Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Read-Alikes for ‘State of Terror’ by Louise Penny and Hillary Rodham Clinton | LibraryReads

Her Name Is Knight

Angoe deftly balances action, interpersonal relationships, issues of trauma, and profound human questions in an unforgettable novel.
PREMIUM

The Pickwick Murders

Fans of mysteries with historical backgrounds, especially the popular Victorian period, will enjoy this latest installment.
PREMIUM

Count to Three

Thriller fans won’t find anything fresh in Ragan’s creepy story of a man who killed his mother and is looking for a teenage bride.
PREMIUM

These Silent Woods

Grant’s evocative prose, nuanced characters, and undercurrent of quiet tension will appeal to a variety of readers.
PREMIUM

These Toxic Things

Hall’s latest is a tech-savvy juggernaut of fear and paranoia, rendered quirky and original by the colloquial voice of its millennial protagonist. Some good advice before reading: Make sure the doors are locked.
PREMIUM

A Surprise for Christmas and Other Seasonal Mysteries

With perfectly sized stories for stolen moments during a busy season, there’s something for everyone in this well-curated anthology.
PREMIUM

Final Table

This is a great purchase for all collections as it tackles some relevant political issues, the Me Too movement, and the growing incredibility of popular social platforms.
PREMIUM

Hooked on a Feline

Fans of cat mysteries and cozies will lap up the adventures of librarian Kathleen and her supernatural kitty sidekicks and beg for more of the budding romance between Kathleen and Marcus and the antics of Mayville’s other quirky, charming residents.
PREMIUM

Better Off Dead

The writing is more seamless than in the Child brothers’ previous collaboration, but the action is often perfunctorily described, and the supporting cast is thinly written. There’s less humor than in previous entries, though Reacher’s notorious Luddism is played for a few laughs. Fans of the series will enjoy.
PREMIUM

An Elderly Lady Must Not Be Crossed

In spite of her penchant for using murder to solve her problems, elderly Maud is incredibly clever and oddly charming. Readers may find themselves rooting for her to get away with it all and will also appreciate the bonus gingerbread recipe.
PREMIUM

The Scholars of Night

Highly recommended for readers looking for classic spy stories such as those by John le Carré and Len Deighton, because this work stands up to the best of the genre.
PREMIUM

Wolf Point

An intriguing sequel, though it could do without some of the details of Chicago and golf; fans of Stephen Mack Jones’s “August Snow” mysteries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

I Am Not Who You Think I Am

Rickstad ratchets up the suspense, filling Wayland’s investigations with misdirection, shadowy characters, and gothic elements. There’s a sense of dread throughout the book, but the final plot twist is a jaw-dropper. Recommended for readers who like their thrillers dark and twisted.
PREMIUM

In the Company of Witches

Wallace’s wonderful Connecticut setting and quirky characters make this a fun new cozy mystery series.
PREMIUM

Sleepless

Hausmann’s ominous psychological suspense tale masterfully uses restraint, inserting a continual flow of small but significant clues to create tension and a heavy tone. The multidimensional characters will keep readers questioning what they know. For fans of Fiona Barton and Gillian Flynn.

The Apollo Murders

Hadfield draws on his expertise as an astronaut to add authenticity and realism to his debut thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler and Andy Weir will enjoy this genre-bender combining military fiction, the detective novel, and techno-thriller.

Last Girl Ghosted

Unger keeps readers guessing, with revelations that will make them stop and question what they thought they knew. She might also make them think twice about online dating. Recommended for those who like psychological thrillers with women protagonists, such as Andrea Bartz’s We Were Never Here.
PREMIUM

Death in a Desert Garden

For fans of cozy mysteries in Southwestern settings.

Repentance

A tense debut thriller with excellent characters and a timely, satisfying plot; knowledge of recent Argentinian history would help readers contextualize the violence Díaz depicts. For fans of Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” novels.
PREMIUM

The Savage Kind

Copenhaver’s latest is jam-packed with noir themes and plot twists. Sure to please fans of queer fiction and twisty mysteries.
PREMIUM

Miss Moriarty, I Presume

Existing fans will appreciate the romantic plot developments, while new readers could treat this as a standalone but would be better served by starting with book one, A Study in Scarlet Women. Suitable for those who enjoy Deanna Raybourn’s “Veronica Speedwell” mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Line To Kill

Horowitz’s latest reveals vulnerability in the condescending Daniel. Fans of the series or and Agatha Christie will relish character-driven mystery set on an isolated island.

Under Color of Law

Clark’s ripped-from-the-headlines police procedural should make readers uncomfortable. It’s a frightening, tragic tale.
PREMIUM

Nanny Dearest

Mercifully avoiding the sexual clichés of many other domestic thrillers, Collins’s debut illustrates the sometimes obsessive and terrifying nature of love and the shattering consequences of its betrayal. Nanny services across the country may see a dip in demand when this intensely emotional psychological roller coaster is released.
PREMIUM

The Cure for What Ales You

Fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams will love Alexander’s latest Sloan Krause cozy mystery; enjoy with a cold beer.

Betrayal on the Bowery

An action-packed historical mystery with a strong female protagonist and hints of future romance.
PREMIUM

As the Wicked Watch

Hall’s decades of field experience lend a lot of credibility to the story and provide a strong footing for an intriguing new crime series.
PREMIUM

Hold Me Down

A mystery that explores character motivations rather than the murder itself. For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich.

Mango, Mambo, and Murder

The character-driven debut introduces a fresh protagonist, a Cuban American woman trying to maintain her culinary heritage and Spanish language while attempting to find friends and a killer.
PREMIUM

The Retreat

An optional purchase for libraries where Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware are popular.
PREMIUM

The Burning

As always, the Kellermans guarantee that readers will turn pages rapidly to enjoy the complex characters and intricate plot turns. It’s another winner for mystery readers.
PREMIUM

The Night She Disappeared

Jewell (Watching You) uses three closely aligned timelines to unpack the events leading to a soul-crushing crime; these shifts in time and points of view are mildly confusing. Plot twists are deftly incorporated while remaining highly unlikely. Yet this satisfying suspense story is rich with emotional depth and delivers a steady dose of uneasiness. For fans of Sophie Hannah.
PREMIUM

Friends Like These

McCreight artfully delivers a solid psychological thriller with a twistedly complex plot. Readers who enjoy unraveling the mystery through numerous viewpoints as in The Guest List, by Lucy Foley, or Into the Water, by Paula Hawkins, will be sure to enjoy.
PREMIUM

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife

Though some plot points strain credulity, and most characters are thinly drawn, Winstead’s first novel successfully gets inside Jessica’s head and conveys the excitement and terror of college days.
PREMIUM

Kill All Your Darlings

This one will please aficionados of campus crime stories and novels about writers and academic skullduggery.
PREMIUM

Mastermind: A Theo Cray and Jessica Blackwood Thriller

This high-energy tale reads like Wonder Woman and Dr. Who came together to battle the Joker in an over-the-top thriller that still entices readers to keep feverishly turning pages. Blackwood, Cray, and the Warlock are likely to appear again in future confrontations between good and evil.
PREMIUM

We Were Never Here

This gripping and thoughtful novel with a self-aware protagonist considers feminism and the psychology of memory while never losing its pace. This book will appeal to readers of psychological thrillers such as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train.
PREMIUM

God Rest Ye, Royal Gentlemen

Fans of Georgie and the series will not be disappointed in this latest adventure. Readers are once again treated to a glimpse into the private lives of the royals as Bowen weaves another mystery with historical figures as peripheral players.
PREMIUM

Arya Winters and the Tiramisu of Death

In this mystery best compared to The Addams Family, anxious Arya is an intriguing narrator who admits to her faults. With all its sex, discussion of sex, and naked bodies, this is not a cozy mystery, despite the blurbs.
PREMIUM

The House of Ashes

A considerable departure from the author’s well-known police series, this psychological thriller is not for the fainthearted.

The Dark Remains

An essential purchase to complete crime fiction collections or where international police novels are popular.

The Ninja Betrayed

Eldridge’s series just keeps getting better. While readers can enjoy this book without having read the first two, a series highlight is Lily’s evolution and the complexity and growth of her relationships. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy strong heroines forging their own paths, like Deanna Raybourn’s Victoria Speedwell, S. J. Rozan’s Lydia Chin, and Gigi Pandian’s Jaya Jones.

Striking Range

Mizushima’s follow-up to Hanging Falls still leaves questions about Mattie’s past. The tension and drama of this series installment will satisfy fans of K-9 partners and solid police procedurals.
PREMIUM

The Missing Hours

The plot is intriguing but doesn’t quite hit the gritty climax readers might expect. Still, Dahl provides a timely story about an always relevant topic.
PREMIUM

Never Saw Me Coming

Readers won’t want to put down this fast and engaging debut novel, and they’ll root for the characters who’ve been cast as villains; Chloe is a particular paradox, simultaneously deplorable and charming. Kurian seamlessly interweaves multiple perspectives, though there are enough different points of view to overwhelm some readers. Those with a strong sense of justice might also be turned off by the fact that Chloe’s crimes go unpunished.
PREMIUM

The Man Who Died Twice

This entertaining follow-up to Osman’s first mystery reveals more about the main characters’ lives, especially Elizabeth’s. Excerpts from Joyce’s diary provide many humorous moments, as well as another perspective of the events of the novel. Recommended for fans of British cozies, especially Simon Brett’s “Fethering” series and Ann Purser’s “Lois Meade” series.
PREMIUM

We Know You Remember

While still full of very grim crimes, this mystery’s setting in the countryside during the summer makes for a less bleak setting than usual for the genre. Alsterdal plots enough twists to keep the police procedural interesting and writes a great woman protagonist; fans of international mystery will be happy to discover her.
PREMIUM

Defending Britta Stein

This historical novel highlights a lesser-known aspect of World War II and features strong women characters. A good choice for book clubs.

Read-Alikes for 'A Slow Fire Burning' by Paula Hawkins

PREMIUM

Seven-Year Witch

This cozy mystery has the right balance of suspense and quirky, small-town humor. The tone is always cute and lighthearted, and Josie’s magical connection to books is a refreshing spin on witchcraft. Recommended for fans of Lynn Cahoon and Esme Addison, and cozy mystery enthusiasts who like a little sprinkle of the paranormal.
PREMIUM

The Mysterious Bookshop Presents the Best Mystery Stories of the Year: 2021

Purchase for large collections where short story collections and anthologies are popular.
PREMIUM

All These Ashes

Fans of Brad Parks’s “Carter Ross” crime series, also set in Newark, will appreciate Queally’s latest story featuring reporter-turned-investigator Avery.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Madness of Crowds’ by Louise Penny | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘The Noise’ by James Patterson and J. D. Barker | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Mysteries Within Mysteries | The Reader’s Shelf

PREMIUM

The Keening

The details of daily life in Gaelic Ireland (the wars, the feasts, the poetry) don’t make this historical mystery an easy read, but the intricately developed story may appeal to fans of Cora Harrison’s “Burren” mysteries.
PREMIUM

When Ghosts Come Home

Cash excels at conveying realistic family and community dynamics and creating complex characters, at least with the Barneses. Other characters, especially the cartoon-like villain, are not as deftly written. Mystery readers might quibble with a sizable plot hole and a rushed but shocking ending, but Cash’s fans and readers of Southern stories will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Double Solitaire

Good for readers who enjoy the gritty mysteries of James Ellroy or Michael Connelly.
PREMIUM

In the Crypt with a Candlestick

The unconventional mystery has no active murder investigation and a cast of unlikable, flawed characters. What is supposed to be a British farce falls flat.
PREMIUM

Dark Roads

Though dark and foreboding, none of the violence here is gratuitous and the strength and resilience shown by Stevens’s female characters offers leavening moments of heart and hope. For fans of Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

Fierce Little Thing

This is a well-plotted novel with excellent character development. Recommended for fans of psychological suspense and thrillers and readers of Donna Tartt.
PREMIUM

Cul-de-sac

Fielding pulls back the curtains of the neighborhood, allowing readers to spy on the neighbors as they spy on each other. As voyeuristically engaging as Hitchcock’s Rear Window, this psychological thriller elicits the page-turning urgency equivalent of trying desperately to see something just out of frame.

Deadly Summer Nights

Highly recommended for cozy readers looking for a new setting to explore and a heroine with a lot of moxie.

Read-Alikes for ‘Vortex’ by Catherine Coulter | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘Billy Summers’ by Stephen King | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

All Her Little Secrets

In her debut thriller, corporate attorney Morris deftly combines a creepy Nazi-esque sect with a murderous plot and rounds out the intrigue with a striking commentary on racism, sexual assault, and misogyny.
PREMIUM

Graveyard Fields

The unconventional heroes of this debut are exaggerated, awkward characters in a story that progresses from tragedy to dark humor. Fans of irreverent crime novels with flawed protagonists will appreciate it.
PREMIUM

Grave Reservations

Priest, the Locus Award–winning author of Boneshaker, is known for writing horror and steampunk. Her witty mystery has a likable amateur sleuth and a strong supporting cast. For fans of Wendall Thomas’s offbeat travel agent Cyd Redondo.

Hello, Transcriber

Former police transcriber Morrissey brings her expertise to this suspenseful debut. The story of an introverted, troubled woman, isolated in a bleak small town, will appeal to fans of Jess Lourey’s atmospheric books.

The Heron’s Cry

Matthew Venn, introduced in The Long Call, is the primary detective in this installment, but Cleeves uses multiple voices, including those of Matthew’s team members, to show the personal effects of this troubling case. Fans of Cleeves’s “Vera Stanhope” and “Shetland” mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where a police team struggles to cope with professional and personal lives.
PREMIUM

Mrs. March

Feito’s debut can be classified as a literary psychological thriller, but it doesn’t fit neatly into one genre. Fans of novels about psychological degeneration will be satisfied.

Ice and Stone

A must-read for Sharon McCone fans; the series should also be explored by any fan of strong women detectives.
PREMIUM

You Can Run

Cleveland weaves technology, motherhood, and spydom’s skullduggery into a taut, alluring web. Acclaimed for fiendishly clever plotting, she whips up the story to a breakneck pace, then rewards readers with a knockout ending. Fans of Stella Rimington’s series about MI5 agent Liz Carlyle will thrill to the steely grit and brave hearts of Jill and Alex.
PREMIUM

Another Kind of Eden

Dark backstories linger behind each complex character in this action-packed novel. Readers who first meet Aaron here will want to read previous novels in Burke’s “Holland Family” saga.
PREMIUM

Cajun Kiss of Death

The seventh “Cajun County Mystery” (after Murder in the Bayou Boneyard) wraps up the award-winning series. Fans will want to read this final volume, which resolves the futures of Maggie, Bo, and the other beloved characters from a comforting series that brings Cajun food, culture, and music together.
PREMIUM

A Slow Fire Burning

Hawkins (The Girl on the Train; Into the Water) returns with another novel of psychological suspense, sure to top best-seller lists. She takes seemingly ordinary characters and peers deeply into their complicated lives, skillfully building tension and keeping readers guessing.
PREMIUM

Be My Ghost

Perry (“Witch City” series) kicks off a character-rich series with this installment, which leaves unresolved Maureen’s mysterious connection to Penelope Gray, for future books. Readers of E. J. Copperman’s “Haunted Guesthouse” mysteries will enjoy this title.
PREMIUM

The Secret Staircase

The final installment in Connolly’s series wraps up the mystery of the Barton family. Connolly died in 2020, before she could write books about renovations of the house and village. The descriptions of the house and family life are slow-paced, but the author’s fans will want to finish the series.
PREMIUM

Dust to Dust

The follow-up to Murder at Hotel 1911 is a slow-moving, character-driven story. Keown has created sympathetic, realistic characters, including a young boy on the autism spectrum, and portrays Ivy’s struggles with anxiety. It takes a while for the story to unwind, with all the background Keown reintroduces, so this mystery is suggested only for those who read the series’ first book.

Gone by Morning

Miller’s background as a lawyer in New York brings an authenticity to this intense, intricately plotted thriller. The politics and menacing atmosphere combine in a promising debut.
PREMIUM

56 Days

Howard crafts likable characters, witty banter, and clever POV shifts throughout, but readers may need a strong neck to withstand the whiplash of frequent time jumps. This quibble aside, Howard has written an eerie, twisty story ripped from current headlines, in which a global pandemic becomes the foreboding hypotenuse of a dangerous love triangle.
PREMIUM

Her Perfect Life

Ryan has a sure hand with her page-turning, twisty plotting and complex, multifaceted characters. Readers looking for a fast, thrilling read will love this one.

While Justice Sleeps

This title is sure to be a hit with library users and is a recommended first purchase.

Harlem Shuffle

Another can’t-miss from the versatile Whitehead, for readers who loved James McBride’s Deacon King Kong.
PREMIUM

My Sweet Girl

In her debut novel, Sri Lanka–based Jayatissa is a master of first-person narration as she delves into questions of identity--how individuals perceive themselves, and the tendency not to see others for who they really are. Her fast-paced mystery, with an unreliable but sympathetic narrator, will hook readers from the very beginning, but the twist ending might leave them disappointed and unsatisfied; the frequent profanity may also be problematic for some readers.

PREMIUM

Butcher Pen Road

A quick-read police procedural that is aided by knowledge and context of the setting while highlighting the challenges of law enforcement in rural Oklahoma. For fans of Kent Anderson, Danny Gardner, and Lisa Sandlin.
PREMIUM

Riccardino

Camilleri’s series finale busts out of the traditional mystery genre to give fans an inspiring, thoughtful, and humorous farewell to a beloved character.

The Hollywood Spy

Longtime fans of the series will savor the perfectly calibrated mix of intriguing plot and engaging characters in the latest “Maggie Hope” mystery, and the impeccably written book should also work as a good introduction to the series for newcomers.

Island of Thieves

Hamilton has written his best “Van Shaw” book to date with this slow-burn tale that takes his main character in unexpected directions. Van is torn between wondering whom he can trust and keeping his known allies safe. High stakes, a genuinely complex plot, compelling characters, and excellent writing make this another winner from Hamilton. Fans of Daniel Silva and Gregg Hurwitz should add Van Shaw to their list of go-to characters.
PREMIUM

Murder Always Barks Twice

Fans of dog-centric cozy mysteries will thoroughly enjoy this charming crime-solving duo and the enchanting Cornish setting.

Read-Alikes for ‘Black Ice’ by Brad Thor | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Murder in an Orchard Cemetery

Harrison follows Death of a Prominent Citizen with another leisurely paced mystery with roots in the history and culture of Cork. It’s a treat for Irish history buffs who follow the series.
PREMIUM

The Newspaper Widow

An old-fashioned novel isn’t a bad thing when it’s as well done as this one about people growing, loving, and rectifying past mistakes.
PREMIUM

Gone for Good

There is no neat ending here, which leaves room for more books in the series. A great read, recommended for true crime fans and mystery lovers alike.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Ruin

Williams (Coach Me; My Fiancé’s Brother) is an award-winning author of romance and suspense novels; her tale of revenge will find an easy spot in fiction collections. Tailored for book clubs and for those who like to read about the sleazy side of rich elites.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Cellist’ by Daniel Silva | LibraryReads

Palace of the Drowned

Mangan’s excellent sophomore effort (after Tangerine) feels like an homage to Hitchcock and Highsmith both. Frankie feels tensions, both real and imagined, that seep through the story with every word and page. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Darkness Knows

Last seen in The Shadow District, detective Konrád is back for the launch of his own series. The award-winning Indridason has a long track record of writing grimly compelling Nordic crime thrillers, but this latest title moves at the pace of its retired protagonist. Konrád is often mired in his past, and there’s little suspense as he slowly pursues suspects in a decades-old murder.
PREMIUM

Silver Tears

Läckberg leaves her thriller’s conclusion open-ended, signaling the possibility of a third installment. Libraries that own The Golden Cage will want this sequel
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?