SFF

The Lost Plot

Ace: Berkley. (Invisible Library, Bk. 4). Jan. 2018. 384p. ISBN 9780399587429. pap. $15; ebk. ISBN 9780399587436. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
Librarian Irene Winters is tasked with tracking down a colleague who is believed to be involved in a political dispute between two dragons. As it is strictly forbidden for agents of the Library to interfere with the affairs of either of the two great powers—dragons and fae—it is important that Irene finds out what happened. She and apprentice Kai, who also happens to be a high-ranking dragon lord, follow the errant Librarian's trail to an alternate Earth in the Jazz Age. They wind up in New York, navigating the dangerous waters of not only dragons but mobsters and thuggish police officers. The premise of Cogman's series, with agents able to hop from alternate worlds and times in search of their desired rare books, offers endless variety. Each adventure allows the intrepid Irene the scope to visit new worlds; each a slightly twisted mirror of history populated with varying amounts of magic. While this entry sets aside the archvillain Albrecht, supposedly killed in The Burning Page, there is still plenty of danger and excitement.
VERDICT A light, fun series for fans of Gail Carriger and Jodi Taylor.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.