CHRISTIAN FICTION

The Haunting at Bonaventure Circus

Bethany House. Sept. 2020. 400p. ISBN 9780764233890. pap. $15.99. CF
COPY ISBN
Pippa Ripley was abandoned by her circus performer parents as an infant and adopted by circus royalty, the owner of Bonaventure Circus himself. As the 1920s brings more freedom for some women in rural Wisconsin, Pippa is still under her father’s thumb even as she is drawn to the traveling life. The seedy underbelly of circus life soon places her in grave danger. In a modern-day story line, which is more appealing than the historical, Chandler Faulk has purchased an old depot and is hoping to make a name for herself in historical renovations even as she raises her son alone and battles an autoimmune disease. Suspicious events and the discovery of a 40-year-old corpse begin to convince her the old circus building is haunted, even though believing in ghosts goes against her faith.
VERDICT The intricate setup Wright (The House on Foster Hill) delivers requires patience and suspension of disbelief, but the ending is worth it. Fans of complex Christian fiction in the vein of Kristy Cambron and Michèle Phoenix will enjoy this title.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month