Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Report: “National Archives Wants to Use AI to Improve ‘Unsophisticated Search’ and Create ‘Self-Describing Records’”

Bipartisan Legislation to Make Congressional Reports Available to the Public Introduced in U.S. House of Representatives

PREMIUM

Seeing Serena

At times, Mazorati’s critical tone takes away from the reading experience. Readers might get a fuller picture of Williams’s career by accompanying this book with the HBO series Being Serena, which is told in her own voice.

PREMIUM

Freeing Jesus: Rediscovering Jesus as Friend, Teacher, Savior, Lord, Way, and Presence

As with mysticism, highly personal accounts of Jesus run the risk of portraying the Jesus one wants to see, rather than encountering the transformative power of the Spirit. Bass neatly avoids most of this and so provides a portrait of Jesus for progressive Christians of all stripes that is as tangible, compelling, and biblical as the Christ of their more fundamentalist counterparts.

PREMIUM

Dance and Authoritarianism: These Boots Are Made for Dancing

An important resource for students and anyone interested in world cultures, dance and performing arts, or the intersection of art and politics.

PREMIUM

This Is How You Make a Movie

Those new to the language of filmmaking will emerge with a deeper appreciation of this complex, intricate process.

PREMIUM

How Art Heals: Exploring Your Deep Feelings Using Collage

This isn’t a traditional “how-to” book; readers looking for explicit instructions for collage-making will be better served by Roxanne Evans Stout’s Storytelling with Collage. However, it will inspire readers interested in the ways artists use the creative process as a means for healing.

PREMIUM

The Act of Sewing: How To Make and Modify Clothes To Wear Every Day

This would be a useful addition to public library craft collections, especially for teens and tweens, but it is not an essential purchase due to the omission of certain important sewing elements.

PREMIUM

That Summer

Weiner’s ability to take a complex, painful situation and spin it into an engaging, thoughtful story about women’s inner lives is showcased throughout this novel. The beautiful beachside settings and aspirational lifestyles that women’s fiction readers gravitate toward are on full display, but the depth of the story is what shines. A likely summer blockbuster, this will have readers looking forward to the third volume in trilogy.

PREMIUM

The Stepsisters

This engaging character study by Mallery (The Vineyard at Painted Moon) is sure to please her many fans as well as readers of similar authors such as Nancy Thayer and Debbie Macomber.

PREMIUM

The Woman with the Blue Star

An inspired-by story centered around Sadie and Ella’s friendship, Jenoff’s latest book (after The Lost Girls of Paris) takes place entirely in Kraków and moves back and forth between the perspectives of the two young women as they navigate war, love, loss, friendship, and family. This is a heartfelt, emotional tale about human connection, hope, survival, and struggle during one of humanity’s darkest moments.

PREMIUM

Appropriate: A Provocation

Highly recommended for creative writing students or readers interested in this extremely relevant topic.
 

Wolf Kill

Originally published in 2013, the book was reedited by author Mary Logue, and is now the first in a proposed four-book series featuring Sam Rivers. Fans of Paul Doiron’s The Poacher’s Son or the Joe Pickett books will appreciate this descriptive novel with an intriguing plot and well-written characters.

PREMIUM

The Last Thing To Burn

Dean (Red Snow) has written a horrific tale of human trafficking in this gripping and powerful novel. Recommended to fans of stories that explore the sheer human will and determination to escape unimaginable situations.

PREMIUM

The Next Wife

Bring the popcorn for this high-noon of a novel, replete with deliciously snarky dialogue and a satisfying twist.

A New Trailer for 'The Underground Railroad' | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Nine Lives of Rose Napolitano

This is a serious yet fantastical look at relationships, family, and feminism, told in a singular voice; book groups should take note. The closest read-alikes are Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson, and Replay, by Ken Grimwood.

PREMIUM

Cheated: The Inside Story of the Astros Scandal and a Colorful History of Sign Stealing

This disturbing tale will satisfy baseball fans, but will also be of great interest to many other sports followers.

IFLA LibPub + IFLA Strategy: Launching the Global Library Publishing Map

University of California & Springer Nature Announce New Initiative to “Better Understand Author Attitudes to Open Research”

Roundup (April 15, 2021)

Dean Betsy Wilson Reflects on 20 Years Leading UW Libraries

Dean Betsy Wilson Reflects on 20 Years Leading UW Libraries

2021 RWA Vivian Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

The Boston Public Library is Going Fine Free

Pelayo-Lozada Wins 2022-2023 ALA Presidency

Serials: Musical Merchandise Review Donates Archive to the NAMM Resource Center

Ingram is Selling VitalSource Technologies to Investment Firm

NEH Announces $24 Million for 225 Humanities Projects Nationwide

Research: “Zoom Fatigue Worse For Women, Stanford Study Finds”

A University of Toronto Economics Professor Data Mines Technology Trends Using Vintage Public Documents at the Internet Archive

Roundup (April 14, 2021)

2021 Hugo Awards Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

How the Elements Were Named, Rainbow Palate, Pioneering British Women Chemists, and More in Chemistry | Academic Best Sellers

Keynoter Tressie McMillan Cottom Talks Human-Centered Data Rights and Pragmatic Hope | ACRL 2021

Keynoter Tressie McMillan Cottom Talks Human-Centered Data Rights and Pragmatic Hope | ACRL 2021

New Video: Recent Additions to the Law Library of Congress Rare Books Collection

New Accessible Books Consortium (ABC) Application Gets Accessible Books Directly to People Who are Print-Disabled

“143,518 US Public Library Workers are Keeping Their Communities Informed, Connected and Engaged – But Their Jobs May Be At Risk”

Journal Article: “Institutional Literacy and Libraries: Addressing Library Anxiety with a Personal Librarian Program”

Roundup (April 13, 2021)

Read-Alikes for ‘Ocean Prey’ by John Sandford | LibraryReads

Jason Reynolds Is the Inaugural Honorary Chair of Banned Books Week | Book Pulse

Historical Fiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Escape with Digital Coloring and Puzzles

Seeking Justice and Equality: Social Science Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Voices from Prison: Nonfiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

From Consciousness & Cyberwar to Dogs, Antelopes & Octopuses: STEM Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Lighting Up the Holidays: Fiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Journal Article: “Faculty Survey on OER: Perceptions, Behaviors, and Implications for Library Practice”

Penn Libraries: “‘Just Make the Data Available’: Exploring Manuscripts with OPenn”

Report and Interview: Library of Congress Seeks Diverse Archivists and Storytellers

Roundup (April 12, 2021)

LJ Research reports for download

Biography & Memoir Best Sellers, Apr. 2021 | Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

Restorative Libraries: Restorative Justice Practices and How to Implement Them

'Ocean Prey' by John Sandford Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Media Burn, a Chicago-Based Independent Video Archive, Receives $500K Grant From CLIR to Launch New National Project

American Library Association’s Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE) Seeks Library Community Feedback About Update to ALA Code of Ethics to Address Racial and Social Justice

Journal Article: “Scavenging for Evidence: A Systematic Review of Scavenger Hunts in Academic Libraries”

Not Real News: An Associated Press Roundup of Untrue Stories Shared Widely on Social Media This Week

Now Available From Statistics Canada: “Open Database of Educational Facilities, Version 2”

ARL, CNI, EDUCAUSE Release Final Report on Emerging Technologies in Research Libraries

ALA is Making Available $1.25M in Emergency Relief Grants to Libraries Impacted by COVID-19

Report: “The Underwater Library at Scripps Institution of Oceanography”

PREMIUM

The Lighter Step-By-Step Instant Pot Cookbook

A handy resource that will most likely be as popular as Eisner’s previous books; this one has something for everyone.
PREMIUM

Letter to a Young Female Physician: Notes from a Medical Life

A candid account that will spark the interest of aspiring physicians.
PREMIUM

Good Dog: Celebrating Dogs Who Change, and Sometimes Even Save, Our Lives

A loving look at how dogs care for people.
PREMIUM

The Comfort Crisis: Embrace Discomfort to Reclaim Your Wild, Happy, Healthy Self

Despite some flaws, this is an engaging read, recommended for those who enjoy outdoor writing, as well as for armchair (therefore very comfortable) critics of the modern lifestyle.
PREMIUM

Count Down: How Our Modern World Is Threatening Sperm Counts, Altering Male and Female Reproductive Development, and Imperiling the Future of the Human Race

Well-researched, with an extensive bibliography and a useful glossary of key concepts. A fast-paced account that offers myriad recommendations for lifestyle changes to reduce exposure to the chemicals that Swan and Colino identify as threats to the future of humankind.
PREMIUM

Norman Jewison: A Director’s Life

A thoroughly enjoyable and detailed look at a memorable life in film.
PREMIUM

Why Wakanda Matters: What Black Panther Reveals About Psychology, Identity, and Communication

While academic in nature, these essays are accessible to general readers. Howard’s work is a solid addition to media studies sections in both public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

You’re History: The Twelve Strangest Women in Music

Those interested in music criticism will enjoy this in-depth study of unique women voices in pop music.
PREMIUM

In Teachers We Trust: The Finnish Way to World-Class Schools

For all readers, especially educators and parents, seeking a persuasive explanation for the excellent results of Finnish schools.
PREMIUM

Crime Time: Twenty True Tales of Murder, Madness, and Mayhem

This entertaining, concise collection will entice fans of true crime and history. Readers may also enjoy Mike Rothmiller’s True Crime Chronicles: Serial Killers, Outlaws, and Justice…Real Crime Stories from the 1800s.
PREMIUM

Lucky: How Joe Biden Barely Won the Presidency

Readers who enjoy political coverage of the election process and want to know more about Joe Biden’s campaign will be well informed by this book.
PREMIUM

Twilight Man: Love and Ruin in the Shadows of Hollywood and the Clark Empire

This is a definite must-read for fans of early Hollywood, and those interested in LGBTQ history, with plenty of scandals and gossip to grab interest.
PREMIUM

Psychiana Man: A Mail-Order Prophet, His Followers, and the Power of Belief in Hard Times

This bizarre, gripping, yet balanced account of a charismatic man and an enterprise that prospered under the guise of religion will appeal to true crime fans and those interested in religious cults, including readers of Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood and the Prison of Belief.
PREMIUM

Kin

Rodenberg writes with an evocative and unflinching style, despite sometimes jarring shifts in narrative. This is a richly nuanced portrait of people and place, along with the bounds of forgiveness. Good for biography readers eager to explore the complexities of family relationships, or readers interested in women’s lives in Appalachia.
PREMIUM

Black Snake: Standing Rock, the Dakota Access Pipeline, and Environmental Justice

A humanistic investigative documentation of the legal and political battle of DAPL. It will appeal to readers interested in Indigenous movements, environmental movements, and the historical significance of this protest.

The Profession: A Memoir of Community, Race, and the Arc of Policing in America

A candid, even-handed account that is highly recommended for popular collections. A natural fit for libraries where The Turnaround circulated well.
PREMIUM

The Nine: The True Story of a Band of Women Who Survived the Worst of Nazi Germany

A fast-paced account that is strongly recommended for lovers of action-oriented narrative nonfiction, and for women’s history collections.
PREMIUM

A Fire in the Wilderness: The First Battle between Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee

Reeves shows that battles can reveal heroism not through victories but at a basic level of survival. He has produced an evocative account of the human costs of the Civil War.

What the Devil Knows

The St. Cyr series, and this entry in particular (following Who Speaks for the Damned), is highly recommended for readers who want their history appropriately dark and gritty, their politics dirty and corrupt, and their mystery fascinating, convoluted, and just as relevant now as it was then. Sebastian St. Cyr, with his foot in the aristocracy and his eye on justice, is a hero to be followed into whatever dark corner he investigates.
PREMIUM

The Company

Spencer, author of various series featuring police officers (“Jennie Redhead”; “Monika Paniatowski”) offers an intense, convoluted stand-alone. It’s not always easy to piece together Rob’s twisted thoughts and the police investigation, but readers who enjoy Spencer’s works might want to try.
PREMIUM

A Fatal First Night

Readers who enjoy historical mysteries with a touch of romance will enjoy the period details and strong female characters, as well as Ella’s colorful parrot, Montezuma.

You Love Me

Fans of the series will want to read this book in one sitting. It’s wickedly full of twists, turns, and a dizzying array of pop culture references and witticisms.
PREMIUM

Five Ways To Disappear

This mystery has dark elements that contrast with the beautiful locale; it will please fans of the series, as well as those who appreciate noir novels in general. The characters are well developed, with their faults laid out for readers. The several strands of the plot are all brought together quite acceptably in the denouement, except for Cal’s earlier crime, which is left to readers’ imagination; the author intends this to be the last book in the series.
PREMIUM

The Kindred Spirits Supper Club

A delightful read for fans of light paranormal romances or cozy romances in general.
PREMIUM

Open Your Heart

Readers who prioritize hot sex scenes and character-driven plots, as well as fans of Hodges’s previous novels, will enjoy this installment.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?