Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Apollo Murders

Hadfield draws on his expertise as an astronaut to add authenticity and realism to his debut thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler and Andy Weir will enjoy this genre-bender combining military fiction, the detective novel, and techno-thriller.
PREMIUM

Wolf Point

An intriguing sequel, though it could do without some of the details of Chicago and golf; fans of Stephen Mack Jones’s “August Snow” mysteries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

I Am Not Who You Think I Am

Rickstad ratchets up the suspense, filling Wayland’s investigations with misdirection, shadowy characters, and gothic elements. There’s a sense of dread throughout the book, but the final plot twist is a jaw-dropper. Recommended for readers who like their thrillers dark and twisted.
PREMIUM

In the Company of Witches

Wallace’s wonderful Connecticut setting and quirky characters make this a fun new cozy mystery series.
PREMIUM

Sleepless

Hausmann’s ominous psychological suspense tale masterfully uses restraint, inserting a continual flow of small but significant clues to create tension and a heavy tone. The multidimensional characters will keep readers questioning what they know. For fans of Fiona Barton and Gillian Flynn.
PREMIUM

Nanny Dearest

Mercifully avoiding the sexual clichés of many other domestic thrillers, Collins’s debut illustrates the sometimes obsessive and terrifying nature of love and the shattering consequences of its betrayal. Nanny services across the country may see a dip in demand when this intensely emotional psychological roller coaster is released.
PREMIUM

The Cure for What Ales You

Fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams will love Alexander’s latest Sloan Krause cozy mystery; enjoy with a cold beer.

Betrayal on the Bowery

An action-packed historical mystery with a strong female protagonist and hints of future romance.
PREMIUM

As the Wicked Watch

Hall’s decades of field experience lend a lot of credibility to the story and provide a strong footing for an intriguing new crime series.
PREMIUM

Hold Me Down

A mystery that explores character motivations rather than the murder itself. For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich.

Mango, Mambo, and Murder

The character-driven debut introduces a fresh protagonist, a Cuban American woman trying to maintain her culinary heritage and Spanish language while attempting to find friends and a killer.
PREMIUM

Miss Moriarty, I Presume

Existing fans will appreciate the romantic plot developments, while new readers could treat this as a standalone but would be better served by starting with book one, A Study in Scarlet Women. Suitable for those who enjoy Deanna Raybourn’s “Veronica Speedwell” mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Line To Kill

Horowitz’s latest reveals vulnerability in the condescending Daniel. Fans of the series or and Agatha Christie will relish character-driven mystery set on an isolated island.

Under Color of Law

Clark’s ripped-from-the-headlines police procedural should make readers uncomfortable. It’s a frightening, tragic tale.

Last Girl Ghosted

Unger keeps readers guessing, with revelations that will make them stop and question what they thought they knew. She might also make them think twice about online dating. Recommended for those who like psychological thrillers with women protagonists, such as Andrea Bartz’s We Were Never Here.
PREMIUM

Death in a Desert Garden

For fans of cozy mysteries in Southwestern settings.

Repentance

A tense debut thriller with excellent characters and a timely, satisfying plot; knowledge of recent Argentinian history would help readers contextualize the violence Díaz depicts. For fans of Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” novels.
PREMIUM

The Savage Kind

Copenhaver’s latest is jam-packed with noir themes and plot twists. Sure to please fans of queer fiction and twisty mysteries.
PREMIUM

We Know You Remember

While still full of very grim crimes, this mystery’s setting in the countryside during the summer makes for a less bleak setting than usual for the genre. Alsterdal plots enough twists to keep the police procedural interesting and writes a great woman protagonist; fans of international mystery will be happy to discover her.
PREMIUM

The Missing Hours

The plot is intriguing but doesn’t quite hit the gritty climax readers might expect. Still, Dahl provides a timely story about an always relevant topic.
PREMIUM

Never Saw Me Coming

Readers won’t want to put down this fast and engaging debut novel, and they’ll root for the characters who’ve been cast as villains; Chloe is a particular paradox, simultaneously deplorable and charming. Kurian seamlessly interweaves multiple perspectives, though there are enough different points of view to overwhelm some readers. Those with a strong sense of justice might also be turned off by the fact that Chloe’s crimes go unpunished.
PREMIUM

The Man Who Died Twice

This entertaining follow-up to Osman’s first mystery reveals more about the main characters’ lives, especially Elizabeth’s. Excerpts from Joyce’s diary provide many humorous moments, as well as another perspective of the events of the novel. Recommended for fans of British cozies, especially Simon Brett’s “Fethering” series and Ann Purser’s “Lois Meade” series.

The Dark Remains

An essential purchase to complete crime fiction collections or where international police novels are popular.

The Ninja Betrayed

Eldridge’s series just keeps getting better. While readers can enjoy this book without having read the first two, a series highlight is Lily’s evolution and the complexity and growth of her relationships. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy strong heroines forging their own paths, like Deanna Raybourn’s Victoria Speedwell, S. J. Rozan’s Lydia Chin, and Gigi Pandian’s Jaya Jones.

Striking Range

Mizushima’s follow-up to Hanging Falls still leaves questions about Mattie’s past. The tension and drama of this series installment will satisfy fans of K-9 partners and solid police procedurals.
PREMIUM

The House of Ashes

A considerable departure from the author’s well-known police series, this psychological thriller is not for the fainthearted.
PREMIUM

Defending Britta Stein

This historical novel highlights a lesser-known aspect of World War II and features strong women characters. A good choice for book clubs.

Read-Alikes for 'A Slow Fire Burning' by Paula Hawkins

PREMIUM

Seven-Year Witch

This cozy mystery has the right balance of suspense and quirky, small-town humor. The tone is always cute and lighthearted, and Josie’s magical connection to books is a refreshing spin on witchcraft. Recommended for fans of Lynn Cahoon and Esme Addison, and cozy mystery enthusiasts who like a little sprinkle of the paranormal.
PREMIUM

The Mysterious Bookshop Presents the Best Mystery Stories of the Year: 2021

Purchase for large collections where short story collections and anthologies are popular.
PREMIUM

All These Ashes

Fans of Brad Parks’s “Carter Ross” crime series, also set in Newark, will appreciate Queally’s latest story featuring reporter-turned-investigator Avery.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Madness of Crowds’ by Louise Penny | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘The Noise’ by James Patterson and J. D. Barker | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Mysteries Within Mysteries | The Reader’s Shelf

PREMIUM

The Keening

The details of daily life in Gaelic Ireland (the wars, the feasts, the poetry) don’t make this historical mystery an easy read, but the intricately developed story may appeal to fans of Cora Harrison’s “Burren” mysteries.
PREMIUM

When Ghosts Come Home

Cash excels at conveying realistic family and community dynamics and creating complex characters, at least with the Barneses. Other characters, especially the cartoon-like villain, are not as deftly written. Mystery readers might quibble with a sizable plot hole and a rushed but shocking ending, but Cash’s fans and readers of Southern stories will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Cul-de-sac

Fielding pulls back the curtains of the neighborhood, allowing readers to spy on the neighbors as they spy on each other. As voyeuristically engaging as Hitchcock’s Rear Window, this psychological thriller elicits the page-turning urgency equivalent of trying desperately to see something just out of frame.
PREMIUM

Dark Roads

Though dark and foreboding, none of the violence here is gratuitous and the strength and resilience shown by Stevens’s female characters offers leavening moments of heart and hope. For fans of Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

Deadly Summer Nights

Highly recommended for cozy readers looking for a new setting to explore and a heroine with a lot of moxie.
PREMIUM

Double Solitaire

Good for readers who enjoy the gritty mysteries of James Ellroy or Michael Connelly.

Fierce Little Thing

This is a well-plotted novel with excellent character development. Recommended for fans of psychological suspense and thrillers and readers of Donna Tartt.
PREMIUM

In the Crypt with a Candlestick

The unconventional mystery has no active murder investigation and a cast of unlikable, flawed characters. What is supposed to be a British farce falls flat.

Read-Alikes for ‘Vortex’ by Catherine Coulter | LibraryReads

Read-Alikes for ‘Billy Summers’ by Stephen King | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Secret Staircase

The final installment in Connolly’s series wraps up the mystery of the Barton family. Connolly died in 2020, before she could write books about renovations of the house and village. The descriptions of the house and family life are slow-paced, but the author’s fans will want to finish the series.
PREMIUM

Dust to Dust

The follow-up to Murder at Hotel 1911 is a slow-moving, character-driven story. Keown has created sympathetic, realistic characters, including a young boy on the autism spectrum, and portrays Ivy’s struggles with anxiety. It takes a while for the story to unwind, with all the background Keown reintroduces, so this mystery is suggested only for those who read the series’ first book.
PREMIUM

You Can Run

Cleveland weaves technology, motherhood, and spydom’s skullduggery into a taut, alluring web. Acclaimed for fiendishly clever plotting, she whips up the story to a breakneck pace, then rewards readers with a knockout ending. Fans of Stella Rimington’s series about MI5 agent Liz Carlyle will thrill to the steely grit and brave hearts of Jill and Alex.
PREMIUM

Another Kind of Eden

Dark backstories linger behind each complex character in this action-packed novel. Readers who first meet Aaron here will want to read previous novels in Burke’s “Holland Family” saga.
PREMIUM

Cajun Kiss of Death

The seventh “Cajun County Mystery” (after Murder in the Bayou Boneyard) wraps up the award-winning series. Fans will want to read this final volume, which resolves the futures of Maggie, Bo, and the other beloved characters from a comforting series that brings Cajun food, culture, and music together.

Gone by Morning

Miller’s background as a lawyer in New York brings an authenticity to this intense, intricately plotted thriller. The politics and menacing atmosphere combine in a promising debut.
PREMIUM

A Slow Fire Burning

Hawkins (The Girl on the Train; Into the Water) returns with another novel of psychological suspense, sure to top best-seller lists. She takes seemingly ordinary characters and peers deeply into their complicated lives, skillfully building tension and keeping readers guessing.
PREMIUM

Be My Ghost

Perry (“Witch City” series) kicks off a character-rich series with this installment, which leaves unresolved Maureen’s mysterious connection to Penelope Gray, for future books. Readers of E. J. Copperman’s “Haunted Guesthouse” mysteries will enjoy this title.
PREMIUM

56 Days

Howard crafts likable characters, witty banter, and clever POV shifts throughout, but readers may need a strong neck to withstand the whiplash of frequent time jumps. This quibble aside, Howard has written an eerie, twisty story ripped from current headlines, in which a global pandemic becomes the foreboding hypotenuse of a dangerous love triangle.
PREMIUM

Her Perfect Life

Ryan has a sure hand with her page-turning, twisty plotting and complex, multifaceted characters. Readers looking for a fast, thrilling read will love this one.
PREMIUM

All Her Little Secrets

In her debut thriller, corporate attorney Morris deftly combines a creepy Nazi-esque sect with a murderous plot and rounds out the intrigue with a striking commentary on racism, sexual assault, and misogyny.
PREMIUM

Graveyard Fields

The unconventional heroes of this debut are exaggerated, awkward characters in a story that progresses from tragedy to dark humor. Fans of irreverent crime novels with flawed protagonists will appreciate it.
PREMIUM

Grave Reservations

Priest, the Locus Award–winning author of Boneshaker, is known for writing horror and steampunk. Her witty mystery has a likable amateur sleuth and a strong supporting cast. For fans of Wendall Thomas’s offbeat travel agent Cyd Redondo.

Hello, Transcriber

Former police transcriber Morrissey brings her expertise to this suspenseful debut. The story of an introverted, troubled woman, isolated in a bleak small town, will appeal to fans of Jess Lourey’s atmospheric books.

The Heron’s Cry

Matthew Venn, introduced in The Long Call, is the primary detective in this installment, but Cleeves uses multiple voices, including those of Matthew’s team members, to show the personal effects of this troubling case. Fans of Cleeves’s “Vera Stanhope” and “Shetland” mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where a police team struggles to cope with professional and personal lives.
PREMIUM

Mrs. March

Feito’s debut can be classified as a literary psychological thriller, but it doesn’t fit neatly into one genre. Fans of novels about psychological degeneration will be satisfied.

Ice and Stone

A must-read for Sharon McCone fans; the series should also be explored by any fan of strong women detectives.

Harlem Shuffle

Another can’t-miss from the versatile Whitehead, for readers who loved James McBride’s Deacon King Kong.
PREMIUM

My Sweet Girl

In her debut novel, Sri Lanka–based Jayatissa is a master of first-person narration as she delves into questions of identity--how individuals perceive themselves, and the tendency not to see others for who they really are. Her fast-paced mystery, with an unreliable but sympathetic narrator, will hook readers from the very beginning, but the twist ending might leave them disappointed and unsatisfied; the frequent profanity may also be problematic for some readers.

While Justice Sleeps

This title is sure to be a hit with library users and is a recommended first purchase.
PREMIUM

Butcher Pen Road

A quick-read police procedural that is aided by knowledge and context of the setting while highlighting the challenges of law enforcement in rural Oklahoma. For fans of Kent Anderson, Danny Gardner, and Lisa Sandlin.
PREMIUM

Riccardino

Camilleri’s series finale busts out of the traditional mystery genre to give fans an inspiring, thoughtful, and humorous farewell to a beloved character.

The Hollywood Spy

Longtime fans of the series will savor the perfectly calibrated mix of intriguing plot and engaging characters in the latest “Maggie Hope” mystery, and the impeccably written book should also work as a good introduction to the series for newcomers.

Island of Thieves

Hamilton has written his best “Van Shaw” book to date with this slow-burn tale that takes his main character in unexpected directions. Van is torn between wondering whom he can trust and keeping his known allies safe. High stakes, a genuinely complex plot, compelling characters, and excellent writing make this another winner from Hamilton. Fans of Daniel Silva and Gregg Hurwitz should add Van Shaw to their list of go-to characters.
PREMIUM

Murder Always Barks Twice

Fans of dog-centric cozy mysteries will thoroughly enjoy this charming crime-solving duo and the enchanting Cornish setting.

Read-Alikes for ‘Black Ice’ by Brad Thor | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Murder in an Orchard Cemetery

Harrison follows Death of a Prominent Citizen with another leisurely paced mystery with roots in the history and culture of Cork. It’s a treat for Irish history buffs who follow the series.
PREMIUM

The Newspaper Widow

An old-fashioned novel isn’t a bad thing when it’s as well done as this one about people growing, loving, and rectifying past mistakes.
PREMIUM

Gone for Good

There is no neat ending here, which leaves room for more books in the series. A great read, recommended for true crime fans and mystery lovers alike.
PREMIUM

The Perfect Ruin

Williams (Coach Me; My Fiancé’s Brother) is an award-winning author of romance and suspense novels; her tale of revenge will find an easy spot in fiction collections. Tailored for book clubs and for those who like to read about the sleazy side of rich elites.

Read-Alikes for ‘The Cellist’ by Daniel Silva | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Silver Tears

Läckberg leaves her thriller’s conclusion open-ended, signaling the possibility of a third installment. Libraries that own The Golden Cage will want this sequel
PREMIUM

The Darkness Knows

Last seen in The Shadow District, detective Konrád is back for the launch of his own series. The award-winning Indridason has a long track record of writing grimly compelling Nordic crime thrillers, but this latest title moves at the pace of its retired protagonist. Konrád is often mired in his past, and there’s little suspense as he slowly pursues suspects in a decades-old murder.

What the Cat Dragged In

The 14th “Cat in the Stacks” mystery (after Cat Me If You Can), with its family stories, descriptions of meals, and two cats, might be the most satisfying in the series for regular readers.

Palace of the Drowned

Mangan’s excellent sophomore effort (after Tangerine) feels like an homage to Hitchcock and Highsmith both. Frankie feels tensions, both real and imagined, that seep through the story with every word and page. Highly recommended.

False Witness

Slaughter skillfully and assuredly relates the violence of a sociopath, while creating an emotional connection to lives touched by tragedy and addressing current events. Her latest will be a favorite for thriller lovers, as well as fans of Jennifer Hillier, Michael Koryta, and Alafair Burke.

PREMIUM

How To Kill Your Best Friend

Elliott’s latest (after The Missing Years) is a great thriller with lots of red herrings and a blindsider of a twist ending.

The Madness of Crowds

This book has layers within layers: good versus evil; our duty to the weak; the nature of power; the fact that good people are not always likable, and likable people are not always good. Penny’s familiar characters are back, along with some intriguing visitors. The mystery will keep readers absorbed until the end and might make them realize how this unprecedented pandemic has changed the world. Highly recommended for public libraries.

Fallen

This intense, suspenseful whodunit is full of twists and turns, red herrings, and an OMG ending, with a realistic mix of English and Amish cultures. Fans of this series, realistic crime drama, and multicultural or Amish literature will find this mystery unputdownable.

Velvet Was the Night

Fans of Moreno-Garcia’s other novels will relish this title, as will noir aficionados and readers who like stories about everymen and -women rising to the occasion.

Clark and Division

Hirahara does a masterly job of incorporating extensive historical research into an emotionally compelling story. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy high-quality historical fiction with well-drawn characters and an engrossing plot.
PREMIUM

The Wonder Test

Richmond’s (The Marriage Pact) latest is a two-in-one winner: a gripping thriller set in a Stepford-esque California suburb, and a story of surviving loss and building family bonds. With a realistic protagonist, well-described setting, and an uber-creepy villain, it will please readers who like their stories with action and heart in equal measure.
PREMIUM

Dog Eat Dog

Fans of the “Andy Carpenter” series will enjoy this 23rd outing featuring the talented but reluctant advocate (after Silent Bite), as will fans of brisk, dog-filled mysteries in general.
PREMIUM

Much Ado about Nauticaling

The first in a new series by Allan, who has written cozies under a different name. It has an original setting and a unique job for the amateur sleuth, and it’s a refreshing change to read about a sleuth who’s not fleeing her past. Suggest to readers of Bree Baker’s “Seaside Café” mysteries.

Silence in the Library

Although the second “Lily Adler” mystery (after The Body in the Garden) incorporates issues of racism, classism, women’s independence, and neurodiversity, Schellman never forgets that it’s a mystery. The fast-paced, engrossing story has a climactic confrontation worthy of Rex Stout or Agatha Christie.
PREMIUM

Ghost Blows a Kiss

Fans of paranormal mysteries will appreciate this 10th “Bailey Ruth Ghost” case (after Ghost Ups Her Game), a template for a traditional mystery in the style of Agatha Christie. The likable Bailey Ruth should appeal to fans of Cleo Coyle’s “Haunted Bookshop” mysteries.
PREMIUM

The Stranger in the Mirror

This latest novel (after The Wife Stalker) from sisters Lynne and Valerie Constantine (writing as “Liv”) is a deliciously disorienting psychological thriller that will keep mystery lovers second-guessing everything they read as they struggle to unravel the complex tapestry of Addy’s life.

Dark Things I Adore

Lattari’s unreliable narrator pivots between present and past. This vengeful tale that pits artistic genius against mental health and happiness will captivate fans of dark suspense.
PREMIUM

The Disappearance of Trudy Solomon

This debut forces a police detective to question her own actions in a situation ripped from the headlines, while also juggling a cold case. Readers looking for an up-to-date police procedural will be satisfied with Susan Ford’s investigations, which use current forensic evidence, including DNA and security cameras.
PREMIUM

The Parting Glass

Despite the book’s allusions to Lauren’s previous Icelandic adventures in A Full Cold Moon, newcomers who enjoy cold cases can appreciate this mystery and the scenic Irish locale.

Lightning Strike

This sensitive, moving prequel introduces and draws readers into the series. Krueger (Ordinary Grace; This Tender Land) has written another perceptive coming-of-age novel, the poignant story of a father and son trying to understand each other. It provides Cork O’Connor’s backstory for those who haven’t read the series.

A Fiancée’s Guide to First Wives and Murder

The American-born countess’s skills in maneuvering as an amateur sleuth in Victorian society are on full display in this charming historical mystery. New readers can easily pick up this fourth in the series (after A Lady’s Guide to Mischief and Murder), and fans will delight in the dramatic conclusion.
PREMIUM

Her Last Breath

Davidson draws readers in through Deirdre’s quest for justice for her sister and keeps them engaged by detailing the downfall of a corrupt family business. Readers who enjoy domestic suspense will appreciate Davidson’s surprising spin on family drama.

PREMIUM

Unthinkable

This fast-paced novel, narrated in alternating chapters by Nate and Jenny, has twists and turns that’ll keep readers guessing. Recommended for readers who enjoyed Parks’s other stand-alone works, as well as fans of Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay.

Down Range

Moore has written a tense and irresistible thriller that fans of C. J. Box and the military action novels of Brad Taylor will savor. The chaos mixes well with a stellar panorama of Texas. Readers will happily look forward to the next installment in what looks to be a series featuring Garrett Kohl and his family’s ranch life.

Razorblade Tears

Cosby follows his award-nominated Blacktop Wasteland (an LJ Best Mystery selection for 2020) with another stand-alone mystery that’s already been optioned for a film. His story of fathers and sons, of men learning to respect others’ lives, has an unexpected depth for such a violent, confrontational book. This powerful book should be in every library.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?