Law

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

Dirty Works: Obscenity on Trial in America’s First Sexual Revolution

Although this book does not aim to be a biography, it would have been useful to provide more background information on Ernst and his colleagues. Still, readers interested in 20th-century U.S. history, civil liberties litigation, Ernst and his legal colleagues, birth control, or the cultural basis of obscenity laws will find this book worthwhile.
PREMIUM

The Crisis in America’s Criminal Courts: Improving Criminal Justice Outcomes by Transforming Decision-Making

Replete with statistics and references, this engaging, compelling book will appeal to both lay and professional readers.
PREMIUM

Pack the Court! Defense of Supreme Court Expansion

While unabashedly partisan, Feldman’s work is a must-read in the present debate. It offers keen analysis of more than a half-century of the court’s anti-democratic ideological bent.
PREMIUM

Pure Narco: One Man’s True Story of 25 Years Inside the Cartels

Readers who enjoyed Jordan Belfort’s The Wolf of Wall Street may be interested in the debauchery of this book, but its greater appeal will be limited.

Presumed Guilty: How the Supreme Court Empowered the Police and Subverted Civil Rights

Chemerinsky provides an insightful primer for understanding the judicial decisions that support the United States’ prevailing authoritarian, paramilitary, racist approach to policing. He points out problems but also lays out steps to overcoming the Supreme Court’s consistent failure. A thoughtful, provocative, and instructive must-read for anyone concerned with justice and domestic tranquility.
PREMIUM

My Brother the Killer: A Family Story

Sharkey offers an intimate, thought-provoking meditation on how his brother’s childhood and adolescence affected his later actions. For readers interested in books that blend memoir and crime, such as Liza Rodman’s The Babysitter.

Perversion of Justice: The Jeffrey Epstein Story

While the book would benefit from more specific notes about interviews with the people involved, Brown tells a gripping, horrifying tale, and few are spared her critique. A must for public library collections, and especially noteworthy for readers of Ronan Farrow’s Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy To Protect Predators.

A Constitution for the Living: Imagining How Five Generations of Americans Would Rewrite the Nation’s Fundamental Law

Entertaining, instructive, and learned, Breslin’s creative narratives brim with analytical and historical detail that explain the workings of the U.S. Constitution and Constitutional framing. His work will educate and excite readers at every level who are interested in the Constitution’s force, function, and future.
PREMIUM

On the Trail of the Serpent: The Epic Hunt for the Bikini Killer

Fans of Netflix’s The Serpent will devour this compulsively readable work of true crime.
200 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?