SFF

Today I Am Carey

Baen. Mar. 2019. 336p. ISBN 9781481483841. pap. $16. SF
COPY ISBN
DEBUT Shoemaker's first novel takes readers on a journey of self-discovery, coming of age, and ultimately life itself. The titular character is not a person, but an android, whose persona can change at will as needed by those he cares for. Carey serves as a caretaker for three generations of humans, experiencing holidays, weddings, birth, illness, death, and everything in between. Shoemaker does a fantastic job of showing the meaning of these milestones through Carey's almost childlike point of view, and Carey's development as a character is fascinating.
VERDICT This exploration of artificial life in the vein of Isaac Asimov's I, Robot provides fresh insight into the human experience. Recommended for all fans of sf and novels set in a near future.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.