Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

An Atlas of Geographical Wonders: From Mountaintops to Riverbeds

Besides appealing to general readers who enjoy cartography, art, and “superlative” books, such as the Guinness Book of World Records, this is also well suited to academics and students of history, geography, and art.

National Geographic Atlas of the National Parks

The quality of this tome and its emphasis on current features make it worth a purchase even where libraries own National Geographic the National Parks: An Illustrated History.

The Bells of Old Tokyo: Meditations on Time and a City

Highly recommended for anyone who has visited or is planning to visit Tokyo. Readers will gain insight into the history, culture, and language of Japan as well as ideas on city hot spots.

The Mountain That Eats Men

Recommended for Latin American collections, and for those who study labor history, this "blend of travel writing and memoir" will consume readers.

Land of the Rising Sun: Japan History and More | Collection Development

PREMIUM

Mesopotamia

Great work for worldly readers.
PREMIUM

Mourning

For readers interested in family, memory, 20th-century history, and strong literature.
PREMIUM

The Story of a Marriage

Not for the plot-hungry, this deeply interior meditation will reward serious-minded readers.
PREMIUM

Rivers

A real discovery for those who love world literature.
PREMIUM

Hunting Party

Piercingly pitch-perfect; highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Against the Inquisition

Both strong historical chronicle and spirited defense of the right to believe, presented in straightforward language appropriate for the widest range of readers.
PREMIUM

Waiting for Tomorrow

A smart and affecting study for most readers.
PREMIUM

I Didn't Talk

An arresting work, told in stringently beautiful prose; for all smart sophisticated readers.
PREMIUM

The Four Roads to Heaven: France and the Santiago Pilgrimage

Essential for potential pilgrims and an excellent European history for others.
PREMIUM

Caesar's Footprints: A Cultural Excursion to Ancient France: Journeys Through Roman Gaul

An easy read for those interested in exploring broader cultural and historical connections during the Roman transition into the European continent and its continuing impact on the region.
PREMIUM

The Landmark Julius Caesar: The Complete Works: Gallic War, Civil War, Alexandrian War, African War, and Spanish War

An excellent corpus collection and reference for classicists and historians. Highly recommended for classical departments.
PREMIUM

A Paris All Your Own: Bestselling Women Writers in the City of Light

An engaging, delightful glimpse into female writers' experiences in Paris.
PREMIUM

Curiosities of Paris: An idiosyncratic guide to overlooked delights… hidden in plain sight

A fun, informative, and entertaining way to explore Paris, especially for those who enjoy their travels off the beaten path.
PREMIUM

The Beach at Painter's Cove

With fully fleshed-out characters and family drama to spare, Noble's latest (after Forever Beach and Whisper Beach) is a summer read with substance. For fans of women's fiction and the works of Elin Hilderbrand and Nancy Thayer.
PREMIUM

The Salt House

With alternating chapters focusing on each family member's thoughts and interactions, debut author Duffy eloquently displays the emotional complexities of a family going through the healing process. Readers of Elin Hilderbrand or Luanne Rice will enjoy.
PREMIUM

The Beach House: Coming Home

Bockoven's second "Beach House" novel weaves a lovely tapestry depicting the many threads that form a life. With a focus on family, relationships, loss, and reconciliation, along with a pleasing hint of romance, this novel will appeal to fans of Luanne Rice and Elin Hilderbrand.
PREMIUM

Wild Swimming in Ireland: Discover 50 Places To Swim in Rivers, Lakes & the Sea

Perfect for armchair travelers, adventure swimmers, families, and for those who simply love or want to explore open-water swimming. Avid swimmers will clamor to get to Ireland posthaste.
PREMIUM

Epic Bike Rides of the World: Explore the Planet's Most Thrilling Cycling Routes

For libraries with large travel and recreational collections.
PREMIUM

Walking San Francisco's 49 Mile Scenic Drive: Explore the Famous Sites, Neighborhoods, and Vistas in 17 Enchanting Walks

Anybody living near or traveling to San Francisco can utilize this handy and fascinating walking guide. If only every city had one as comprehensive as this.
PREMIUM

History of the World in Maps: The Rise and Fall of Empires, Countries, and Cities

An absorbing browse as well as a valuable companion to history classes.
PREMIUM

Great City Maps: A Historical Journey Through Maps, Plans, and Paintings

A perfect companion to the publisher's 2014 Great Maps, but also a worthwhile stand-alone purchase, especially where cartography books are needed that serve YA as well as adult patrons.
PREMIUM

Map Stories: The Art of Discovery

For more enjoyable travel writing, try National Geographic's Journeys Home: Inspiring Stories, Plus Tips and Strategies To Find Your Family History; for better history in maps, suggest The Times History of the World in Maps.
PREMIUM

Making Art from Maps: Inspiration, Techniques, and an International Gallery of Artists

A beautiful title that offers something different for both crafters and cartophiles.
PREMIUM

Rough Guides Snapshot Brazil: Rio de Janeiro

This is a 2014 e-only guide, derived from the Rough Guide to Brazil, part of the popular series that is particularly prized by the young or adventuresome traveler...
PREMIUM

Brazil's Dance with the Devil: The World Cup, the Olympics, and the Fight for Democracy

Zirin, an experienced sports journalist (Game Over: How Politics Has Turned the Sports World Upside Down), here spotlights the hypocrisy, greed, and societal impact of bringing world-class events to a country already struggling with poverty, crime, governance, and crippling environmental and health crises...
PREMIUM

Fodor's Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo: With an 8-page Special Section on the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio

An updated third edition of a reliable guide, with special attention given to the 2016 Summer Olympic Games...
PREMIUM

Brazil with Michael Palin

This lively four-part series is hosted by Palin (of "Monty Python" fame), a wonderfully engaging performer and travel writer...
PREMIUM

Brazil: A Traveler's Literary Companion

PREMIUM

Hard Time in the Marvelous City: From Dictatorship to Democracy in the Favelas of Rio de Janeiro

This work focuses on the favelas (the overcrowded, often lawless, ramshackle communities that cling to the hillsides and are home to the poor of Rio)...
PREMIUM

Dancing with the Devil in the City of God: Rio de Janeiro on the Brink

PREMIUM

Touring the World's Capital Cities: Rio de Janeiro, the Capital of Brazil

Though Rio is not the capital of Brazil's government, it is considered its cultural epicenter...
PREMIUM

Top Ten Sights: Rio de Janeiro

This ebook is one of many Brazil-themed works by travel writer and editor Jones, who has also written on Salvador de Bahia, São Paulo, Brasilia, and Recife...
PREMIUM

The Olympics—Official App by the International Olympic Committee

The Olympics' official app includes historic, current, and future games information (results and records for all Olympic sports, athletes, and games); schedules for the Rio 2016 and Pyeongchang 2018 games; photos and videos; the ability to search for Olympic medalists by games, athlete, and country; and tracking options...
PREMIUM

Rio 2016

This Olympics app includes a countdown to the opening ceremony; ticket information; schedules for the games (including Paralympics); and information about venues and history...
PREMIUM

Insight Guides: Explore Rio

PREMIUM

TeamUSA by the United States Olympic Committee

Inclusive and up-to-the-minute info on the games as viewed through a U...
PREMIUM

Lonely Planet: Rio de Janeiro

This is Lonely Planet's ninth edition of Rio de Janeiro, specially updated for the Olympics...
PREMIUM

Frommer's Rio de Janeiro: Day by Day

PREMIUM

Seven Wonders of Brazil: From Christ the Redeemer to Carnival, Robert Beckford Explores the Diversity of Brazilian Christianity

PREMIUM

Top 10: Rio de Janeiro

PREMIUM

Isabel Orleans-Bragança: The Brazilian Princess Who Freed the Slaves

PREMIUM

National Geographic Traveler: Rio de Janeiro

PREMIUM

Moon Spotlight: Rio de Janeiro

PREMIUM

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Brazil

PREMIUM

Mapping Mormonism: An Atlas of Latter-Day Saint History

This thorough resource can stand on its own as a historical, statistical, and geographical account of the Mormon faith from its beginnings. Highly recommended for those wishing to study the origins of Mormonism, its continuing development, and its current place in the world.
PREMIUM

Lost London: An A-Z of Forgotten Landmarks and Lost Traditions

Armchair travelers and history fans will both find riches in this unusual work.
PREMIUM

Learn Something New Every Day: 365 Facts to Fulfill Your Life

This entertaining and informative work is recommended for high school and public libraries, and for casual readers and fact afficionados everywhere.
PREMIUM

Better Than Fiction: True Travel Tales From Great Fiction Writers

A festive collection of travel stories from some amazing writers. The only thing lacking in this collection is more entries! Lovers of travel writing, as well as fans of fiction, will thoroughly enjoy this collection.
PREMIUM

Access All Areas: Selected Writings 1990–2010

This collection spans human exploration over many years and around the world, and is as much about writing as about travel, fortitude, and desperation. The author accomplishes what she praises other brilliant travel writers for achieving: holding up a mirror that reflects back the world. Highly recommended for lovers of travel writing and smart literary essays.
PREMIUM

Grizzly Bears and Razor Clams: Walking America’s Pacific Northwest Trail

Townsend makes every word count. Readers interested in the Pacific Northwest and wilderness backpacking will enjoy the combination of nature writing and practical advice.
PREMIUM

The Longest Way Home

Combining the best aspects of Paul Theroux’s misanthropy in books like Old Patagonian Express and Elizabeth Gilbert’s emotions in Eat, Pray, Love, this book is hard to put down. Bound to be popular, this compelling and honest chronicle will not disappoint readers.
PREMIUM

The Bark River Chronicles: Stories from a Wisconsin Watershed

This book will reward insightful readers. Certainly for regionalists, this also will be popular with any reader with a fond place in their heart for Wisconsin.
PREMIUM

Stranger to History: A Son’s Journey Through Islamic Lands

This well-constructed travel memoir offers subtle political insight, well-drawn characters, lush detail, and poignant personal narrative. A welcome blend of journalism, travel writing, and memoir; strongly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Lincoln Library of Essential Information

The print version is a wonderful title to keep in your cabin for the big snow but will probably see little use in today’s libraries, except in those lacking Internet access and multivolume encyclopedias. The online version is not recommended in its present form.
articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month