Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Library of Congress Shares Data Visualizations to Celebrate “Chronicling America” Milestone; More Than 15 Million Digitized Pages From Historical Newspapers Now Available

New Report From OCLC Research: “Maple Leaves: Discovering Canada Through the Published Record”

University of Arkansas: Dennis Clark Named Dean of University Libraries

Creation of the DOAB Foundation (Directory of Open Access Books) Announced

Conference Presentation: Students Perception of Open Textbooks: Students Tell Us What They Think About Open Textbooks in Their Courses

Reading Suggestions, May 21, 2019 | Book Pulse

Conference Presentation: Students Perception of Open Textbooks: Students Tell Us What They Think About Open Textbooks in Their Courses

Research Tools: New Land Cover Maps from USGS Depict 15 Years of Change Across America, National Land Cover Database (NLCD 2016) Now Available

“What Makes a Good Library Website? (New Paper from the Syracuse University iSchool Public Library Initiative (IPLI))

Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) Posts Response to European Commission Expert Group Report on Future of Scholarly Publishing and Scholarly Communication

Roundup (May 20, 2019)

Jeffrey Coville, Thomas Keneally, Beatriz Williams: Barbara’s Fiction Picks, Dec. 2019, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Declare Funding Independence | BackTalk

Winter's Debut of the Month, El-Mohtar/Gladstone, Forest, Hall, Huang, Thompson, Wendig, & More | SF/Fantasy, June 2019

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, May 20, 2019 | Book Pulse

LJ's Book Expo Galley & Signing Guide

New Resources: University of Calgary Unveils Digital Archive of 300 Bee Species Social Sharing

New Resources: University of Calgary Unveils Digital Archive of 300 Bee Species

Tulane University: “Massive Digitization Effort Is The Latest Plot Twist For Cuban Radio Soap Operas”

Data: 25 U.S. Counties Identified as Most at Risk for Measles Outbreaks

Report: “University of Iowa Libraries Drops 820 Subscriptions”

Funding: Jimmy Wales Says Wikipedia is Doing Very Well Financially

Private Investment Firm Atairos is Acquiring an Ownership Position in ProQuest, Cambridge Information Group Will Remain Majority Owner

New Report From RAND: “News in a Digital Age: Comparing the Presentation of News Information over Time and Across Media Platforms”

Vanity Fair’s Complete Digital Archive (1913-Present) Launches

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) Reaches its SCOSS Funding Target Within 18 Months and Sets Its Sights On New Work

Library of Congress Acquires Papers of Classical Soprano Jessye Norman (About 29,000 Items)

New Research Resource: Blockchain Impact Ledger

Preprint: “Enabling a Conversation Across Scholarly Monographs through Open Annotation”

Beyond the Ring | Sports & Recreation, May 2019

Baking Master Class | Cooking, May 2019

Netflix's Queer Eye | Performing Arts, May 2019

Countdown to Summer Reads: One, Two, New | Wyatt's World

Page to Screen, May 17, 2019 | Book Pulse

Gregory Eow Named New President of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

New From the David Rumsey Map Collection: “Early Mapping of Silicon Valley and the Web”

Knowledge Unlatched and Partners Launch Open Research Library

Research Article: “The Progress of Web Security Level Related to European Open Access LIS Repositories Between 2016 and 2018”

Columbia University Announces Obama Presidency Oral History Project

Filmmakers: University of Pittsburgh Library System Acquires George A. Romero Collection

Fast Facts and Stats: U.S. Census Data Finds Younger Workers in Cities More Likely to Bike to Work

Harvard’s Digital Giza Project Lets Scholars Virtually Visit Sites in Egypt And Beyond, and Even Print Them in 3D

Research Tools: New Interactive Map Reveals That Lynching Extended Far Beyond The Deep South

Roundup (May 16, 2019)

New to the Bestseller List & Michael Wolff Takes on Trump Again, May 16, 2019 | Book Pulse

Gale Expects Few Changes to Library Business Following Cengage, McGraw-Hill Merger

PREMIUM

Cheers: A Cultural History

A must for Cheers fans and students of popular culture, this is a thorough and thoughtful look at a groundbreaking television gem
PREMIUM

You Can’t Fall Off the Floor: And Other Lessons from a Life in Hollywood

This work doesn’t have the gravitas of Robert Evans’s The Kid Stays in the Picture or Julia Phillips’s You’ll Never Eat Lunch in This Town Again, but it is fun, breezy, and instructive; for fans of Hollywood tales
PREMIUM

no time like now: Poems

A grim but somehow salutary record of our moment from one of our truly distinctive poetic voices

PREMIUM

Ruffhouse: From the Streets of Philly to the Top of the ’90s Hip-Hop Charts

Fans of these artists will love the insider information on the recording process and the trials and tribulations of getting this music out into the world
PREMIUM

Turbulence

The novel’s global range is impressive and the interconnected stories and overall tone will appeal to readers who enjoyed Lisa Halliday’s Asymmetry and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad. [See Prepub Alert, 1/23/19.]

PREMIUM

The Plus One

The story brings the notion of suspending disbelief to a new and unrealistic level. An optional purchase

The Organs of Sense

Great fun and notable for its singular style, playful tone, and sense of economy (Sachs covers a huge amount of ground in just over 200 pages), this impressive debut is for fans of George Saunders and Vladimir Nabokov. [See Prepub Alert, 11/12/18.]

PREMIUM

A Haven and a Hell: The Ghetto in Black America

A well-researched chronicle of urban black communities throughout American history, with a focus on the early 20th century. This pairs well with Richard Rothstein’s The Color of Law
PREMIUM

The Crime of Aggression: The Quest for Justice in an Age of Drones, Cyberattacks, Insurgents, and Autocrats

Informative and well written, this work is ideal for those who enjoy exploring the intersection of politics, sociocultural history, and war
PREMIUM

After the Caliphate: The Islamic State & the Future Terrorist Diaspora

Recommended for academic libraries

LJ Textbook Affordability Survey: Costs Still a Concern, OER an Opportunity

PREMIUM

Longer

Blumlein (All I Ever Dreamed) gives us Waiting for Godot, set in space, in succinct and intelligent storytelling.

Snakeskins

Major (You Don’t Belong Here; Blighters) takes a unique concept and creates a compelling plot with engaging, multidimensional characters. Recommended for sf readers and mystery lovers who are willing to expand their horizons.
PREMIUM

Juliet the Maniac

For sophisticated readers, this novel offers an insightful and haunting portrait into a disintegrating mind, featuring visceral descriptions of a girl’s self-loathing and self-destructive behaviors. Yet the difficult subject matter is tempered by the wisdom of the adult author and, for the reader, the knowledge that she has made it through to the other side
PREMIUM

The Fire Opal Mechanism

This engaging stand-alone sequel to The Jewel and Her Lapidary highlights Wilde’s deft prose and fantastical imagination. Readers will enjoy the intersection of knowledge and freedom to learn twisted into something darker.
PREMIUM

Pretty Revenge

Aficionados of the TV show Revenge or those who enjoy contemporary psychological suspense set in an affluent society will want to consider.
PREMIUM

Pass of Fire

Libraries that do not have the entire series will be at a disadvantage, and new readers will have some catching up to do, but military sf enthusiasts, particularly fans of author Harry Turtledove, will be enthralled.
PREMIUM

The Killer Across the Table: Unlocking the Secrets of Serial Killers and Predators with the FBI’s Original Mindhunter

Douglas’s latest is harrowing and hard to put down; this will be welcomed by true crime buffs and law enforcement professionals alike

Assad or We Burn the Country: How One Family’s Lust for Power Destroyed Syria

Dagher’s chilling portrayal of Assad’s transformation from an apolitical doctor to ruthless dictator and skilled manipulator makes this book essential; highly recommended
PREMIUM

A Mortuary of Books: The Rescue of Jewish Culture After the Holocaust

A serious work of Jewish studies scholarship that is nevertheless important and accessible for anyone interested in the history of the book or postwar Europe
PREMIUM

Green Valley

Readers will appreciate the questions raised, but this is not for the squeamish. Green Valley is not a pretty place.

Engaging Conversations | Field Reports

PREMIUM

Fight Like a Mother: How a Grassroots Movement Took on the Gun Lobby and Why Women Will Change the World

An inspiring read for budding activists
PREMIUM

The Lines Between Us: Two Families and a Quest To Cross Baltimore’s Racial Divide

A solid choice for those who study urban race relations

Fast Facts and Stats: U.S. Census Data Finds Younger Workers in Cities More Likely to Bike to Work

New Research Article: “An Emerging Form of Public Engagement With Science: Ask Me Anything (AMA) Sessions on Reddit R/science”

Report: “To Meet the ‘Plan S’ Open-Access Mandate, Journals Mull Setting Papers Free At Publication”

New Digital Collection: News Dispatches from the Associated Press from 1915 to 1930 Now Online

Springer Nature Journals Unify Their Policy to Encourage Preprint Sharing

Library of Congress Releases Updated Digital Strategy Document (v. 1.1.2)

Research Tools: International Medical Devices Database of Recalls and Alerts Now Covers 26 Countries

Impactstory Announces Beta Release of “Get The Research” Search Engine

New Research Article: “Who is Interacting With Researchers on Twitter? A Survey in the Field Of Information Science”

New Report From Sunlight Foundation’s Web Integrity Project “Analyzes How the Administration is Undermining the Affordable Care Act Using Web Censorship”

Two New LIBER Case Studies on Research Data Management Support Now Available

Roundup (May 15, 2019)

Adaptations Make News, May 15, 2019 | Book Pulse

Ontario Libraries Face Deep Budget Cuts to Provincial Services

Sari Feldman Gets Ready to Transform (Again)

From Minneapolis to Lincoln: Claire Stewart Chosen as Next Dean of Libraries at University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Princeton University: Princeton Research Data Service Set to Launch Campus-Wide This Fall

Canadian Association of Research Libraries (CARL) Releases Updated Canadian Author Addendum and New Author Rights Guide

Research Resources: New Online Tool Provides Community-Level Health and Environmental Data For Delaware

A Global Coalition of Non-Profits and Institutions Launches “Invest in Open Infrastructure” Initiative

A Global Coalition of Non-Profits and Institutions Launch “Invest in Open Infrastructure” (IOI) Initiative

Take a Virtual Tour of the Statue of Liberty with a New AR-Enabled App From Apple

Report: “‘Typosquatting’ Campaign Imitated News Outlets to Spread Propaganda For Years”

Roundup (May 14, 2019)

Awards and Honors, May 14, 2019 | Book Pulse

Top 20 Best-Selling Books About Medicine | Academic Best Sellers

American Archive of Public Broadcasting (AAPB) Announces Twenty-Three Years of “In Black America” Will be Restored, Digitized and Archived for Research and Future Generations

University of California: “CP2OA (Choosing Pathways to Open Access) Results Are In: Open Access Efforts Are Taking Flight”; Report Released

New Feature: OSTI’s Database of U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)-Funded Research Results Adds Related Links From Multiple Data Sources to Increase Discovery

NY Times: Accused of ‘Terrorism’ For Putting Legal Materials Online”

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.