Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Crime and Comfort: 90 Mysteries for Our Times Promise Escape and Coziness | Mystery Preview 2021

'What's Mine and Yours' by Naima Coster Is the March 'Read With Jenna' Pick | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for “Dark Sky” by C. J. Box | LibraryReads

Pandemic & Politics: Ongoing Concerns; Nonfiction Previews, Sept. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

The Ladies of the Secret Circus

Highly recommended for lovers of timeslip fiction, readers who enjoy their genres very bent indeed, and those who have dreamed of running away to the circus.
PREMIUM

Paris Without Her

Although slated as a memoir, this touching work is just as much a love story and travel diary. It processes the pain of loss through the lens of beautiful scenery and will appeal to many readers, but especially fellow Francophiles eager to follow the road less traveled.
PREMIUM

The 80/80 Marriage: A New Model for a Happier, Stronger Relationship

The book offers helpful insights into the dated preconceptions many couples have when they get married, and positive ways to shift to a new paradigm.

Her Here

Elena’s narrative-within-a-narrative nicely reveals the creative process, while Dennis’s larger story confirms the value of living boldly even as we step back to frame our experiences. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

A Whole World: Letters from James Merrill

This sumptuously produced collection of letters will appeal mostly to literary enthusiasts.

The Last Watch

Dewes’s debut is an exciting, fast-paced ride around the edges of the universe, where those rejected by much of humanity are the only ones who can save it. Fans of K. B. Wagers’s “Farian Wars” series and John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War will welcome this military science fiction thriller.
PREMIUM

The Curator’s Daughter

Ember’s story interwoven with Hanna’s is a search for identity unshackled from past mistakes and redeemed by love. Fans of Kristy Cambron and Rachel Hauck will devour this split-time tale with two equally strong story lines. Increased anti-Semitism in her own community of Portland, OR, inspired Dobson (Memories of Glass) to mine the past for lessons in reconciliation, forgiveness, and lasting change

Names of New York: Discovering the City’s Past, Present, and Future through Its Place-Names

While toponymy, or the study of place-names, may appear to be an overwhelming topic, Jelly-Schapiro’s writing is informative, accessible, and entertaining. He is engaging throughout, and will leave readers thinking twice about the place-names they encounter on a daily basis.
PREMIUM

Fugitive Telemetry

Back in novella form for a sixth outing, Murderbot continues to bring intelligence and acerbic commentary on humanity to the forefront.
PREMIUM

It Had To Be You

Clark creates a quilt of diverse love stories, overlapping and meandering warmly throughout New York City. In her most recent since The Bucket List, each story Clark tells packs an emotional punch, but Savannah’s and Liv’s respective relationships, as well as their own evolution to friends and colleagues, are standouts.
PREMIUM

Piecing Your Heart Back Together: The Road Map to Healing and Thriving after a Breakup or Divorce

Silvestro’s work will help many deal with the current pain of a broken relationship and give them the ability to move on.
PREMIUM

Isabelle and Alexander

Anderson’s first foray into historical romance is an atypical, yet satisfying story set in Victorian Manchester’s upper middle class. Hand this to readers looking for a book that navigates the peaks and valleys of two strangers attempting to make a life together despite the hardships life throws at them.
PREMIUM

Wild Sign

The sixth “Alpha and Omega” book continues to build a realized world of the Montana pack and its members. An intriguing ending will have fans looking forward to the next book.
PREMIUM

Three Dreamers

Fans of Carcaterra’s novels and reporting will appreciate the background on his life and inspiration, and this reflective memoir gives nuance to the dark world he portrays in his novels.
PREMIUM

New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time

A varied book that will appeal to armchair travelers and others curious about New York. Highly recommended for public libraries as well as large academic libraries the world over.
PREMIUM

The Conductors

Blending historical fantasy and mystery, this fast-paced debut with predominantly Black characters will engage fans eager for a combination of each.
PREMIUM

A Piece of the Moon

Every title by Fabry (Borders of the Heart) draws readers into the story with clear, honest writing in a similar style to Charles Martin and Lynn Austin. The rural South comes to life, with themes of forgiveness and second chances as highlights. The characters are both deeply flawed and immensely relatable, making this another hit for Fabry.
PREMIUM

Philip Roth: The Biography

For an author like Roth, who put so much of his own life into his books, this biography is an essential companion to his novels, enabling readers to discover the true-life inspirations for many of his memorable characters and scenes. Recommended for readers who have read and enjoyed Philip Roth’s fiction.
PREMIUM

Visual Encyclopedia

Containing an enormous range of knowledge throughout human history, this attractive guide is highly recommended for public libraries.
PREMIUM

Layla

Fans both of the author and of paranormal romances will relish this tale.
PREMIUM

The Seat Filler

Wilson’s follow-up to Roommaid is a fun romp with only-in-the-movies-level swoons and genuine laugh-out-loud moments. With a fairly PG rating, this one may also work for teen romance readers.
PREMIUM

Grown

Rife with crucial issues, Jackson’s newest YA bestseller will require multiple formats to satisfy audience demands.
PREMIUM

The Incredible Winston Browne

Dietrich (Stars of Alabama) imbues plenty of Southern charm and colloquialisms in a read that will appeal to people of all genders, and especially to fans of small-town living. Readers who enjoy well-developed, realistic characters similar to those from Charles Martin and Lauren K. Denton will want to watch for more from this author.
PREMIUM

Band of Sisters

Listening to the audiobook version and hearing the tension, anguish, and, at times, happiness, provides a deeper connection to the characters in an already outstanding story.

Anxious People

Balancing—so remarkably well!

The House of Always

Lyons creates an immersive and complex history filled with delightful characters, bold action, and surprising twists.

The Islam Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

Full of clearly conveyed, essential information, this title should be of interest to everyone.

This Is My America

The struggle Tracy and her family are facing is raw and real; it’s a story that needs to be read (or heard). This audiobook brings a powerful depth to the emotions and events.

We Are Satellites

Pinsker’s (A Song For A New Day) meticulous research and melodious prose bring readers to the heart of a family and the challenges of societal expectations, technology, and the desire to advance without fully understanding the consequences.

Watch Over Me

Fans of LaCour’s previous YA novels will not be disappointed by this hauntingly beautiful tale. The audiobook is a cathartic masterpiece and will evoke strong emotions in listeners.
PREMIUM

Little and Often

A thoughtful and well-written memoir, this book will appeal to readers who have difficult relationships with family and those who find craftwork healing.
PREMIUM

Second First Impressions

Following 99 Percent Mine, Thorne’s latest novel is a sweet story, merging a woman whose fears tend to overpower her dreams, and a slow-burn romance that turns her world upside down.

The Argument Hangover: Empowering Couples To Fight Smarter and Overcome Communication Pitfalls

This is an excellent resource for couples who are willing to work on their relationship.
PREMIUM

Stronger Than You Think: The 10 Blind Spots That Undermine Your Relationship…and How To See Past Them

An excellent choice for readers who are in a romantic relationship or are preparing for one.
PREMIUM

Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic

This audiobook is a delight and a good addition to any collection.
PREMIUM

Blackberry Beach: A Hope Harbor Novel

Hannon (Starfish Pier) returns to Hope Harbor with an unsurprising romance that reads well as a stand-alone but will satisfy series fans with glimpses of characters from previous books. A couple of retirees’ romantic interest in each other livens up the plot, but this book is recommended mainly for libraries that already own the series or where Hannon is popular.
PREMIUM

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

The narrative can get a little lost in the gorgeous, reflective language but remains an absorbing study of memory and grief.
PREMIUM

Why Couples Fight: A Step-by-Step Guide to Ending the Frustration, Conflict, and Resentment in Your Relationship

This will be very helpful for couples who are struggling, particularly during the COVID era, to have a mutually supportive relationship.
PREMIUM

William Shakespeare: Facts and Fictions

An ideal ready-reference guide to understanding one of the greatest—and most popular

Someone Wanton His Way Comes

Humorous, tender, and altogether fun, Caldwell’s latest will have wide appeal among romance readers.

The Galaxy, and the Ground Within

Chambers (To Be Taught if Fortunate) once again creates an epic space setting with a detailed, personal view of some of its inhabitants. Humor and heartache weave through her insightful prose and diverse characters.

Star Eater

Hall’s (The Border Keeper) solid worldbuilding and strong prose create an utterly gripping novel that blends the boundaries of horror and fantasy.
PREMIUM

New York, New York, New York: Four Decades of Success, Excess, and Transformation

This engaging book has the potential to become a classic text, thanks to the detailed work and references that have gone into its creation. Recommended for libraries in larger institutions or for others with an interest in New York or urban studies.

Sons of Valor

This book is a must-read for fans of covert-ops thrillers, and the authors are looking like the next Preston and Child.

The Hiding Place

The sequel to Blind Search is a riveting, fast-paced story of family and small-town secrets. Tension builds quickly in the emotional story involving unforgettable working dogs and the people who love them.

A Deadly Twist

Siger’s latest novel (after The Mykonos Mob) is as insightful as earlier ones concerning the problems in Greece. Followers of the series will relish a reunion with Kaldis and a group of friends in an engrossing procedural. New readers will discover the gorgeous aspects of Greek life in a mystery that uncovers the corruption of the country.
PREMIUM

Where Have You Gone Without Me?

With its short, brisk chapters, the novel reads as if it were a newspaper column, appropriate for the investigative nature of the book. While there is little suspense, readers who enjoy colorful characters might appreciate this fiction debut by a sports and entertainment journalist who writes what he knows.
PREMIUM

What You Never Knew

With an emphasis on place and characters, the debut is a slow-moving, atmospheric novel. Only readers with a great deal of patience will wade through the alternating viewpoints from the dead May and the living June to uncover a secret that isn’t very surprising.
PREMIUM

The Unkindness of Ravens

While readers may want to compare librarian Hilliard’s debut with the library-centered mysteries by Jenn McKinlay or Victoria Gilbert, this one is actually a little darker than the other cozies. Most of the atmospheric story takes place in the beloved but old village library. Readers who remember those classic girl detective mysteries, and many library staff members, will appreciate this book.
PREMIUM

The Sign of Death

The follow-up to A Study in Murder is a fun, character-driven mystery with two unconventional amateur sleuths. The emphasis on Victorian lifestyle in a humorous cozy should satisfy fans of atmospheric historical mysteries.

The Drummers

It’s been five years since the last Josie Gray book by the Hillerman Prize–winning author of The Territory. The riveting mystery is an intense, ripped-from-the-headlines story for anyone looking for a compelling tale of homegrown terrorists with grandiose schemes.
PREMIUM

On an Outgoing Tide

The multiple cases and personal story lines in this well-written police procedural will only be appreciated if someone has read the series. There’s a great deal of backstory in this follow-up to Red, Red Snow, too much for new readers.
PREMIUM

Heart on a Leash

In this heartwarming, modern-day version of Romeo and Juliet set in Alaska, Josh’s adorable huskies, Pepper, Bella, and Jay, steal the show. This first “Hearts of Alaska” book promises an entertaining new dog-centered series.

Christianity: A Historical Atlas

This cartographic chronicle of Christianity is an excellent, affordable resource for students of history, geography, and religion; both public and academic libraries will want to add it to their collections.
PREMIUM

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

A unique contribution to culinary literature that would be a great addition to a collection of food memoirs, but may not stand out to readers looking for recipes alone.
PREMIUM

Cook Real Hawai’i

With an emphasis on everyday meals over specialty dishes, the majority of the recipes are practical and feature ingredients that are easy to source. Great for home cooks wanting to explore Hawaiian cuisine at home, or those wanting to try new flavors and enhance their repertoire of fusion-inspired dishes.
PREMIUM

Rice: A Savor the South® Cookbook

Another excellent addition to the “Savor the South” cookbook series that will appeal to fans of Southern cooking, and anyone looking for new takes on a common ingredient.
PREMIUM

At Home in the Kitchen: Simple Recipes from a Chef’s Night Off

An approachable collection featuring plenty of suggestions for advice and inspiration. Cooks of all levels will find something to savor.
PREMIUM

The Food of Oaxaca: Recipes and Stories from Mexico’s Culinary Capital

A rich resource showcasing Oaxacan cuisine that will have readers coming back for the shared stories.
PREMIUM

Mister Jiu’s in Chinatown: Recipes and Stories from the Birthplace of Chinese American Food

Rewarding for home cooks seeking a unique technical challenge and readers looking for a deeper understanding and appreciation of Chinese American cuisine. The dessert chapter, with recipes and narrative by Mister Jiu’s pastry chef Melissa Chou, is a particular highlight.

Mr. Humble and Dr. Butcher: A Monkey’s Head, the Pope’s Neuroscientist, and the Quest To Transplant the Soul

Schillace brings her expertise as a medical historian to this carefully researched, pioneering biography of an eccentric doctor. A compelling read that will draw in variety of readers.
PREMIUM

Hooked: Food, Free Will, and How the Food Giants Exploit Our Addictions

Similar to his previous book, the latest by Moss will draw in fans of investigative journalism, and all interested in learning more about the inner workings of the companies we support.
PREMIUM

Films of Endearment: A Mother, a Son and the ’80s Films That Defined Us

A skilled film critic, Koresky guides readers through salient plot points instead of rehashing entire films, but his real talent is using cinema as a starting point for conversation. This intimate, probing work will appeal to hard-core cinephiles, lovers of memoirs, and many other readers.

Animal, Vegetable, Junk: A History of Food, from Sustainable to Suicidal

Worldwide famine and the collapse of the climate are real, and the author’s stark challenge to change the system or suffer catastrophe is a clarion call. This ardent work will appeal to devotees of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Jared Diamond’s Collapse. Highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Around the World in 80 Words: A Journey through the English Language

A fun and informative exploration for word nerds.
PREMIUM

Gabrielle Chanel: Fashion Manifesto

This volume does not focus on Chanel’s biography or her collaboration with the Nazi regime in wartime; for that, see Hal Vaughan’s Sleeping with the Enemy and other biographies of the designer. Rather, it spotlights Chanel’s creations and how she marketed her style and created a brand. This excellent volume is recommended for readers interested in fashion history and French fashion in general.

PREMIUM

The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

Similar to his previous works, Isaacson’s latest is another absorbing story of scientific discovery. The final section on the use of CRISPR to combat COVID-19 will only widen the appeal.

A Most Remarkable Creature: The Hidden Life and Epic Journey of the World’s Smartest Birds of Prey

An ambitious, impressive debut. The book’s manifold strands will engage all sorts of readers, including bird lovers, science buffs, and eco-adventure fans.
PREMIUM

Terror to the Wicked: America’s First Trial by Jury That Ended a War and Helped To Form a Nation

Advanced readers of American history, political science, and law will enjoy this detail-rich and erudite example of crime and justice in early America.
PREMIUM

A Question Mark Is Half a Heart

Lundberg’s sophomore work (after The Red Address Book) deftly and sensitively tells Elin’s past and present life stories in the ever-popular alternating chapter format. She builds Elin’s story slowly, but once the OMG moment hits, readers will turn the pages as if they are burning. For fans of narratives about conflicted and tormented heroines trying to make peace with their pasts.

Every Day Is a Gift

An excellent work that will allow readers to get to know one of today’s most unique political voices. Readers from a wide range of backgrounds will find something to relate to in Duckworth’s story.
PREMIUM

Einstein’s Fridge: How the Difference Between Hot and Cold Explains the Universe

A welcome entry on the subject of thermodynamics that will spark the interest of readers curious about the names and theories behind physics but unsure where to start.

The Mark of Slavery: Disability, Race, and Gender in Antebellum America

This original work adds an important new voice to conversations about slavery, disability, and medical history. Exceptional analysis of an understudied topic.
PREMIUM

GrowVeg: The Beginner’s Guide to Easy Vegetable Gardening

Beginning gardeners who are eager to get their hands dirty will find both inspiration and practical information in this accessible, colorful, and highly illustrated volume.
PREMIUM

Footnotes: The Black Artists Who Rewrote the Rules of the Great White Way

Theater buffs and students of Black history will be pleased by this cogent defense of Shuffle Along.
PREMIUM

God of Nothingness: Poems

Rising from wells of loss and loneliness (“My future is the only future”), Wunderlich’s poems may seem harsh, even bitter, but their authentic, wounded humanity is no less compelling for that.
PREMIUM

Everyday Mojo Songs of Earth: New and Selected Poems, 2001–2021

For those unfamiliar with Komunyakaa, this volume offers a rich sampling of his postmillennial work. For his fans, it further enforces his reputation as an important and necessary American poet.
PREMIUM

Off the Charts: What I Learned from My Almost Fabulous Life in Music

Much like her music, Goldman’s book is witty, intelligent, and folksy. A must-read for aspiring performers.
PREMIUM

Index of Women

As her impressions flow together, they add a surreal atmosphere, suggestive of art by Toulouse-Lautrec

Heart of Fire: An Immigrant Daughter’s Story

Hirono offers an astoundingly compelling glance into U.S. politics, and also provides an honest look at how much grit it takes for people from less privileged backgrounds to make it in American politics and make a difference in their community. A must-read that demands a broad audience.
PREMIUM

Wild and Free Nature: 25 Outdoor Adventures for Kids to Explore, Discover, and Awaken Their Curiosity

Although geared primarily toward homeschooling parents, this book will also be useful for teachers, babysitters, and anyone else who cares for children and wants to get them out into nature.

The Hospital: Life, Death, and Dollars in a Small American Town

The time Alexander spent embedded in the community gives continuity and depth to the stories of the individuals he connected with and puts a human face on broader issues of social inequality. This expertly reported account will resonate and find a wide audience.
PREMIUM

Girlhood

A thought-provoking collection that will appeal to fans of fierce feminist prose. The inclusion of occasional poetry is a bonus.
PREMIUM

Hearing Homer’s Song: The Brief Life and Big Idea of Milman Parry

An engaging, thoroughly researched biography of a fascinating figure. Though some of the details surrounding Parry’s documentation techniques can feel a bit tedious at times, Kanigel has given readers a thoughtful look at a man whose theories have helped us to better understand the ancient world.
PREMIUM

Right Here, Right Now: Life Stories from America’s Death Row

This volume packs a punch and gives a voice to those whose stories need to be fully heard. Libraries, especially those seeking to expand collections related to criminal justice and the politics surrounding issues of race and class, should purchase this title.
PREMIUM

The Unfit Heiress: The Tragic Life and Scandalous Sterilization of Ann Cooper Hewitt

Expertly blending biography and history, and using the life of Ann Cooper Hewitt as a backdrop, Farley has created an absorbing biography effectively explaining how the legacy of eugenics still persists today. Hewitt’s story will engage anyone interested in women’s history.

Places of Mind: A Life of Edward Said

While there is a great deal of theory in this sweeping biography, Brennan has succeeded in writing an account that is both an act of love and a solid study of a fascinating man.
PREMIUM

The Sweet Taste of Muscadines

Filled with vivid landscape descriptions, Southern charm, and heartfelt familial connections, this novel is sure to please readers, especially fans of Southern women’s fiction and family dramas like the works of Mary Kay Andrews and Kristin Hannah.

Genius Makers: The Mavericks Who Brought AI to Google, Facebook, and the World

An informative, enjoyable work that connects the history of technology to our current world of gadgets and devices. With vivid detail, Metz has crafted an accessible narrative that will keep readers turning the pages.
PREMIUM

We Are Here: Visionaries of Color Transforming the Art World

This is a timely topic presented in an accessible way, sure to be welcomed by art enthusiasts of all ages.
PREMIUM

Enneagram Empowerment: Discover Your Personality Type and Unlock Your Potential

This book is an attractive introduction to a personality test that references mainstream popular therapeutic concepts and emphasizes self-care. Readers attracted to personality tests for personal enrichment will be interested.
PREMIUM

White Magic

Washuta’s story and struggles become a metaphor for the toll of colonialism on generations of Indigenous people like herself. Readers of recovery narratives, women’s issues, and keenly observed social commentary will be rewarded here.
PREMIUM

The Seventies: The Decade that Changed American Film Forever

An informative but frustrating volume.
PREMIUM

Mean…Moody…Magnificent! Jane Russell and the Marketing of a Hollywood Legend

Whether readers are intimately familiar with the golden age of Hollywood, or are newcomers to the topic, they’ll come away having learned something about one of its stars.
PREMIUM

The Road Less Traveled: The Secret Battle to End the Great War, 1916–1917

This thought-provoking history is based on vast primary sources, and while the narrative sometimes bogs down in excessive detail, Zelikow’s sharp account brings World War I into focus and raises a number of fascinating “what if” scenarios. Recommended for all extensive history collections.
PREMIUM

Morningside Heights

Henkin treats the complications of a complicated disease with insight, honesty, and humanity, in a style that is as readable as it is consummately literate.

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?