REVIEWS+

The Viognier Vendetta

A Wine Country Mystery
The Viognier Vendetta: A Wine Country Mystery. Scribner. Aug. 2010. c.254p. ISBN 978-1-4391-6386-3. $24. M
COPY ISBN
An old college friend invites Lucie Montgomery to a Washington, DC, soiree during which a billionaire will be making a huge gift of artifacts from the War of 1812 to the Library of Congress. But Rebecca Natale disappears after a brief meeting with Lucie, and the next morning her clothes are found in a rowboat in the Potomac River. Was Rebecca murdered, or did she commit suicide or stage a disappearance? Lucie follows a trail of clues left by Rebecca.
VERDICT The fifth entry (after The Merlot Murders) in Crosby's mystery series set in Virginia's wine country mixes winemaking details with a timely tale that incorporates the current financial and political climate. Fans of Kathryn K. Wall and Carolyn Haines might enjoy this series.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.