SCIENCES
The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall
Basic. Apr. 2019. 480p. notes. bibliog. index. ISBN 9780465055685. $32; ebk. ISBN 9781541617292. SCI
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarTropical biologist Moffett (visiting scholar, Harvard Univ.; Adventures Among the Ants) integrates research in biology, sociology, anthropology, and psychology to explore the nature and evolution of human societies. Beginning with the earliest humans, the author describes how cultures evolved from nomadic hunter-gatherer bands to tribes, villages, chiefdoms, and, finally, to the large complex states of today. For comparison, the author discusses various animal communities, including those of other primates. He argues that in significant ways, human societies resemble large ant populations more than they do that of chimps or bonobos, our closest genetic relatives. In addition, Moffett explains how human societies became so large, why all eventually die out, and the role of families and kin in their functioning. Some may bristle at the similarities made between human and Argentine ant societies, but Moffett argues his points well and provides a well-researched and richly detailed account of why societies have been a fundamental part of the human experience since our earliest ancestors.
VERDICT Highly recommended for fans of Jared Diamond's Collapse: How Societies Choose To Fail or Succeed and Yuval Harari's Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.