Reviews+

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings: A Year of Keeping Bees

Required reading for anyone contemplating becoming a beekeeper. Natural history enthusiasts will also find the subject matter compelling.
PREMIUM

Becoming Wild: How Animal Cultures Raise Families, Create Beauty, and Achieve Peace

Though wide ranging at times, this work should interest fans of Safina and general readers seeking to learn more about animal behavior.
PREMIUM

The Library of Legends

Chang (Dragon Springs Road) has created a lovely novel that is both joyful and lighthearted and deeply tragic as she explores a culture and people who are forced to accept that their country will never be the same following the war and the departure of the spirits that protected their land for centuries.
PREMIUM

The Last Bathing Beauty

Historical fiction readers will enjoy the references to long-ago vacation destinations such as the Catskills and the Poconos, along with Nathan’s clever and accurate descriptions of women’s lives in the 1950s. This novel of first loves and second chances will resonate with fans of historical fiction authors such as Beatriz Williams or Lauren Willig.

Keep Saying Their Names

This gripping narrative is presented in alphabetical “chapters” (“F Is for Firing Squad”) that move quickly and seamlessly between past and present, a device that adds immediacy and depth. Highly recommended to readers interested in accounts of wartime Europe or psychological studies of evil. [See Prepub Alert, 11/4/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lost Orphan

Halls’s (The Familiars) mysterious tale is full of intrigue. The characters are quirky, and their personalities will keep readers invested. The Georgian setting also plays a huge role, as does the formidable hospital. This is a page-turner with a satisfying and harmonious ending.
PREMIUM

Private Means

LeFavour, author of the memoir Lights On, Rats Out, is an award-winning cookbook writer, but don’t expect a foodie novel. Fans of Taffy Brodesser-Akner’s Fleishman Is in Trouble or Ann Beattie’s short stories will enjoy this wry, sophisticated, and intelligent rendering of modern, privileged city life. [See Prepub Alert, 12/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Lucky Star

This novel is premised on a powerful notion of a love magic that is severely tested in a laboratory of desperate human desire; highly recommended for those who like the scenic route home.

Red Dress in Black and White

An attention-grabbing, cleverly plotted, character-driven yarn. [See Prepub Alert, 11/4/19.]
47,361 articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month