FICTION

The Killer Collective

Thomas & Mercer. Feb. 2019. 416p. ISBN 9781503904262. $24.95; pap. ISBN 9781503900950. $15.95; ebk. ISBN 9781503959286. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
Eisler (The Night Trade), author of the best-selling series featuring assassin John Rain, reunites detective Livia Lone and Dox in this latest thriller. Lone's investigation into an online child pornography site reveals coverups by government officials and the secret service. Dox, a former military sniper and Rain's protégé, flies to her side after a failed attack on her life and the death of her partner on the case. Rain and other loosely connected hit men, all with varying motivations, join Dox and Lone as the conspiracy goes global. There is no doubt they will catch the bad guys; the question is, when will this team of assassins turn on one another? While the nature of crimes investigated might be deeply unsettling for some readers, followers of the series will appreciate the many thrilling action sequences and backstory conversations among the crew.
VERDICT Eisler does a great job of creating individual personalities and tics to this group of uniquely trained professionals. A solid recommendation for fans of Robert Ludlum's Jason Bourne and Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.