ROMANCE

To Love and To Loathe

Atria. Apr. 2021. 352p. ISBN 9781982160876. pap. $16.99. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Diana, the Lady Templeton and a rich widow, shares a combative friendship with Jeremy, the Marquess of Willingham, wagering he will be married within a year. After receiving negative comments about his bedroom behavior from his former mistress, Jeremy is more concerned with finding a new paramour who will provide truthful feedback about his abilities. Diana is looking for a lover of her own, and the two begin an affair during Jeremy’s house party. After their first tryst, Diana fears she is falling for Jeremy and plots to force his engagement with another lady, who is secretly a sapphist. Diana’s scheming hilariously does not go according to plan, and eventually Diana and Jeremy pause their verbal sparring to reveal their true feelings.
VERDICT Waters excels at pitting Diana and Jeremy against each other with clever dialogue and comical situations to ensure a lively and steamy rivals-to-romance story. Readers of To Have and To Hoax will enjoy the return of Violet and Audley as supporting characters. A worthy addition to the trend for historical romantic comedies and highly recommended for fans of Evie Dunmore and Elizabeth Everett.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?