Reviews+

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Author
Specific Publisher

The Matter of Black Lives: Writing from the New Yorker

Recommended for all libraries, this anthology offers an engaging and highly relevant selection for American audiences.
PREMIUM

The Sinner and the Saint: Dostoevsky and the Gentleman Murderer Who Inspired a Masterpiece

Equal parts biography, literary analysis, and true crime, Birmingham’s book entrances and entertains from the first page.

All of the Marvels: A Journey to the Ends of the Biggest Story Ever Told

Wolk’s light and humorous style appeals, and this work would be a marvelous addition to any library’s collection. It will likely become a bible for serious comics fans and a useful introduction and reference guide for all others. Highly recommended.

A Carnival of Snackery: Diaries (2003–2020)

Entertaining reading in itself, with references to some of the books he published in this era; a must-read for Sedaris’s many fans.
PREMIUM

Science Fiction Literature Through History: An Encyclopedia

Although there are other similar guides to science fiction (from Routledge and Cambridge, for example), Westfahl’s clear and lively presentation and comprehensive knowledge and background will appeal to fans of the genre, as well as students (middle school through college) who are researching specific sci-fi authors, works, or themes.

Between the Lines: Stories from the Underground

A vibrant, varied love note to New York. Readers will feel hopeful after hearing from Beutter Cohen's delightful subjects, and perhaps emboldened to engage a stranger in conversation.

Please Don’t Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes: Essays

Robinson has written her best book yet, and her relatable humor will have readers coming back for more.

Things I Have Withheld

With Miller’s insight and verve in each essay in this rich collection, this unputdownable book will stay with readers long after they’ve finished.

Patricia Highsmith: Her Diaries and Notebooks 1941–1995

An exceptional effort to make primary source material on one of America’s best known mystery authors more accessible. Sure to be a resource for future scholars, these annotated diaries will also appeal to fans of Eileen Myles’s Chelsea Girls and Diane di Prima’s Recollections of my Life as a Woman, offering a frank and detailed account of a woman and writer coming of age.
409 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?