MYSTERY

The Whisper Man

Celadon. Aug. 2019. 368p. ISBN 9781250317995. $26.99; ebk. ISBN 9781250317971. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
DEBUT North’s first novel explores the life of a father raising his young son after the tragic death of his wife mixed with a town in turmoil owing to kidnappings in the area. Frank Carter, known as the Whisper Man, was responsible for abducting five young men and was eventually captured and incarcerated. Tom Kennedy moves to a house to get a fresh start for him and son Jake, but their arrival coincides with the disappearance of a young boy in a manner eerily similar to those of Carter’s previous crimes. Has the Whisper Man returned? Did Carter have an accomplice? Then Jake starts hearing whispering near his bedroom window. North has written a powerful and scary story that will haunt readers long after the final page is turned. The terrifying villain and characters who seem authentic only add to the horror. Lyrical writing also helps make the story truly haunting.
VERDICT Fans of Thomas Harris or Kevin O’Brien will enjoy this dive with a new voice in suspense. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.