Reviews+

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Author
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

The Library of Legends

Chang (Dragon Springs Road) has created a lovely novel that is both joyful and lighthearted and deeply tragic as she explores a culture and people who are forced to accept that their country will never be the same following the war and the departure of the spirits that protected their land for centuries.
PREMIUM

The Last Bathing Beauty

Historical fiction readers will enjoy the references to long-ago vacation destinations such as the Catskills and the Poconos, along with Nathan’s clever and accurate descriptions of women’s lives in the 1950s. This novel of first loves and second chances will resonate with fans of historical fiction authors such as Beatriz Williams or Lauren Willig.

Keep Saying Their Names

This gripping narrative is presented in alphabetical “chapters” (“F Is for Firing Squad”) that move quickly and seamlessly between past and present, a device that adds immediacy and depth. Highly recommended to readers interested in accounts of wartime Europe or psychological studies of evil. [See Prepub Alert, 11/4/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lost Orphan

Halls’s (The Familiars) mysterious tale is full of intrigue. The characters are quirky, and their personalities will keep readers invested. The Georgian setting also plays a huge role, as does the formidable hospital. This is a page-turner with a satisfying and harmonious ending.
PREMIUM

Private Means

LeFavour, author of the memoir Lights On, Rats Out, is an award-winning cookbook writer, but don’t expect a foodie novel. Fans of Taffy Brodesser-Akner’s Fleishman Is in Trouble or Ann Beattie’s short stories will enjoy this wry, sophisticated, and intelligent rendering of modern, privileged city life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lucky Star

This novel is premised on a powerful notion of a love magic that is severely tested in a laboratory of desperate human desire; highly recommended for those who like the scenic route home.

Red Dress in Black and White

An attention-grabbing, cleverly plotted, character-driven yarn. [See Prepub Alert, 11/4/19.]
PREMIUM

How To Bury Your Brother

Although the title suggests that this is a mystery, it’s actually literary fiction about a particularly dysfunctional Southern family with dark secrets, featuring a woman who confronts hard truths. This is an accomplished, insightful debut ideally suited for book groups, with reading group guide and author interview included.
PREMIUM

Someone Like You

Kingsbury’s “Baxter” series is a perennial favorite and a required purchase for inspirational collections. The plot is predictable, but it raises interesting questions about science, fertility, and the legal status of frozen embryos. With a Baxter TV series in the works, libraries should purchase according to demand.
15,505 articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month