Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

From Armstrong to Paretsky to Weaver: Mystery Previews, May 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Spotlight: Robert Samuels & Toluse Olorunnipa’s His Name Is George Floyd, May 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Understanding Money Today: Nonfiction Previews, May 2021, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Spotlight: Phil Klay’s Uncertain Ground: May 2022, Pt. 1 | Prepub Alert

Sujit Sivasundaram Wins British Academy Book Prize for Global Cultural Understanding | Book Pulse

Entitled, Mediocre, Privilege and Punishment, Susan B. Anthony, and More in Social Sciences | Academic Best Sellers

Read-Alikes for ‘Better Off Dead’ by Lee Child & Andrew Child | LibraryReads

Partha Chatterjee Wins Columbia University Press Distinguished Book Award | Book Pulse

'Better Off Dead' by Lee Child, & Andrew Child Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Return of the Pharaoh: From the Reminiscences of John H. Watson, M.D

Readers who enjoy detective fiction in the vein of Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle will find Meyer’s fifth Holmes pastiche a fun and delightful addition to the canon.
PREMIUM

The Uninnocent: Notes on Violence and Mercy

Those experiencing their own forms of heartbreak won’t find advice, but instead may find some comfort and understanding in Blake’s elegant, sympathetic reflections.
PREMIUM

The Rule of Laws: A 4,000-Year Quest to Order the World

An intriguing synthesis of the history of global legal codes and their origins.
PREMIUM

Glitter Every Day: 365 Quotes from Women I Love

Bravo fanatics will enjoy spending the year flipping through Cohen’s playful collection of quotes and trivia.
PREMIUM

Singing Like Germans: Black Musicians in the Land of Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms

A long-overdue tribute to musical artists whose stories should not be forgotten.
PREMIUM

Scandal in Babylon

Hambly’s characters seem too modern for the 1920s setting, as if they’ve been transported from the 21st century, and the story is all style, with little to sink one’s teeth into. Recommended for cozy mystery and Hambly fans and those who are interested in 1920s Hollywood.
PREMIUM

We Could Be: Bowie and His Heroes

Readers will find many humorously intriguing or infuriating nuggets here; though some tend toward gossipy tabloid fodder, the overall impression is that of a lost soul participating in an alienating and self-destructive environment but who overcame that at times to create impressive, norm-shattering musical works.
PREMIUM

Farewell to My Alter: Nio Nakatani Short Story Collection

Nakatani’s beautiful and easily recognizable signature manga art style makes it easy to get caught up in her collection. A good read, but not a must-buy.
PREMIUM

How Rights Went Wrong: Why Our Obsession with Rights Is Tearing America Apart

Provocative reading for those interested in legal reform and a civil society.
PREMIUM

Dark Souls: The Complete Collection

A must-read for every Dark Souls player, as Quah’s realistic art style replicates the mood of the video game. Recommended for public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

How To Save a Life: The Inside Story of Grey’s Anatomy

There’s a simple reason why Grey’s is entering its 18th season: its passionate superfans, who will devour this tell-all book.

Code of Silence: Sexual Misconduct by Federal Judges, the Secret System That Protects Them, and the Women Who Blew the Whistle

This captivating, eloquent book will resonate with anyone seeking justice and accountability; give to readers of Deborah Tuerkheimer’s Credible: Why We Doubt Accusers and Protect Abusers.

Baggage: Tales from a Fully Packed Life

This second act is sure to be another hit in Cumming’s career; readers will be left hoping for a third memoir.
PREMIUM

Embers

This contemporary fantasy romance can be read alone, but once readers meet the Burkhard clan they’ll want their stories too, so purchase of the entire series is recommended.

Lindsey Drager Wins 2021 Annual Bard Fiction Prize | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts: A Love Letter to Women of Color

Highly recommended for readers with an interest in social issues impacting Black, Indigenous, and other people of color; immigrant stories; and sociology.

The 2021 Cundill History Prize Finalists Are Announced | Book Pulse

Mastermind Mary Kubica Triumphs with Local Woman Missing

Flint and Mirror, Nettle and Bone: SF/Fantasy Previews, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Summer Starters: Contemporary Pop Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize Shortlist is Announced | Book Pulse

Debuts: Contemporary Pop Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Spotlight: Jennifer Egan’s The Candy House, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Untold Stories: History Previews, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

What’s Done and Undone: Historical Fiction Previews: Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Top Pop: Contemporary Pop Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Silvia Moreno-Garcia's 'Mexican Gothic' Wins the 2021 Aurora Award for Best Fiction | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘The Judge’s List’ by John Grisham | LibraryReads

'The Judge's List' by John Grisham Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Body Horror: Squirmy Scares | Reader’s Shelf

PREMIUM

The Almost Queen

A first-tier purchase for libraries where romantic fantasies are popular, especially ones with crossover appeal for older teens.

Five Decembers

This is hardboiled fiction at its best: an exceptional tale, filled with emotion, plenty of surprises, and enough violence to satisfy the most bloodthirsty reader.

The Death of Jane Lawrence

Starling’s (The Luminous Dead) gothic horror is an immersive delight that will be adored by fans of alternate histories, the film Crimson Peak, ghost stories, magical experiments gone wrong, and stories about women becoming aware of their own power.
PREMIUM

Blood & Bone: An Anthology of Body Horror by Women and Non-Binary Writers

An important addition to any horror collection but especially for libraries looking to diversify. Recommend to readers of Ellen Datlow’s collection Body Shocks, and Trigger Warning: Body Horror edited by Desiree Baltisberger.
PREMIUM

David Copperfield’s History of Magic

An immersive tour of magic through the ages that will appeal most to readers with a fondness for Copperfield.

The Annotated Mrs. Dalloway

A rich work that ably supports readers and teachers.

These Precious Days: Essays

For the author’s many fans and anyone who loves beautiful writing.

Duke, Actually

This smashing sequel is packed with delightful characters, snappy dialogue, and a fairy-tale European setting. A top pick for every holiday romance reading list.
PREMIUM

Death at Greenway

This is an intriguing mystery with well-developed characters and fascinating historical details. For fans of Charles Todd and Jacqueline Winspear.
PREMIUM

Interstellar Angel

Navarre’s sci-fi romance is fast-paced, erotic, and brutal. Book one ends on a cliffhanger, so be prepared to order books two and three to meet reader demand.
PREMIUM

The First Christmas: A Story of New Beginnings

Readers don’t need a religious background to be entertained and educated by this account of the first Christmas.

Rookfield

White takes our collective pandemic anxieties and weaves them into a wonderfully weird and unexpected horror tale. Don’t overlook this gem.
PREMIUM

The Christmas Wish

Libraries owning the other “Blessings, Georgia” books will need to buy copies; and fans of Debbie Macomber, Diana Palmer, and Robyn Carr might enjoy picking up this interconnected series by Sala.
PREMIUM

The Bachelor’s Valet

Recommended for library patrons who would enjoy a cozy, queer romance with sparkling prose, fade-to-black love scenes, and light magic.
PREMIUM

SuperSight: What Augmented Reality Means for Our Lives, Our Work, and the Way We Imagine the Future

This will appeal to entrepreneurs looking for ways to use technology to create innovative and practical business ventures.

Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World

An ambitious and beautifully constructed anthology that fans of the genre won’t want to miss; a necessary addition to any library.

Garbo

This is a brilliantly written and constructed portrait of a true icon of the cinema.
PREMIUM

Hard To Love

Sure to be a favorite for sports romance fans.
PREMIUM

Christmas in Full Bloom

The Christmas charm runs high while the romantic stakes remain low, which will appeal to readers looking for a stress-free holiday romance.
PREMIUM

Tony Hillerman: A Life

Recommended mostly for Hillerman’s devoted fans.
PREMIUM

Confessions of His Christmas Housekeeper

Readers won’t be able to put down this Christmas romance until all of the secrets of Giacomo and Louise’s relationship are revealed. This title will please those who love to see a couple reunite and overcome their dark past with an inspiring, emotional journey.
PREMIUM

Smart Girl

Purchase where science fiction and futuristic graphic novels are popular.
PREMIUM

Echoes of the Dead

The series has through lines, but each book can be read as a stand-alone; this installment is great for readers looking for a Stephen King–like scare.
PREMIUM

Foolish Hearts

Williams’s novel doesn’t shy away from family dysfunction, and sometimes there are no easy answers, keeping readers guessing until the end. Recommended for all public libraries.
PREMIUM

A Prime’s Passion

Recommended for libraries where Walker’s books are popular or paranormals are in demand.
PREMIUM

The Philip Roth We Don’t Know: Sex, Race, and Autobiography

Academic libraries and large Roth collections may want to purchase.
PREMIUM

The Next Apocalypse: The Art and Science of Survival

Full of witty anecdotes about survivalism and prepper culture, Begley’s book is an absolute joy to read and a hidden gem. Pass along to readers who enjoyed Bradley Garrett’s Bunker: Building for the End Times.
PREMIUM

Jingle Bell Wolf

This feel-good holiday read has a few subplots that fizzle out (someone Gabrielle dated briefly pursues her intensely, then is dropped without explanation, and her friends solve a mystery with no real suspense; plus, Gabrielle’s fear of snow and ice is glossed over) but Spear’s many fans will be waiting to read about the Wolffs, so libraries should purchase accordingly.
PREMIUM

Holly Jolly Cowboy

Some may find the enemies-to-lovers transformation takes too long, but those who love the idea of winning over an irritable cowboy might appreciate Holly’s efforts to put Adam in his place. Readers looking for a cowboy fix should start with the earlier titles in the “Painted Barrel” series, particularly the Christmas-themed ones.

The Christmas Bookshop

Get ready to root for these charming characters as they bungle their way toward a merry Christmas
PREMIUM

A Season for Second Chances

Bayliss’s fans and readers who enjoy laugh-out-loud rom-coms will want to spend a cozy winter evening by the fire with Annie and the residents of Willow Bay.
PREMIUM

The Holiday Swap

Knox serves up a delicious romantic comedy à la Christina Lauren or Emily Henry.
PREMIUM

A Winter’s Earl: A Regency Christmas Romance

The red-hot love scenes, tender emotions, and Two Men and a Baby–style comedy will leave readers eager for Greene’s next romance.
PREMIUM

Her Wolf in the Wild

Gray twists paranormal tropes into a steamy take on fated mates. Recommended for all public libraries seeking more paranormal romance.
PREMIUM

The Last Season

An undistinguished historical romance whose predictable plot is made worse by the pacing. Readers won’t be satisfied by the lackluster conclusion.
PREMIUM

Once Upon a Chef: Weeknight/Weekend

A recommended purchase for public libraries. Personal anecdotes will delight Segal’s followers, and will draw in others new to her cooking.
PREMIUM

Women in the Picture: What Culture Does with Female Bodies

A thought-provoking purchase for academic library art history and women’s studies collections.
PREMIUM

Double Take

Recommended for libraries where the first book circulated well or for die-hard PI fans.

2021 Canadian Governor General’s Literary Awards Finalists | Book Pulse

Kakwenza Rukirabashaija Named 2021 PEN Pinter International Writer of Courage | Book Pulse

Weird Earth, Lost World of the Ice Age, Women in Vertebrate Paleontology, and More in Geology | Academic Best Sellers

Spotlight: Douglas Stuart’s Young Mungo, Apr. 2022, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Award-Winning Authors: Literary Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Short Stories: Literary Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Sally Rooney Declines Rights To Israeli Publisher | Book Pulse

Debuts: Literary Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Read-Alikes for ‘State of Terror’ by Louise Penny and Hillary Rodham Clinton | LibraryReads

Hailey Piper on Combining Romance and Horror | Behind the Book

'State of Terror' by Louise Penny and Hillary Rodham Clinton Leads Holds This Week | Book Pulse

New Mysteries Offer Comfort Through Crime and Cozies

Fashion Forward: 28 Titles To Build Stylish Collections

Resources to Support Genealogy

PREMIUM

The Explorer Baroness

Readers will enjoy the novel’s adventure as well its romance.
PREMIUM

Colton 911: Desperate Ransom

Fans of the series will undoubtedly have this one on their list, but new readers might be frustrated by the fact that the kidnapper’s identity isn’t revealed here.
PREMIUM

Strictly Confidential

Though the leads have plenty of chemistry, the romance gets a bit lost, with a few too many subplots and characters for a novel of this length.
PREMIUM

Pregnant After One Forbidden Night

Readers will love the descriptions of the extravagant beauty of the island setting. The hot passion and sweet romance between Sebastian and Jenna will have them holding on until the very end for the couple’s happily-ever-after.

A Nun for the Viking Warrior

A stunning, steamy romance with deliciously flawed protagonists.
PREMIUM

The Wedding Planner’s Christmas Wish

A first-tier purchase for libraries where emotional contemporary romances are popular.
PREMIUM

Secrets, Vegas Style

This well-drawn conflict elevates the second half of the book and builds to a very satisfying though somewhat abrupt conclusion, though readers looking for an emotional ending might be let down.
PREMIUM

The Greek’s Cinderella Deal

This novel transports readers to a luxurious island resort where they’ll breeze through the pages. Hand this to anyone who enjoys a fairy tale–inspired romance with a heroine who won’t compromise when it comes to her happy ending.
PREMIUM

The Bride He Stole for Christmas

Give this to readers who love a hero who believes he’s cold and unfeeling until he falls for a woman unlike any other and must break down the barriers around his heart so that they can be together.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?