Mystery

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Dear Child

Hausmann’s English-language debut is absorbing and sinister, with a tightening web of psychological intrigue. Tiny clues are steadily inserted into this fast-paced, shivery tale with an unforeseen denouement. Inevitably likened to Emma Donoghue’s Room, also suggest Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes.
PREMIUM

Death at a Country Mansion

This enjoyable series debut, with its diverse cast of characters and clever amateur sleuth, will appeal to readers of Elizabeth J. Duncan’s “Penny Brannigan” mysteries.
PREMIUM

Bending the Paw

Kelly successfully combines police procedural with cozy in a mystery that has moments of humor. Readers of the previous title in the “Paw Enforcement” series, Paw of the Jungle, will be familiar with the author’s style of incorporating viewpoints from Megan, Brigit, and the primary criminal. Fans of Spencer Quinn’s “Chet and Bernie” books will enjoy Brigit’s comments and the dog-human partnership.

The Man in the Microwave Oven

The follow-up to Cox’s award-winning The Man on the Washing Machine includes a delightful amateur sleuth and eccentric characters with appeal for fans of traditional mysteries. The intricate plotting will keep readers guessing.

Bone Canyon

Goldberg follows Lost Hills with a riveting, intense story. Readers of Karin Slaughter or Michael Connelly will want to try this.
PREMIUM

Prodigal Son

Fans of Tom Clancy or Lee Child will love this latest installment of the “Orphan X” series by Hurwitz (“Tim Rackley” series), which offers twists and turns, danger and adrenaline, and gadgetry worthy of James Bond. There is an underlying examination of the meaning of family that lends extra depth to the book.
PREMIUM

Courting Can Be Killer

There is nothing cozier than the second “Amish Matchmaker Mystery” (after Matchmaking Can Be Murder); it’s filled with silly animals, including two Boer goats and a pig. However, the mystery itself is well plotted and will appeal to fans of Flower’s Amish “Candy Shop” mysteries, set in the same community with crossover characters.
PREMIUM

The Nightworkers

The shifting perspectives, from Shecky’s heartbreaking reminiscences to Kerasha’s painful memories of her mother and therapy sessions, provide the desired emotional depth but may leave readers a bit disoriented. Fans of gritty, dark, mysteries with dysfunctional characters will appreciate this one.
PREMIUM

Murder at Veronica’s Diner

It’s Janet Evanovich’s Grandma Mazur times four when the “direct, loud, demanding, impatient, and tactless” women get together for their fourth case (after Murder at Icicle Lodge). Fans of Stephanie Plum’s adventures might want to sample the escapades of four Italian American women in New Jersey.
2,385 articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month