FICTION

This Won’t End Well

Lake Union: Amazon. Feb. 2020. 300p. ISBN 9781542014809. $24.95; pap. ISBN 9781542014823. $14.95. F
COPY ISBN
This latest witty and delightful tale from Pagán (I’m Fine and Neither Are You) is about Annie, a brilliant chemist whose life seems to be crumbling before her eyes. After being wrongly let go from her job and deserted by her beloved fiancé Jon, who runs away to Paris to chase his dreams, Annie is forced to move in with her mother. Desperate to avoid people, she takes up cleaning houses. But soon she becomes fascinated with Harper, the classy, exuberant woman who moves in next door, and befriends Mo, a private detective who is watching Harper. Then Jon returns from Paris and begs her to return with him to the City of Light. Readers will easily relate to Annie in this novel told in emails and diary entries.
VERDICT A touching story that is perfect for fans of Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette and the humor of Jennifer Weiner’s novels, this book is for those who understand the difficulties of tackling life, work, and love as a millennial.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month