MYSTERY

The Templars' Last Secret: A Bruno, Chief of Police Novel

Knopf. Jun. 2017. 336p. ISBN 9781101946800. $25.95; ebk. ISBN 9781101946817. M
COPY ISBN
In southwestern France, a woman's body is found at the foot of a cliff near the Château de Commarque; underneath the former Knights Templar stronghold lies a labyrinth of prehistoric caves. In his tenth outing (after Fatal Pursuit), St. Denis police chief Bruno, and young Amélie, who's shadowing Bruno's community policing, discover the dead woman is an archaeologist who was tracking a mysterious religious artifact that could aggravate tensions among Middle Eastern factions. When terrorists emerge to threaten the safety and sanctity of St. Denis, Bruno must join forces with both new and old friends to protect his community.
VERDICT Bruno and the idyllic town of St. Denis continue to gain popularity with readers, thanks to the combination of a likable character, a vivid sense of place, and detailed descriptions of France's Dordogne region. Fans of Louise Penny's "Armand Gamache" series and Fred Vargas's "Commissaire Adamsberg" mysteries will enjoy another view of policing in a French community.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month