MYSTERY

The Mist

Minotaur: St. Martin’s. Jun. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9781250768117. $27.99. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
The third in Jónasson’s “Hidden Iceland” series (following The Island) features Reykjavík detective Hulda Hermannsdóttir, who is called in to investigate a double murder on a farm deep in the Icelandic countryside while she is still dealing with undisclosed problems with her husband and daughter. Though uncertain that she is ready for such an assignment, Hulda accepts, knowing that if she doesn’t, her abilities as a female detective will forever be in question. At the same time, she is haunted by the yet unsolved disappearance of a young woman who set out to explore the country and hasn’t been heard from since. The narrative alternates between Christmas 1987, when Hulda’s slowly revealed family problems first began and the murders occurred, and February 1988, when the murders are discovered and investigated.
VERDICT No one is who they seem to be in this fast-paced, character-rich thriller about murder and isolation during the brutal Icelandic winter. A series novel that works as a stand-alone, it will appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson, Deborah Crombie, and Michelle Sacks. [See Prepub Alert, 11/18/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month