Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Report: Library and Archives Canada Service Cuts Hindering Research, Historians Complain”

Key Messages From the 2nd Open Science Conference

Report: “Global Refugee Archive Collecting the Stories of the World’s Displaced”

PREMIUM

The Return of the Pharaoh: From the Reminiscences of John H. Watson, M.D

Readers who enjoy detective fiction in the vein of Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle will find Meyer’s fifth Holmes pastiche a fun and delightful addition to the canon.
PREMIUM

The Uninnocent: Notes on Violence and Mercy

Those experiencing their own forms of heartbreak won’t find advice, but instead may find some comfort and understanding in Blake’s elegant, sympathetic reflections.
PREMIUM

The Rule of Laws: A 4,000-Year Quest to Order the World

An intriguing synthesis of the history of global legal codes and their origins.
PREMIUM

Glitter Every Day: 365 Quotes from Women I Love

Bravo fanatics will enjoy spending the year flipping through Cohen’s playful collection of quotes and trivia.
PREMIUM

Singing Like Germans: Black Musicians in the Land of Bach, Beethoven, and Brahms

A long-overdue tribute to musical artists whose stories should not be forgotten.
PREMIUM

Scandal in Babylon

Hambly’s characters seem too modern for the 1920s setting, as if they’ve been transported from the 21st century, and the story is all style, with little to sink one’s teeth into. Recommended for cozy mystery and Hambly fans and those who are interested in 1920s Hollywood.
PREMIUM

We Could Be: Bowie and His Heroes

Readers will find many humorously intriguing or infuriating nuggets here; though some tend toward gossipy tabloid fodder, the overall impression is that of a lost soul participating in an alienating and self-destructive environment but who overcame that at times to create impressive, norm-shattering musical works.
PREMIUM

Farewell to My Alter: Nio Nakatani Short Story Collection

Nakatani’s beautiful and easily recognizable signature manga art style makes it easy to get caught up in her collection. A good read, but not a must-buy.
PREMIUM

How Rights Went Wrong: Why Our Obsession with Rights Is Tearing America Apart

Provocative reading for those interested in legal reform and a civil society.
PREMIUM

Dark Souls: The Complete Collection

A must-read for every Dark Souls player, as Quah’s realistic art style replicates the mood of the video game. Recommended for public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

How To Save a Life: The Inside Story of Grey’s Anatomy

There’s a simple reason why Grey’s is entering its 18th season: its passionate superfans, who will devour this tell-all book.

Code of Silence: Sexual Misconduct by Federal Judges, the Secret System That Protects Them, and the Women Who Blew the Whistle

This captivating, eloquent book will resonate with anyone seeking justice and accountability; give to readers of Deborah Tuerkheimer’s Credible: Why We Doubt Accusers and Protect Abusers.

Baggage: Tales from a Fully Packed Life

This second act is sure to be another hit in Cumming’s career; readers will be left hoping for a third memoir.
PREMIUM

Embers

This contemporary fantasy romance can be read alone, but once readers meet the Burkhard clan they’ll want their stories too, so purchase of the entire series is recommended.

News Roundup (October 22, 2021)

Global Spooktacular

Lindsey Drager Wins 2021 Annual Bard Fiction Prize | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

For Brown Girls with Sharp Edges and Tender Hearts: A Love Letter to Women of Color

Highly recommended for readers with an interest in social issues impacting Black, Indigenous, and other people of color; immigrant stories; and sociology.

Report: “Promoting and Nurturing Interactions with Open Access Books: Strategies for Publishers and Authors”

Video Recording: U.S. Senate Committee Hearing on Oversight of Library of Congress Modernization Efforts

News Roundup (October 21, 2021)

News Roundup (October 21, 2021)

The 2021 Cundill History Prize Finalists Are Announced | Book Pulse

Mastermind Mary Kubica Triumphs with Local Woman Missing

Report: “New Algorithm Searches Historic Documents To Identify Noteworthy People”

Library Publishing Workflows Project Releases Journal Workflow Documentation

ORCID Releases 2022-2025 Strategic Plan

Research Article: “Open For All: Accessibility Of Open Textbooks”

Research Article: “Not Open For All: Accessibility Of Open Textbooks”

Hoover Institution Acquires Rare Material From the 1946 Bikini Atoll Atomic Testing

News Roundup (October 20, 2021)

News Roundup (October 20, 2021)

LJ ’s State of Academic Libraries Survey Reveals Challenges, Priorities

Flint and Mirror, Nettle and Bone: SF/Fantasy Previews, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Summer Starters: Contemporary Pop Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Brooklyn Public Library Literary Prize Shortlist is Announced | Book Pulse

Debuts: Contemporary Pop Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Spotlight: Jennifer Egan’s The Candy House, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Untold Stories: History Previews, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

What’s Done and Undone: Historical Fiction Previews: Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Top Pop: Contemporary Pop Fiction, Apr. 2022, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Delta Think Shares New Open Access Journals Market Data

New Online: STM (Association of Scientific, Technical and Medical Publishers) Releases “STM Global Brief 2021 – Economics & Market Size”

UNC-Chapel Hill Joins Project to Investigate Slavery and U.S. Universities Through Archival Records

News Roundup (October 19, 2021)

Silvia Moreno-Garcia's 'Mexican Gothic' Wins the 2021 Aurora Award for Best Fiction | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘The Judge’s List’ by John Grisham | LibraryReads

Renovations at MIT and Yale, Brooklyn's First New Branch in 40 Years, and More Library Construction News | Branching Out

Your Library Now Open! Keep It Safe and Secure with Quipu’s PITS®

Making the Most of Fall

Indoor Gardening Projects to Get You Through Winter

Family-Friendly Halloween Activities

Government Publications Library at the University of Minnesota Twin Cities Named Government Publications Office (GPO) 2021 Library of the Year

The Internet Archive’s Community Webs Digital Archiving Program Welcomes 60+ New Members From the US, Canada and Internationally

Learn Wikidata: A New Interactive Course For Information Professionals

AI: Springer Nature is Now Offering Free Auto-Translation Service of Books and Manuscripts to All its Book Author

AI: Springer Nature is Now Offering Free Auto-Translation Service of Books and Manuscripts to All its Book Authors

Journal Article: “Developing Research through Podcasts: Circulating Spaces, A Case Study”

'The Judge's List' by John Grisham Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Body Horror: Squirmy Scares | Reader’s Shelf

New From NIH: “Metrics for Data Repositories and Knowledgebases: Working Group Report”

OpenOKState Saves Oklahoma State University (OSU) Students $500,000

Not Real News: An Associated Press Roundup of Untrue Stories Shared Widely on Social Media This Week

“Uplifting Global Voices: A Reflection on Publishing an Edited Book on Academic Libraries and Wikipedia”

Journal Article: “Studying Effectiveness of Web Search For Fact Checking”

New Video: “HathiTrust: Beyond ETAS”

PREMIUM

The Almost Queen

A first-tier purchase for libraries where romantic fantasies are popular, especially ones with crossover appeal for older teens.

Five Decembers

This is hardboiled fiction at its best: an exceptional tale, filled with emotion, plenty of surprises, and enough violence to satisfy the most bloodthirsty reader.

The Death of Jane Lawrence

Starling’s (The Luminous Dead) gothic horror is an immersive delight that will be adored by fans of alternate histories, the film Crimson Peak, ghost stories, magical experiments gone wrong, and stories about women becoming aware of their own power.
PREMIUM

Blood & Bone: An Anthology of Body Horror by Women and Non-Binary Writers

An important addition to any horror collection but especially for libraries looking to diversify. Recommend to readers of Ellen Datlow’s collection Body Shocks, and Trigger Warning: Body Horror edited by Desiree Baltisberger.
PREMIUM

David Copperfield’s History of Magic

An immersive tour of magic through the ages that will appeal most to readers with a fondness for Copperfield.

The Annotated Mrs. Dalloway

A rich work that ably supports readers and teachers.

These Precious Days: Essays

For the author’s many fans and anyone who loves beautiful writing.

Duke, Actually

This smashing sequel is packed with delightful characters, snappy dialogue, and a fairy-tale European setting. A top pick for every holiday romance reading list.
PREMIUM

Death at Greenway

This is an intriguing mystery with well-developed characters and fascinating historical details. For fans of Charles Todd and Jacqueline Winspear.
PREMIUM

Interstellar Angel

Navarre’s sci-fi romance is fast-paced, erotic, and brutal. Book one ends on a cliffhanger, so be prepared to order books two and three to meet reader demand.
PREMIUM

The First Christmas: A Story of New Beginnings

Readers don’t need a religious background to be entertained and educated by this account of the first Christmas.

Rookfield

White takes our collective pandemic anxieties and weaves them into a wonderfully weird and unexpected horror tale. Don’t overlook this gem.
PREMIUM

The Christmas Wish

Libraries owning the other “Blessings, Georgia” books will need to buy copies; and fans of Debbie Macomber, Diana Palmer, and Robyn Carr might enjoy picking up this interconnected series by Sala.
PREMIUM

The Bachelor’s Valet

Recommended for library patrons who would enjoy a cozy, queer romance with sparkling prose, fade-to-black love scenes, and light magic.
PREMIUM

SuperSight: What Augmented Reality Means for Our Lives, Our Work, and the Way We Imagine the Future

This will appeal to entrepreneurs looking for ways to use technology to create innovative and practical business ventures.

Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World

An ambitious and beautifully constructed anthology that fans of the genre won’t want to miss; a necessary addition to any library.

Garbo

This is a brilliantly written and constructed portrait of a true icon of the cinema.
PREMIUM

Hard To Love

Sure to be a favorite for sports romance fans.
PREMIUM

Christmas in Full Bloom

The Christmas charm runs high while the romantic stakes remain low, which will appeal to readers looking for a stress-free holiday romance.
PREMIUM

Tony Hillerman: A Life

Recommended mostly for Hillerman’s devoted fans.
PREMIUM

Confessions of His Christmas Housekeeper

Readers won’t be able to put down this Christmas romance until all of the secrets of Giacomo and Louise’s relationship are revealed. This title will please those who love to see a couple reunite and overcome their dark past with an inspiring, emotional journey.
PREMIUM

Smart Girl

Purchase where science fiction and futuristic graphic novels are popular.
PREMIUM

Echoes of the Dead

The series has through lines, but each book can be read as a stand-alone; this installment is great for readers looking for a Stephen King–like scare.
PREMIUM

Foolish Hearts

Williams’s novel doesn’t shy away from family dysfunction, and sometimes there are no easy answers, keeping readers guessing until the end. Recommended for all public libraries.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?