Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Devolution: A Firsthand ­Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre

Brooks’s creative and well-executed conceit will have readers searching Wikipedia to look up names and events, even the parts they know are not based on reality. An obvious choice for Bigfoot fans, also suggest this to readers who enjoyed Alma Katsu’s The Hunger and those who appreciate nonfiction survival stories such as Hampton Sides’s In the Kingdom of Ice.
PREMIUM

The Unsuitable

A weird and bloody ghost story combining the terror of mental illness with body horror that, while set in a gothic world, features a sensibility more at home in the 21st century. Similar in appeal to the intense psychological suspense of Sarah Waters’s The Little Stranger mixed with the real-life horror of the domestic abuse and self-harm at the heart of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects.

Wonderland

Reminiscent of the severe disorientation and trauma in Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves and the nature-seeking revenge theme of Stephen Graham Jones’s The Only Good Indians—with elements of and nods to Shirley Jackson’s works

The Living Dead

A true gift to horror fans. Pairs well with Nights of the Living Dead, edited by Romero and others, with appeal for fans of apocalyptic epics such as Chuck Wendig’s Wanderers and Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven.
PREMIUM

Final Cuts: New Tales of Hollywood Horror and Other Spectacles

The unique themes and diverse array of stories make this anthology appealing to a variety of horror readers and is a great introduction to new readers looking for work by a range of authors.
PREMIUM

Out of Body

Nebula and Shirley Jackson Award winner Ford (A Natural History of Hell, The Girl in the Glass) offers a short, captivating tale about strength and sacrifice. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Ocean at the End of the Lane, Samanta Schweblin’s Fever Dream, and Keith Donohue’s The Motion of Puppets.
PREMIUM

Dracula’s Child

This novel is nestled perfectly within the popular pantheon of stories that use the frame and style of Stoker’s classic to create original and entertaining stories that add to the lure and enjoyment of the source material. Hand to readers who liked Steven Hopstaken and Melissa Prusi’s Stoker’s Wilde or Lauren Owen’s The Quick.
PREMIUM

The Book of Koli

This first installment in a planned trilogy is a disorienting look at a dystopian future that is firmly rooted in the concerns and issues of our current moment. Likely to appeal to fans of Jeff Vandermeer’s novels and Carrie Vaughn’s “Bannerless” trilogy.

Author Daniel Kraus Discusses the Future of Horror & His Unique Collaboration with the Late, Great George A. Romero

Eight Spring Horror Titles To Scare Your (Winter) Socks Off

Horror Readers, Rejoice! Nine Spine-Tingling Tales Make HWA's 2020 Summer Scares List

Oh, the Horrors! Read On...If You Dare

Horror Author Darcy Coates Arrives Stateside

Lullabies For Suffering: Tales of Addiction Horror

This under-the-radar indie title is recommended for all collections, as it could make a difference in readers’ lives, especially those in recovery, who know someone who is struggling, or have lost someone to the struggle.
PREMIUM

The Ancestor

The rags-to-riches theme paired with long-buried secrets and a claustrophobic setting in which monsters can hide in plain sight makes this title appealing to a wide range of readers, especially in this age of ubiquitous DNA testing. Pair it with Jennifer Egan’s backlist gem, The Keep.
PREMIUM

Prosper’s Demon

With a fresh take on the well-trod demonic possession trope, solid worldbuilding, high-court politics, and an engaging narrator, this short tale will draw in fans of dark speculative fiction, especially admirers of Martha Wells and Grady Hendrix.

The Only Good Indians

One of the most anticipated horror titles of 2020, Jones’s latest does not disappoint. While fully entrenched within the genre, its well-developed cast, lyrical language, and heightened suspense will have broad appeal. Fans of Paul Tremblay, Victor LaValle, and Samanta Schweblin will be delighted.
PREMIUM

The Beetle

Like many Victorian-era gothic tales, this will appeal to a wide range of readers. The universal ick factor of creepy crawlies additionally ensures that this crowdpleaser from the past will continue to strike fear in the hearts and minds of 21st-century readers.

The Deep

A riveting, seductively menacing tale of love, loss, and betrayal set amid the glamour of the Titanic, filled with seances, sea witches, and second chances. Hand to fans of Dacre Stoker, J.D. Barker’s Dracul, or Lauren Owen’s The Quick.
PREMIUM

The Chill

Based on the true history of a drowned town and inspired by recent articles about the state of New York City’s water tunnels, this novel provides an alluring mix of truth and ghost story which will draw interest and keep readers hooked. Read-alikes include Christopher Golden’s “Ben Walker” series and the novels of Jennifer McMahon, where humans clash against a monster from the past seeking revenge.

Books for Fans of John Carpenter, "Black Mirror," & "Stranger Things" | #LibrarianRecs

Wicked Good Reads | Genre Spotlight on Horror

2

Don't Call It a Comeback

1
PREMIUM

Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories

Horror and suspense aficionados will welcome this shiver-inducing collection.
PREMIUM

The Survival of Molly Southbourne

The follow-up to The Murders of Molly Southbourne is just as chilling as its predecessor, exploring identity and nature in a captivatingly bloody manner. This distinctive horror novella will linger in readers’ minds long after they finish.

Summer Scares First Annual Reading List Announced

Halloween Mix | Wyatt's World

Fearsome Firsts: Horror Fiction from Debut Authors | The Reader's Shelf

PREMIUM

Colonial Horrors: Sleepy Hollow and Beyond

For lovers of American literature and horror fiction fans, this important anthology reveals how the religious beliefs, historical events, and folktales of the colonial period influenced the writerly imaginations that led to the evolution of the modern horror genre.
PREMIUM

Krampus the Yule Lord

This illustrated horror novel by acclaimed gothic fantasy artist, illustrator, and novelist Brom (The Child Thief) is perfect for anyone who disdains a cozy, sentimental holiday story.
PREMIUM

Home

Costello creates a sense of urgency and fatigue as Christie tries to protect her family. He wastes no time with extraneous detail but keeps the pages turning with action and emotion that rings true. Readers need not have read the previous book, as this one works well by itself, but those who enjoy it will probably turn to more from the author.
articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month