Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Brackston, Bradford, Steel & More: Historical Fiction, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

LeVar Burton Launches Book Club | Book Pulse

Diana Gabaldon’s ‘Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone’: Fiction Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Hidden Valley Road, How Millennials Became the Burnout Generation, Rethinking Gender and More in Psychology | Academic Best Sellers

Studying Dostoevsky, Revisiting Highsmith & More: Literature Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Painting, Photography, Pottery & T-Shirts: Visual Arts Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

From Akpan to Yun: Literary Fiction Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

U.S. Book Show To Replace Book Expo, Offers Library Track | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘People We Meet on Vacation,’ by Emily Henry | LibraryReads

Must-Have Manga | Collection Development

Cooking Best-Sellers, May 2021 | The Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

'People We Meet on Vacation' by Emily Henry Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Tragedy Plus Time: National Trauma and Television Comedy

A must for media and communication studies departments, this work will also appeal to many comedy fans, traumatologists, and the generally curious.
PREMIUM

How To Kidnap the Rich

Debut author Raina’s gritty description of Ramesh’s downward spiral and the story’s over-the-top action give this novel a cinematic feel. Ramesh has a singular voice, and readers will come to understand how and why he has made the decisions he has. This tale should appeal to fans of the 2021 Netflix series The White Tiger, or possibly films such as Parasite and Slumdog Millionaire; the latter is referenced in the novel.
PREMIUM

The Mastermind

Lane’s narrative bounces around timelines, and introduces an abundance of characters and backstories quickly. The reunion of Danny and Felix happens early, so some suspense is lost. At its heart, this is a family drama that flounders a bit in the structure of the narrative.

Everybody: A Book about Freedom

There are moments in this book that may feel too theoretical; yet, when Laing explores and expresses the ways in which our bodies are full of power, she offers a form of support we could all use more of as we navigate our own bodies and relearn what it means to value them. This is worthwhile, reflective reading.
PREMIUM

The Cave Dwellers

A fascinating, gossipy glimpse into the lives of the one percent (with footnotes) that should appeal to readers who enjoyed The Assistants, by Camille Perri, or Capital Girls, by Ella Monroe.
PREMIUM

In My Own Time: An Autobiography

Burton’s autobiography is as rich and dense as his prolific career. Those with a serious interest in classical music will be delighted.
PREMIUM

Arctic Storm Rising

Filled with detailed descriptions of weapons and aircraft, as well as Brown’s trademark action and suspense, this series starter should take off like its numerous predecessors.
PREMIUM

The Photographer

Despite the heightened emotional state and slow burn throughout the novel, readers will be disappointed by Carter’s sudden, surprisingly dull conclusion.
PREMIUM

The Rules of Arrangement

The bustling city of Mumbai comes alive through Bhatia’s sparkling narrative of a young woman finding her place in the world and in her family while maintaining her identity.

Love at First

This well-written novel moves quickly, and readers will be unable to put it down. Highly recommended for most public library collections.
PREMIUM

What Fresh Hell Is This? Perimenopause, Menopause, Other Indignities, and You

This newest work by Corinna is an excellent option for readers experiencing menopause or living alongside someone who is. While it is not as scientifically rigorous as The Menopause Manifesto by Jen Gunter, this book still offers a helpful overview, with up-to-date research and friendly advice on accepting one’s new body.
PREMIUM

Notes on Grief

A worthwhile mediation on coming to terms with grief. Especially as we continue to reckon with loss, this reflective account will be valuable to the many people unexpectedly grieving from afar.
PREMIUM

Madam Speaker: Nancy Pelosi and the Lessons of Power

Page has written a comprehensive biography of Pelosi that follows her entire career in politics and describes how early family experiences influenced her policies and political leadership style.
PREMIUM

Highway Blue

The narrative is replete with brooding description and a sense of studied ennui. A detachment from a real sense of place causes a feeling of floating through amorphous existence. Recommended for fans of the indeterminate.

Anyone for Edmund?

There are many laugh-out-loud moments as the characters blunder their way through this wonderful story. Edge mixes politics, history, mysticism, and humor in this engrossing read, which will appeal to fans of political fiction with a twist.
PREMIUM

Life, Unscheduled

Rockaway’s newest standalone offers an honest and open look at the mental health and relationship struggles of a modern career woman. Nicole’s struggles are real and relatable, while her happy ending is hard-earned and sweet.
PREMIUM

Mentoring Each Other: Teachers Listening, Learning, and Sharing To Create More Successful Classrooms

This well-researched book provides an excellent guide to the literature on this topic.
PREMIUM

Tables & Spreads: A Go-To Guide for Beautiful Snacks, Intimate Gatherings, and Inviting Feasts

Ideal for party planners, this cookbook offers a score of ideas. A useful addition for libraries looking for more books on entertaining.
PREMIUM

The Mysteries of Cinema: Movies and Imagination

Academic libraries that wish to expand their film criticism section might consider this work, but general collections should avoid it.
PREMIUM

Asadora!, Vol. 2

Answers remain elusive as to how Asa’s story connects to the modern-day kaiju rampage depicted in volume one of the series, but Urasawa’s masterful storytelling and brisk pacing result in an entertaining page-turner.
PREMIUM

Widespread Panic

There’s energy in this book, as in all of Ellroy’s fiction, but here it wears the reader down as much as it excites.
PREMIUM

Young Blood

Winner of the prestigious Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa when it was first published 10 years ago, this raw coming-of-age novel will resonate with its new audiences for its all-embracing tale of young people eager to escape poverty but with too few choices.
PREMIUM

The Black Ghost

An appealingly gritty, hard-boiled tale reminiscent of classic pulp thrillers, featuring a charismatic, complex, and deeply human protagonist. This volume collects five issues originally available online through Comixology.

Fictional Father

Ollmann (The Abominable Mr. Seabrook) explores dysfunctional family dynamics and the sometimes complex motivations behind artistic expression with incredible empathy. An absorbing, enthralling work.
PREMIUM

The Last Night in London

Reminiscent in tone of the past/present romantic suspense of Lauren Willig’s “Pink Carnation” series, White’s (“Tradd Street” series) novel’s wartime intrigue and contemporary romantic clash of characters will appeal to many. Recommended for readers who enjoyed Jennifer Robson’s The Gown or Jeanne Mackin’s The Last Collection.

V for Victory

In our own troubled times, it can’t hurt to be reminded of the spirit and resilience of those who endured a world at war. With warmth and humor to spare, this book is a balm.
PREMIUM

Little Victories: Autism through a Father’s Eyes

This charming depiction of a father’s quest to understand his son’s needs arrives having already garnered multiple awards, including the Best Biography Award from the Disability Fund and Society.
PREMIUM

The Optimist: A Case for the Fly Fishing Life

A lovely, ruminative book about a venerable sport; it bears comparison to Adrian Smith’s Monsters of Rivers and Rock. Coggins’s enthusiasm for fly fishing is so infectious that the book will readily hook non-fishers as well.
PREMIUM

War on the Border: Villa, Pershing, the Texas Rangers, and an American Invasion

A thorough overview of an often-overlooked period in history that helps put present-day U.S.–Mexico relations into context.
PREMIUM

Seven Secrets, Vol. 1

Taylor (Suicide Squad: Bad Blood) provides a propulsive, action-packed plot without sacrificing character development, and builds to an unexpected cliffhanger ending that’s sure to leave readers excited for future installments.
PREMIUM

Ariadne

Readers of mythology and human relations will enjoy this book. Highly recommended.

Why We Love The Matrix

A geeky celebratory short read that is sure to be a collectible volume for serious followers of The Matrix for years to come.
PREMIUM

Ticking Clock: Behind the Scenes at 60 Minutes

News buffs will love the behind-the-scenes stories, and journalism students will find advice direct from legendary reporters.

Book Time Outside: Titles For Outdoor Adventures

LAMBDA Literary Releases a List of May’s Most Anticipated LGBTQ Literature | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Beginner’s Mind

Anyone who has been influenced by a beloved teacher will savor this work; educators will especially appreciate it.
PREMIUM

Blind Tiger

A solid start to the series, although some readers may find it too quick a read.
PREMIUM

The Secret Bridesmaid

Fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary or Four Weddings and a Funeral will love this quirky, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy with heart.
PREMIUM

Hard To Break: Why Our Brains Make Habits Stick

Readers looking for easy advice on habit change can turn to plenty of other options in the popular psychology genre. Those who are deeply interested in the brain and neuroscience research should enjoy this stimulating work.
PREMIUM

The Paris Betrayal

Hannibal (Chasing the White Lion) writes a fast-paced, quick read thriller with crossover romantic elements loosely based on the Book of Job. Ben is often told to rely on faith, but otherwise this could be a secular novel, since the faith isn’t implicitly religious. Recommended for libraries where Hannibal’s books are popular.

Clear, Hold, and Destroy: Pacification in Phú Yên and the American War in Vietnam

This academic yet highly readable study will appeal to readers interested in the Vietnam War and its failures and lessons.

The Day the World Stops Shopping: How Ending Consumerism Saves the Environment and Ourselves

An insightful account offering a starting point for change that is highly recommended for all libraries.

2021 James Tait Black Prize Shortlists Announced | Book Pulse

Tree Story, Reimagining Capitalism, a History of Pollutions, and More in Environmental Sciences | Academic Best Sellers

'Hour of the Witch' by Chris Bohjalian is B&N May Book Club Selection | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘21st Birthday’ by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro | LibraryReads

Jenna Bush Hager Picks 'Great Circle' | Book Pulse

Listening In Lockdown | Audio Spotlight

Hot-Shot Thrillers, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

U.S. Perspectives: History Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2

World Perspectives: History Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Novels of War, Identity, and Power | Fiction Roundup

Last Mysteries, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

The 1619 Project: History Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

World War II Perspectives: History Previews, Nov. 2021 | Prepub Alert

‘A Master of Djinn,’ ‘The Atmospherians,’ and 74 Other Exceptional Titles | Starred Reviews, May 2021

'21st Birthday' by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Drawing Is for Everyone: Simple Lessons To Make Your Creative Practice a Daily Habit; Explore Infinite Creative Possibilities in Graphite, Colored Pencil, and Ink

Ewing delivers a solid introduction to drawing that will capture the interest of hesitant beginners, as well as more experienced artists looking for new and different projects.

African Europeans: An Untold History

Meticulously researched and beautifully written, this is an essential work of historical scholarship that is highly recommended for all public and academic libraries.

The Personal Librarian

This fictional account of Greene’s life feels authentic; the authors bring to life not only Belle but all those around her. An excellent piece of historical fiction that many readers will find hard to put down.
PREMIUM

Alice Neel: People Come First

Shedding new light and fresh perspectives on Neel’s work, this catalogue brings renewed relevance to the artist’s oeuvre and will be appreciated by scholars and general readers alike.
PREMIUM

Storey’s Curious Compendium of Practical and Obscure Skills: 214 Things You Can Actually Learn How To Do

Taking on everything from no-equipment-necessary foot massages to the relatively complex tiny shelter on wheels, this one will appeal to DIYers. Particularly useful for rural libraries.
PREMIUM

Plot Twist

Turner’s (Hadley Beckett’s Next Dish) humorous latest has an enjoyable New Adult vibe. However, the convoluted ending will force readers to reread to figure out what exactly happened and how. There is a happily ever after, but not the one most readers will be expecting.

Mrs. Rochester’s Ghost

Fans of Jane Eyre who enjoyed Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs will appreciate this equally enjoyable retelling from Marcott (The Producer’s Daughter).
PREMIUM

How To Raise Kids Who Aren’t Assholes: Science-Based Strategies for Better Parenting—From Tots to Teens

Moyer shows readers how to grow alongside their child and effect positive change. However, the book would benefit from a greater variety of perspectives.
PREMIUM

The Psychology of Parenting Teenagers: Thriving Throughout Their Teenage Years

Not every case study or suggestion will work for every child’s situation, which this book acknowledges. Cullen’s self-reflective guide will nevertheless aid parents in multiple ways.
PREMIUM

The Secret History of Home Economics: How Trailblazing Women Harnessed the Power of Home and Changed the Way We Live

An intriguing analysis of a stereotyped field that will find a welcome place among collections specializing in feminism and women’s studies.

City of Dark Corners

This gritty stand-alone deals with Phoenix’s rough-and-tumble past and its questionable police force in the 1930s. Talton excels at creating the ambiance of historic Phoenix. Suggest for fans of realistic historical mysteries or Phoenix Noir.

The 2000s Made Me Gay: Essays on Pop Culture

A funny, accessible analysis of pop culture that will benefit nonfiction collections; it informs about gay history and grounds its importance in real experience. And for many gay readers, even if the cultural touchstones aren’t their own, Perry’s anecdotes will still be relatable and uplifting.
PREMIUM

The Last Thing He Told Me

For readers who like a resilient, resourceful heroine and a compelling domestic suspense story.
PREMIUM

Archives 101

This excellent and practical primer is a solid choice for staff of local collections, and educators and students of archiving. It dovetails well with the third edition of Gregory S. Hunter’s Developing and Maintaining Practical Archives: A How-To-Do-It Manual.
PREMIUM

Parenting for Social Justice: Tips, Tools, and Inspiration for Conversations and Action with Kids

A must-have in the field of anti-bias education. This work gives ideas for having conversations with young people about social justice and putting knowledge into action.
PREMIUM

Defining Documents in World History: Pandemics, Plagues & Public Health

In addition to examining epidemics throughout history, readers can explore documents relating to child labor, vaccine safety, or alcohol, tobacco, and prescription drugs. Likely to see most use in academic settings, with some appeal in public libraries, given that COVID-19 is a major concern for many.
PREMIUM

Daily Life of Women in Postwar America

Readable, reliable, and wide-ranging, this volume will appeal to those with a general interest in U.S. cultural history.
PREMIUM

Playing the Palace

Carter’s humorous inner monologue and absurd mishaps will have readers giggling, but those making the inevitable comparison to Casey McQuiston’s Red, White, and Royal Blue might close the book wishing for more emotional depth.

The Words That Made Us

Although sometimes dense in detail, Amar’s original work offers general readers an accessible and often entertaining narrative and lessons to glean from the founding document of the United States. The wide range of material covered in the book will give scholars plenty of interpretations to engage with.
PREMIUM

Fashion Criticism: An Anthology

Reprints of lesser-known essays (Campbell’s “What Happened to the Afro?”), plus essays that use a variety of approaches, from glamorous description (Long’s “Feminine Fashions”), to social theory (Sontag’s “Looking with Avedon”), make this a solid primer on cultural criticism and fashion journalism.
PREMIUM

The Bennet Women

Appiah-Kubi’s unique retelling of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice gives it a modern spin with surprising twists and empowering storylines.
PREMIUM

License To Parent: How My Career as a Spy Helped Me Raise Resourceful, Self-Sufficient Kids

With tips for staying safe online, living by one’s principles, and finding a healthy balance with risk, this is a fascinating and useful take on parenting.

Stranger Care: A Memoir of Loving What Isn’t Ours

Sentilles writes candidly and humanely about her experience of building a family beyond immediate kin and discovering the depths of love and protection. Essential reading for those hoping to be foster parents.
PREMIUM

Capture the Crown

Estep’s new series takes readers back to the world she built in “Crown of Shards,” filled once again with exciting machinations and a slow burn of romance.
PREMIUM

Supernatural America: The Paranormal in American Art

Whether or not readers believe in the supernatural, they’ll be impressed by the erudition of these texts and the wide range of beautifully presented artworks.
PREMIUM

Maybe We Will

At times, the characters seem too good to be true, and the dialogue is a bit strained. A last-minute conflict doesn’t really add to the story. Best for fans of heartwarming easy reads with familiar characters.
PREMIUM

My Kind of Perfect

This cookie-cutter, will-they-or-won’t-they romance plods along according to formula, with love then marriage then a baby as the rule. Lilly’s narration can be quite mean at times, and the saccharine plot prompts a sugar rush. Skip it unless your romance collection is desperate for feel-good stories.

The Most Beautiful Girl in Cuba

Historical fiction fans will love this novel and its perfectly detailed descriptions of a long-gone era. This is another slam-dunk from Cleeton (Next Year in Havana).

The Soulmate Equation

With the laugh-out-loud voice that Lauren’s die-hard fans adore, this sweet, charming, and humorous book is a perfect match for readers looking for a low-stakes, high swoon-factor romance, but some readers may have concerns about the ethical implications of DNA-based matchmaking.

Pug Actually

There’s no big reveal, and (predictably) the right boy gets the girl and the villain is vanquished, but this amusing little novel is still a rollicking good time that will tickle readers’ funny bones with some lovely, laugh-out-loud moments. A word of caution: Reading this in public may cause uncontrollable laughter and create a scene.
PREMIUM

The Glorious Guinness Girls

This book’s title is mildly misleading, since the novel focuses less on the Guinness sisters and more on Fliss and the political turmoil raging outside the privileged walls of wealth and class. The tragedy that haunts them is palpable, but the story is unfortunately bogged down by too many characters and shallow society parties, and by Fliss’s overplayed guilt complex. After a promising start, the story quickly loses steam, eventually ending on a flat note.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?