Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Read-Alikes for ‘State of Terror’ by Louise Penny and Hillary Rodham Clinton | LibraryReads

Hailey Piper on Combining Romance and Horror | Behind the Book

PREMIUM

The Explorer Baroness

Readers will enjoy the novel’s adventure as well its romance.
PREMIUM

Colton 911: Desperate Ransom

Fans of the series will undoubtedly have this one on their list, but new readers might be frustrated by the fact that the kidnapper’s identity isn’t revealed here.
PREMIUM

Strictly Confidential

Though the leads have plenty of chemistry, the romance gets a bit lost, with a few too many subplots and characters for a novel of this length.
PREMIUM

Pregnant After One Forbidden Night

Readers will love the descriptions of the extravagant beauty of the island setting. The hot passion and sweet romance between Sebastian and Jenna will have them holding on until the very end for the couple’s happily-ever-after.

A Nun for the Viking Warrior

A stunning, steamy romance with deliciously flawed protagonists.
PREMIUM

The Wedding Planner’s Christmas Wish

A first-tier purchase for libraries where emotional contemporary romances are popular.
PREMIUM

Secrets, Vegas Style

This well-drawn conflict elevates the second half of the book and builds to a very satisfying though somewhat abrupt conclusion, though readers looking for an emotional ending might be let down.
PREMIUM

The Greek’s Cinderella Deal

This novel transports readers to a luxurious island resort where they’ll breeze through the pages. Hand this to anyone who enjoys a fairy tale–inspired romance with a heroine who won’t compromise when it comes to her happy ending.
PREMIUM

The Bride He Stole for Christmas

Give this to readers who love a hero who believes he’s cold and unfeeling until he falls for a woman unlike any other and must break down the barriers around his heart so that they can be together.
PREMIUM

The Stakes of Faking It

A delight for readers looking for a quick read with maximum emotional content.
PREMIUM

Uncovering Colton’s Family Secret

A lackluster, unrealistic plot and awkward dialogue make this installment one to skip. Readers who insist on reading every book of a series may be able to soldier through.
PREMIUM

Unwrapped by Her Italian Boss

Start the holiday season off right with Merry and Giovanni’s cheeky banter and fierce attraction, as well as the quirks of fate that keep pushing them together.
PREMIUM

Find Me

Miles (“Christmas at the Carlisles” series) has written a solid novel that touches on some societal issues facing vulnerable populations. Some of the plot’s secrets may not be that much of a surprise when revealed to readers, and some of its action scenes are a bit over the top, but many will find this to be a strong addition to the Harlequin Intrigue line.

Just for the Holidays…

Readers looking for holiday joy are sure to find it here, with winning characters and an emotional reunion perfect for the Christmas setting.
PREMIUM

Lord Tresham’s Tempting Rival

An enemies-to-lovers plot that ticks all the boxes.
PREMIUM

Rogue Christmas Operation

It will likely be popular among fans of military and spy romances.
PREMIUM

Bound by Her Shocking Secret

This novel moves among luxurious international settings from deluxe apartments in Paris and New York City to the tropical beauty of a beach house in Costa Rica. The slow burn between Mia and Daniel will have readers hungrily turning pages to the sweet and sexy ending.
PREMIUM

The Billionaire’s Island Reunion

A solid purchase where contemporary romance is popular.
PREMIUM

An Heir of His Own

More of a happy-for-now than a happily-ever-after, the book concludes with major plot points still unresolved.
PREMIUM

Operation Whistleblower

Readers who are already invested in the Cutter’s Crew gang will undoubtedly want to read this installment as well, though it’s not the most engaging novel in the series. The mystery itself is decent, but Parker’s personal issues will likely seem a lot less daunting to the reader than they seem to him.
PREMIUM

K-9 Patrol

Tending towards the melodramatic and a little too much telling versus showing, the book is highly reminiscent of the CSI TV shows. Fans of mutual pining and crime TV would enjoy this.
PREMIUM

Regency Christmas Liaisons

These three Christmas tales set in Regency England are sure to keep readers warm this winter.
PREMIUM

Deadly Days of Christmas

Hallmark fans with just a passing interest in mystery will enjoy Cassidy’s (Stalker in the Shadows) story more than avid mystery fans, particularly as the murders have a theme that many readers will pick up on much more quickly than the characters.
PREMIUM

Ways To Win an Ex

The chemistry is strong, and the willingness of characters to set and respect boundaries makes the book even better.
PREMIUM

The Single Dad’s Christmas Proposal

A first-tier purchase for contemporary romance collections.
PREMIUM

Under the Rancher’s Protection

Readers who have been following the story of the Reynolds siblings won’t want to miss this one. For those unfamiliar with the series, this is standard romantic suspense series fare: heroine in danger turning to an old flame for assistance. It is both readable and comforting in its relative predictability.

Her Name Is Knight

Angoe deftly balances action, interpersonal relationships, issues of trauma, and profound human questions in an unforgettable novel.
PREMIUM

The Pickwick Murders

Fans of mysteries with historical backgrounds, especially the popular Victorian period, will enjoy this latest installment.
PREMIUM

Count to Three

Thriller fans won’t find anything fresh in Ragan’s creepy story of a man who killed his mother and is looking for a teenage bride.
PREMIUM

These Silent Woods

Grant’s evocative prose, nuanced characters, and undercurrent of quiet tension will appeal to a variety of readers.
PREMIUM

The Santa Suit

Readers who enjoy a sassy, sentimental holiday story with magical Christmas surprises should pick up Andrews’s latest without delay.
PREMIUM

Christmas Past: An Anthology of Seasonal Stories from Nineteenth-Century America

Perfect for readers who want to slow down and think more deeply about the evolution of American Christmases; with charming illustrations to boot.
PREMIUM

The Wish Book Christmas

There’s no putting down this nostalgic, appealing read that conveys the feeling of a child’s wonder and the building of a caring community.
PREMIUM

The House of Rust

Inspired by African folktales, Bajaber imagined a magical realist world that earned her the first Graywolf Press Africa prize for her manuscript long before it was published. With its spunky protagonist, foreboding atmosphere, and supernatural elements, this novel would appeal to readers of Karen Russell’s genre-defying Swamplandia and would also be a perfect selection for young adults eager to broaden their literary horizons.
PREMIUM

The Viscount’s Christmas Proposal

Arens’s (To Wed a Wallflower) hot and heavy story is certain to keep readers engaged from cover to cover this winter.
PREMIUM

Texas Stalker

The most dedicated series fans will appreciate this most, while casual readers may put it down.
PREMIUM

The Billionaire’s Proposition in Paris

The fiery ardor of Katie and Conall’s story is perfect for readers who enjoy enigmatic heroes with strong family ties to his family, endearing heroines, and glamorous locations.
PREMIUM

His Majesty’s Hidden Heir

Readers will fall for Prince Konstantin as he admires Emma for her strength as a single mom and works to repair his past mistakes. This novel provides the royal experience with an emphasis on the importance of family relationships and rebuilding trust.
PREMIUM

Stay Hidden

While the intrigue here lies more in the “how to catch ’em” storyline than the more traditional “whodunnit,” it’s a worthy addition to any Harlequin collection and a highlight for the month.
PREMIUM

Mistletoe Kiss with the Millionaire

A solid purchase where contemporary romance is popular.
PREMIUM

The Penniless Debutante

An emotional, sensual view into the life of a woman on the edge of British society.

57 Romances for Fall and Beyond | Romance Preview

Read-Alikes for ‘The Lincoln Highway’ by Amor Towles | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

These Toxic Things

Hall’s latest is a tech-savvy juggernaut of fear and paranoia, rendered quirky and original by the colloquial voice of its millennial protagonist. Some good advice before reading: Make sure the doors are locked.
PREMIUM

A Surprise for Christmas and Other Seasonal Mysteries

With perfectly sized stories for stolen moments during a busy season, there’s something for everyone in this well-curated anthology.
PREMIUM

Final Table

This is a great purchase for all collections as it tackles some relevant political issues, the Me Too movement, and the growing incredibility of popular social platforms.
PREMIUM

Hooked on a Feline

Fans of cat mysteries and cozies will lap up the adventures of librarian Kathleen and her supernatural kitty sidekicks and beg for more of the budding romance between Kathleen and Marcus and the antics of Mayville’s other quirky, charming residents.
PREMIUM

Better Off Dead

The writing is more seamless than in the Child brothers’ previous collaboration, but the action is often perfunctorily described, and the supporting cast is thinly written. There’s less humor than in previous entries, though Reacher’s notorious Luddism is played for a few laughs. Fans of the series will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Sophie Valroux’s Paris Stars

Readers will root for the feisty and determined but vulnerable chef to succeed in her pursuit of professional and personal success and happiness. For foodies who like strong heroines and romance.
PREMIUM

An Elderly Lady Must Not Be Crossed

In spite of her penchant for using murder to solve her problems, elderly Maud is incredibly clever and oddly charming. Readers may find themselves rooting for her to get away with it all and will also appreciate the bonus gingerbread recipe.
PREMIUM

The Scholars of Night

Highly recommended for readers looking for classic spy stories such as those by John le Carré and Len Deighton, because this work stands up to the best of the genre.
PREMIUM

Wolf Point

An intriguing sequel, though it could do without some of the details of Chicago and golf; fans of Stephen Mack Jones’s “August Snow” mysteries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

I Am Not Who You Think I Am

Rickstad ratchets up the suspense, filling Wayland’s investigations with misdirection, shadowy characters, and gothic elements. There’s a sense of dread throughout the book, but the final plot twist is a jaw-dropper. Recommended for readers who like their thrillers dark and twisted.
PREMIUM

In the Company of Witches

Wallace’s wonderful Connecticut setting and quirky characters make this a fun new cozy mystery series.
PREMIUM

Sleepless

Hausmann’s ominous psychological suspense tale masterfully uses restraint, inserting a continual flow of small but significant clues to create tension and a heavy tone. The multidimensional characters will keep readers questioning what they know. For fans of Fiona Barton and Gillian Flynn.

The Apollo Murders

Hadfield draws on his expertise as an astronaut to add authenticity and realism to his debut thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler and Andy Weir will enjoy this genre-bender combining military fiction, the detective novel, and techno-thriller.

Last Girl Ghosted

Unger keeps readers guessing, with revelations that will make them stop and question what they thought they knew. She might also make them think twice about online dating. Recommended for those who like psychological thrillers with women protagonists, such as Andrea Bartz’s We Were Never Here.
PREMIUM

Death in a Desert Garden

For fans of cozy mysteries in Southwestern settings.

Repentance

A tense debut thriller with excellent characters and a timely, satisfying plot; knowledge of recent Argentinian history would help readers contextualize the violence Díaz depicts. For fans of Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” novels.
PREMIUM

The Savage Kind

Copenhaver’s latest is jam-packed with noir themes and plot twists. Sure to please fans of queer fiction and twisty mysteries.
PREMIUM

Miss Moriarty, I Presume

Existing fans will appreciate the romantic plot developments, while new readers could treat this as a standalone but would be better served by starting with book one, A Study in Scarlet Women. Suitable for those who enjoy Deanna Raybourn’s “Veronica Speedwell” mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Line To Kill

Horowitz’s latest reveals vulnerability in the condescending Daniel. Fans of the series or and Agatha Christie will relish character-driven mystery set on an isolated island.

Under Color of Law

Clark’s ripped-from-the-headlines police procedural should make readers uncomfortable. It’s a frightening, tragic tale.
PREMIUM

Nanny Dearest

Mercifully avoiding the sexual clichés of many other domestic thrillers, Collins’s debut illustrates the sometimes obsessive and terrifying nature of love and the shattering consequences of its betrayal. Nanny services across the country may see a dip in demand when this intensely emotional psychological roller coaster is released.
PREMIUM

The Cure for What Ales You

Fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams will love Alexander’s latest Sloan Krause cozy mystery; enjoy with a cold beer.

Betrayal on the Bowery

An action-packed historical mystery with a strong female protagonist and hints of future romance.
PREMIUM

As the Wicked Watch

Hall’s decades of field experience lend a lot of credibility to the story and provide a strong footing for an intriguing new crime series.
PREMIUM

Hold Me Down

A mystery that explores character motivations rather than the murder itself. For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich.

Mango, Mambo, and Murder

The character-driven debut introduces a fresh protagonist, a Cuban American woman trying to maintain her culinary heritage and Spanish language while attempting to find friends and a killer.
PREMIUM

Dark Tarot

Feehan’s 31st entry in the “Dark” series (after Dark Song) is simultaneously a jumping-in point for new readers since it sets up a new story line, and a place for long time fans to enjoy a new couple and revisit old favorites. Required for libraries where Feehan is popular.
PREMIUM

Pretty Little Lion

An optional purchase where the first book is popular.

Payback’s a Witch

With a satisfying end to the tournament, and smart, funny characters who support one another, Harper’s series is off to a fantastic start. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

A Reckless Match

Historical romance readers will love this steamy, star-crossed enemies-to-lovers adventure featuring a strong, intelligent heroine and a hero who learns to support her.
PREMIUM

Never Fall for Your Fiancée

Readers will relish this engaging, late Regency romcom’s witty duo as they navigate escalating mishaps and growing feelings. Heath (“The King’s Elite” series) has set the stage for an enjoyable new series.

The Perks of Loving a Wallflower

This clever novel will delight readers looking for queer historical romances and or a series featuring a group of unconventional romantic leads.
PREMIUM

After Dark with the Duke

Long continues her “Palace of Rogues” series (after I’m Only Wicked with You) with another strong heroine and the entertaining residents of the Grand Palace. A must-buy for libraries that own the series.
PREMIUM

A Wanton for All Seasons

Fans will enjoy seeing these former lovers come together once again, but those new to the series should start with the first “Wantons of Waverton” book, Someone Wanton His Way Comes.

A Thorn in the Saddle

If Weatherspoon isn’t already on autobuy, now’s the time.

The Ex Hex

Recommended for all public library collections.
PREMIUM

When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky

Readers of general fiction will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Viewers who followed the TV series The Americans will recognize and enjoy its thrilling hallmarks in this exciting novel about the erstwhile first couple.
PREMIUM

Midnight, Christmas Eve

Clapp’s novel will resonate with readers searching for peace in a busy holiday season, as a gentler take on the Book of Hosea’s lesser-known redemption parable, which was also retold in Francine Rivers’s classic Redeeming Love.
PREMIUM

Femlandia

A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Naomi Alderman’s The Power, and Kim Liggett’s The Grace Year.

Doctors and Friends

Some readers will find that it hits too close to reality, but there is beauty in Martin’s gem of a story that confirms that friendship is a powerful force.

Our Country Friends

Both the definitive COVID-19 novel and not, this work captures an uncertain modernity and speaks to the existential peril of contemporary life.
PREMIUM

Shiloh

A pass except where fans of the first book need to know what happens next.
PREMIUM

Three Sisters

Readers of historical and World War II fiction will be gripped by the conclusion to Morris’s trilogy.
PREMIUM

Hidden Treasures

For readers who enjoy romantic suspense.

Small Things Like These

Keegan’s beautiful prose is quiet and precise, jewel-like in its clarity. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Tales from the Cafe

These tearful stories hit hard but ultimately lead to a beautiful ending. Fans of Matt Haig’s Midnight Library will enjoy this quick read with touches of magical realism and soul-searching.

Isolate

Readers will be caught up in Modesitt’s world, which is just close enough to reality to make the lessons feel real, and just fantastic enough to provide distance and interest. The gas lamp setting will draw in plenty of steampunk readers, while anyone who likes to delve into the way worlds work will be riveted.
PREMIUM

Elder Race

Recommended for lovers of portal fantasy, lost colony science fiction, and stories on the border between the two genres.
PREMIUM

Trinity

Fans of Jack Campbell’s “Lost Fleet” series will enjoy Bara’s latest.
PREMIUM

Noor

Okorafor packs swift action and harsh emotions into this slim novella, showing her strengths once again as a speculative fiction writer.
PREMIUM

Brothers of the Wind

Recommended for fans of old-school epic fantasy and anyone who remembers Williams’s 1988 classic The Dragonbone Chair with fondness.
PREMIUM

A Spindle Splintered

Sleeping Beauty crashes into the multiverse in Harrow’s queer, subversive, explicitly feminist retelling. This story of power, agency, and sisterhood is recommended.

Sistersong

Holland crafts a tale tied to folklore, history, and song, bringing rich detail and imagination to characters and setting. Give it to readers who have enjoyed Arthurian retellings or Madeline Miller’s Circe.
PREMIUM

The Starless Crown

An interesting blend of science and magic, flying ships and prophetic gods, propel this fantasy into epic territories.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?