FICTION

The Key to Happily Ever After

Gallery: S. & S. Apr. 2019. 320p. ISBN 9781501197581. pap. $16; ebk. ISBN 9781501197598. F
COPY ISBN
Marisol, Janelyn, and Pearl de la Rosa are sisters who just took over their parents' wedding planning business. While mom and dad are enjoying retirement, the siblings need to sort out the business, as the finances are a bit of mess. Although they're equal partners, contention arises when Pearl, the youngest sister and the social media manager, wants to be a full-fledged wedding planner like her sisters. But Mari, the eldest, is too much of a control freak to turn her baby sister loose. Jane, the middle child, is the peacemaker, but it takes almost a complete break before things normalize. Can't have a wedding planner story without some romance, and Mari is the lucky sister who finds love. Readers are told that the de la Rosas are Filipino, yet we don't get much of the culture beyond brief mentions; instead the story focuses on relationships between the sisters and their wedding clients.
VERDICT This sweet family story/romance will appeal to fans of Susan Mallery and RaeAnne Thayne. Especially suitable for public libraries looking for more #ownvoices authors.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?