FICTION

The Fifth Doctrine

Mira: Harlequin. Mar. 2019. 384p. ISBN 9780778369479. $26.99; ebk. ISBN 9781488088735. ROMANTIC SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
When your existence is the result of a secret government genetic experiment and a CIA kill team is targeting you, you probably shouldn't refuse an offer of a job in exchange for calling the agency off. But Bianca St. Ives trusts no one, even if it's a spy-for-hire she desires who keeps turning up like a bad penny. Colin Rogan has two goals: get the beautiful ex-spy to work for his alphabet organization and make her trust him. He'd also like to get further than first base with her, but then she'd have to be unarmed and he knows that's not likely. Readers will enjoy a lightning-fast pace, amazing premise, and larger-than-life yet credible characters in Robards's third sophisticated whodunit spy novel (after The Moscow Deception) with attitude. The conversational dialog accented with spy-speak provides a bird's-eye view of the goings-on of an enigmatic, loyal, and lethal protagonist and the banter between Bianca and her nemesis Colin is terrific.
VERDICT Fans of Iris Johansen, Laura Griffin, and Lisa Jackson will enjoy this series, which should be read in order. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month