean, Emilee, and Calvin Ward, will keep readers turning the page.
PREMIUM

Dead by Dawn

Readers of the series may appreciate the villain reveal, but those new to the books might feel slighted. A definite purchase where other series titles circulate; a pass for libraries that don’t already own previous installments.
PREMIUM

Shutter

In this twisty thriller, Betty’s first-person narration will keep readers on their toes. Recommended for fans of thrillers with unreliable narrators, and psychologically intense plots involving movies and filmmaking.
PREMIUM

The Night Hawks

A strong addition to the series; recommended for readers who enjoy a mystery investigated by relatable characters.
PREMIUM

A Distant Grave

The second Maggie D’Arcy novel is as intricately plotted as The Mountains Wild. Clues from the past culminate in a tragic conclusion to this tense thriller.

PREMIUM

The Last Commandment

Shepherd’s first novel reflects his years as a TV writer (The Equalizer; Miami Vice.) The fast-paced story and twisted villain will appeal to fans of crime dramas.
PREMIUM

Bones of Hilo

Hawaiian history and culture and the state’s fight against development are this story’s critical elements, moreso than the mystery itself; there are maps to orient readers. Naomi Hirahara’s Iced in Paradise might also interest people reading for atmosphere.

PREMIUM

Such a Quiet Place

Another successful mystery thriller from Miranda (The Last House Guest). The perfect suburban setting; the secretive, quirky neighbors; three unsolved murders; and an Agatha Christie vibe make this whodunit an excellent beach read.
PREMIUM

Steel Fear

The combo of a military thriller and a serial killer narrative is genius, and the story sings with compelling authenticity. Readers of either genre will find much to savor in this page-turning novel. Webb and Mann dive into the world of the aircraft carrier--an enormous city on the sea that’s a character in itself. Hopefully, this is only the start of a series featuring the enigmatic Navy SEAL Finn.

PREMIUM

An Empty Grave

The seventh “Andy Hayes” mystery, following Fatal Judgment, is a satisfying, complex story for readers who enjoy hard-boiled private eyes who struggle with their personal lives.
PREMIUM

Lie Beside Me

Police procedurals can often be predictable and easy to solve for steadfast fans. Not this time. Without employing obvious red herrings or misdirection, Lodge prevents readers from becoming attached to any one theory. This plausible unpredictability is quite engaging.
PREMIUM

Last Flight to Stalingrad

Hurley is a welcome addition to the ranks of such writers as Alan Furst, Philip Kerr, and Rick Atkinson.
PREMIUM

The Maidens

Michaelides (The Silent Patient) skillfully infuses this mystery with stories of death and life from Greek mythology and motifs of darkness and light that suggest all is not as it seems; indeed, several disturbing characters cast doubt on the killer’s identity. While the tension could have been heightened, and the unforeseen conclusion tests believability, this is intriguing psychological suspense.

Moon Lake

Lansdale does it again with this evocative, moody, and earthy rendering of a small Texas town with many secrets waiting to be uncovered. Perfect for fans of Ace Atkins, Greg Iles, and Craig Johnson.
PREMIUM

The Grandmother Plot

For readers who enjoy light mysteries, and fans of Miranda James, whose books also focus on character development with a touch of mystery.
PREMIUM

Unfinished Business

Jance quickly establishes likable characters and an interesting plot; while the direction of the story is apparent from the start, getting to the conclusion with these characters is an enjoyable trip. Fans of the author will not be disappointed.
PREMIUM

The Wedding Night Affair

This first entry in a new series will immerse readers in Sharp’s historical details, while Juliana comes into her own as she and Ash track down the Raven.

Read-Alikes for ‘Legacy’ by Nora Roberts | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Final Twist

With its plot picking up immediately after the action of The Goodbye Man, this book will be most appreciated by those who have read the previous entries. Colter’s past and his complicated family all feature prominently, adding a rich and compelling layer in this worthy addition to the series.

Pint of No Return

The first “Shake Shop Mystery” from Mentink (“Desert Justice” series) delivers all the delectable ingredients cozy mystery fans crave, including an engagingly resourceful protagonist, her too-cute-for-words canine companion Noodles, and a charming small-town setting worthy of the Hallmark Channel. This terrific series debut is certain to tempt the reading palates of fans of Cleo Coyle, Sarah Graves, and the much-missed Diane Mott Davidson.
PREMIUM

Arctic Storm Rising

Filled with detailed descriptions of weapons and aircraft, as well as Brown’s trademark action and suspense, this series starter should take off like its numerous predecessors.
PREMIUM

The Photographer

Despite the heightened emotional state and slow burn throughout the novel, readers will be disappointed by Carter’s sudden, surprisingly dull conclusion.
PREMIUM

Widespread Panic

There’s energy in this book, as in all of Ellroy’s fiction, but here it wears the reader down as much as it excites.

Read-Alikes for ‘21st Birthday’ by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro | LibraryReads

Mrs. Rochester’s Ghost

Fans of Jane Eyre who enjoyed Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs will appreciate this equally enjoyable retelling from Marcott (The Producer’s Daughter).

City of Dark Corners

This gritty stand-alone deals with Phoenix’s rough-and-tumble past and its questionable police force in the 1930s. Talton excels at creating the ambiance of historic Phoenix. Suggest for fans of realistic historical mysteries or Phoenix Noir.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?