AUDIO

Transcription

9 CDs. Hachette Audio. Sept. 2018. 11 hrs. ISBN 9781549116650. $35. digital download. F
COPY ISBN
Juliet Armstrong is recruited to MI5 in 1940, when she was 18. She spends the war years listening to and transcribing the conversations of a group of British Fascist sympathizers. Soon her role becomes more than just an observer, and she must decide whom she can trust. A decade later, Juliet is working at the BBC when she starts getting threatening notes. People and events that she thought were firmly in the past start creeping into the light, and Juliet must find out where the threat is coming from before it's too late. The story jumps back and forth among decades, which can be challenging but has the effect of revealing the story in tantalizing little pieces. With an ending that will take listeners by surprise, this is an unforgettable novel. Narrator Fenella Woolgar subtly but effectively conveys the many characters, providing a truly immersive experience.
VERDICT Recommended for fans of Atkinson, Tana French, and Emily St. John Mandel. ["With a fascinating cast of characters, careful plotting, and lyrical language in turns comical and tragic, Atkinson's complex story carefully unveils the outer demands and inner conflicts that war inflicts": LJ 6/15/18 starred review of the Little, Brown hc.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.