Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

“143,518 US Public Library Workers are Keeping Their Communities Informed, Connected and Engaged – But Their Jobs May Be At Risk”

Journal Article: “Institutional Literacy and Libraries: Addressing Library Anxiety with a Personal Librarian Program”

Roundup (April 13, 2021)

Read-Alikes for ‘Ocean Prey’ by John Sandford | LibraryReads

Escape with Digital Coloring and Puzzles

Jason Reynolds Is the Inaugural Honorary Chair of Banned Books Week | Book Pulse

Lighting Up the Holidays: Fiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Seeking Justice and Equality: Social Science Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Historical Fiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Journal Article: “Faculty Survey on OER: Perceptions, Behaviors, and Implications for Library Practice”

Penn Libraries: “‘Just Make the Data Available’: Exploring Manuscripts with OPenn”

Report and Interview: Library of Congress Seeks Diverse Archivists and Storytellers

Roundup (April 12, 2021)

LJ Research reports for download

'Ocean Prey' by John Sandford Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Restorative Libraries: Restorative Justice Practices and How to Implement Them

Biography & Memoir Best Sellers, Apr. 2021 | Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

Media Burn, a Chicago-Based Independent Video Archive, Receives $500K Grant From CLIR to Launch New National Project

American Library Association’s Committee on Professional Ethics (COPE) Seeks Library Community Feedback About Update to ALA Code of Ethics to Address Racial and Social Justice

Journal Article: “Scavenging for Evidence: A Systematic Review of Scavenger Hunts in Academic Libraries”

Now Available From Statistics Canada: “Open Database of Educational Facilities, Version 2”

ARL, CNI, EDUCAUSE Release Final Report on Emerging Technologies in Research Libraries

ALA is Making Available $1.25M in Emergency Relief Grants to Libraries Impacted by COVID-19

Report: “The Underwater Library at Scripps Institution of Oceanography”

PREMIUM

The Lighter Step-By-Step Instant Pot Cookbook

A handy resource that will most likely be as popular as Eisner’s previous books; this one has something for everyone.
PREMIUM

Norman Jewison: A Director’s Life

A thoroughly enjoyable and detailed look at a memorable life in film.
PREMIUM

In Teachers We Trust: The Finnish Way to World-Class Schools

For all readers, especially educators and parents, seeking a persuasive explanation for the excellent results of Finnish schools.
PREMIUM

Crime Time: Twenty True Tales of Murder, Madness, and Mayhem

This entertaining, concise collection will entice fans of true crime and history. Readers may also enjoy Mike Rothmiller’s True Crime Chronicles: Serial Killers, Outlaws, and Justice…Real Crime Stories from the 1800s.

What the Devil Knows

The St. Cyr series, and this entry in particular (following Who Speaks for the Damned), is highly recommended for readers who want their history appropriately dark and gritty, their politics dirty and corrupt, and their mystery fascinating, convoluted, and just as relevant now as it was then. Sebastian St. Cyr, with his foot in the aristocracy and his eye on justice, is a hero to be followed into whatever dark corner he investigates.
PREMIUM

Dissent: The Radicalization of the Republican Party and Its Capture of the Court

This exhaustively detailed book will engage general readers interested in civic duty and privacy. Contemporary journalistic treatments of the confirmation will have to suffice until historical perspective produces what scholars may consider a definitive account.
PREMIUM

Lucky: How Joe Biden Barely Won the Presidency

Readers who enjoy political coverage of the election process and want to know more about Joe Biden’s campaign will be well informed by this book.
PREMIUM

Twilight Man: Love and Ruin in the Shadows of Hollywood and the Clark Empire

This is a definite must-read for fans of early Hollywood, and those interested in LGBTQ history, with plenty of scandals and gossip to grab interest.
PREMIUM

The Kindred Spirits Supper Club

A delightful read for fans of light paranormal romances or cozy romances in general.
PREMIUM

Letter to a Young Female Physician: Notes from a Medical Life

A candid account that will spark the interest of aspiring physicians.
PREMIUM

Why Wakanda Matters: What Black Panther Reveals About Psychology, Identity, and Communication

While academic in nature, these essays are accessible to general readers. Howard’s work is a solid addition to media studies sections in both public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

Good Dog: Celebrating Dogs Who Change, and Sometimes Even Save, Our Lives

A loving look at how dogs care for people.
PREMIUM

The Company

Spencer, author of various series featuring police officers (“Jennie Redhead”; “Monika Paniatowski”) offers an intense, convoluted stand-alone. It’s not always easy to piece together Rob’s twisted thoughts and the police investigation, but readers who enjoy Spencer’s works might want to try.
PREMIUM

The Comfort Crisis: Embrace Discomfort to Reclaim Your Wild, Happy, Healthy Self

Despite some flaws, this is an engaging read, recommended for those who enjoy outdoor writing, as well as for armchair (therefore very comfortable) critics of the modern lifestyle.
PREMIUM

Psychiana Man: A Mail-Order Prophet, His Followers, and the Power of Belief in Hard Times

This bizarre, gripping, yet balanced account of a charismatic man and an enterprise that prospered under the guise of religion will appeal to true crime fans and those interested in religious cults, including readers of Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood and the Prison of Belief.
PREMIUM

Kin

Rodenberg writes with an evocative and unflinching style, despite sometimes jarring shifts in narrative. This is a richly nuanced portrait of people and place, along with the bounds of forgiveness. Good for biography readers eager to explore the complexities of family relationships, or readers interested in women’s lives in Appalachia.
PREMIUM

Black Snake: Standing Rock, the Dakota Access Pipeline, and Environmental Justice

A humanistic investigative documentation of the legal and political battle of DAPL. It will appeal to readers interested in Indigenous movements, environmental movements, and the historical significance of this protest.
PREMIUM

A Fatal First Night

Readers who enjoy historical mysteries with a touch of romance will enjoy the period details and strong female characters, as well as Ella’s colorful parrot, Montezuma.

The Profession: A Memoir of Community, Race, and the Arc of Policing in America

A candid, even-handed account that is highly recommended for popular collections. A natural fit for libraries where The Turnaround circulated well.
PREMIUM

The Nine: The True Story of a Band of Women Who Survived the Worst of Nazi Germany

A fast-paced account that is strongly recommended for lovers of action-oriented narrative nonfiction, and for women’s history collections.
PREMIUM

Open Your Heart

Readers who prioritize hot sex scenes and character-driven plots, as well as fans of Hodges’s previous novels, will enjoy this installment.
PREMIUM

Count Down: How Our Modern World Is Threatening Sperm Counts, Altering Male and Female Reproductive Development, and Imperiling the Future of the Human Race

Well-researched, with an extensive bibliography and a useful glossary of key concepts. A fast-paced account that offers myriad recommendations for lifestyle changes to reduce exposure to the chemicals that Swan and Colino identify as threats to the future of humankind.
PREMIUM

You’re History: The Twelve Strangest Women in Music

Those interested in music criticism will enjoy this in-depth study of unique women voices in pop music.

The Intimacy Experiment

Recommended for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, as well as fans of the author’s debut.

You Love Me

Fans of the series will want to read this book in one sitting. It’s wickedly full of twists, turns, and a dizzying array of pop culture references and witticisms.
PREMIUM

A Fire in the Wilderness: The First Battle between Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee

Reeves shows that battles can reveal heroism not through victories but at a basic level of survival. He has produced an evocative account of the human costs of the Civil War.
PREMIUM

Five Ways To Disappear

This mystery has dark elements that contrast with the beautiful locale; it will please fans of the series, as well as those who appreciate noir novels in general. The characters are well developed, with their faults laid out for readers. The several strands of the plot are all brought together quite acceptably in the denouement, except for Cal’s earlier crime, which is left to readers’ imagination; the author intends this to be the last book in the series.

The Venice Sketchbook

This novel’s engaging entertainment is enhanced by its dual time line that uncovers Juliet’s secrets, and a plot enlivened by coincidences and romance. A must-read for Bowen fans and historical fiction enthusiasts.

Roundup (April 9, 2021)

C Pam Zhang, Brandon Taylor Among NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award Finalists | Book Pulse

A Lot Can Happen in the Middle of Nowhere: The Untold Story of the Making of Fargo

Much like the movie it dissects, this book is quirky and intelligent, with surprising revelations. A treat for cinephiles and fans of the Coen brothers.

University of Chicago Library Director and University Librarian Brenda L. Johnson Announces Retirement

Columbia University Libraries Launches “Democracy Reform and Voting Rights in the United States Web Archive”

GPO and Libraries Set Goal to Make Every U.S. Government Document Accessible

Penguin Random House Extends Discounted Digital-Book Library Program for Online Patrons, Educators, and Students Through the End of 2021

Pilot Project Will Make Articles Published in Selected Wiley Journals Available on ResearchGate

Middlebury College: “Million-Dollar Library Budget Cut Hinders Resource Access, Burdens Librarians”

Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) Pool Purchasing to Gain Perpetual Access to 77 Adam Matthew Digital Collections

Roundup (April 8, 2021)

Outlying Internships: Managing Remote Practicums and Internships During COVID-19

ALA’s State of America’s Libraries Report Looks at a Year of COVID-19

'The Hill We Climb' by Amanda Gorman Tops Bestseller Lists | Book Pulse

Abolitionist Leaders | Social Sciences Reviews

Abolitionist Leaders | Social Sciences Reviews

Report: “National Archives Can’t Resurrect Trump’s Tweets, Twitter Says”

AR/VR: Google Releases Three “WebXR Experiments”

$1.4 Million Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Grant Expands Enslaved.org Research

Report: “The US ‘Infodemic’ Has Spread to Canada, Fuelled by Social Media”

Smithsonian Libraries and Archives Releases Seven New Digital Jigsaw Puzzles

A New Essay in the Project Information Literacy Provocation Series: “Reading in the Age of Distrust” by Alison J. Head

Jerry Kline Community Impact Prize Guidelines

Roundup (April 7, 2021)

Boston Public Library Expands Digital Initiatives with Launch of Connectivity Kits

'The Secret Lives of Church Ladies' Wins 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award | Book Pulse

Intimations, Becoming Human, Re-Enchanted, and More in Literary Criticism | Academic Best Sellers

Intimations, Becoming Human, Re-Enchanted, and More in Literary Criticism | Academic Best Sellers

Journal Article: “The Evolving Role of Preprints in the Dissemination of COVID-19 Research and Their Impact on the Science Communication Landscape”

Special Collections: “How Acclaimed Actress Glenn Close’s Extensive Costume Collection Ended Up at Indiana University”

Europeana Launches an Image Classification Pilot Project

Cambridge University Press Signed 129 New Open Access Publishing Agreements with US Institutions During 2020

Roundup (April 6, 2021)

Jackie O’s Secret Affair Revealed in

The French Paradox

Jenna Bush Hager Picks 'Good Company' | Book Pulse

Couric, Harjo, Ruhl, Sedaris & More: Memoir Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

HarperCollins Acquires Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?