FICTION

The Bride Says Maybe

Avon. (Brides of Wishmore, Bk. 2). Feb. 2014. c.384p. ISBN 9780062219275. pap. $7.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062219282. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
In her second title in "The Brides of Wishmore" series, Maxwell continues the story of Lady Tara Davidson, introduced in The Bride Says No. As that book ends, Lady Tara had run away from marriage to a man she didn't love and was heartbroken over the marriage of the love of her life to another. Now she's back at the family home trying to live down the scandal of her failed nuptials and figure out what her next steps will be. According to her father, the Earl of Tay, her only choice is to marry Breccan Campbell. Breccan has bought up all of Tay's debts, and unless Tara marries him, he will collect what is owed and send their family into penury. While Tara's initial reaction is to run away, again, she ends up making a deal with Breccan. Once she has a child, she can return to London. In the meantime, though, she will live with him at Wolfstone and perhaps fall in love?
VERDICT Maxwell (The Devil's Heart) is aiming to show Tara's emotional journey from a spoiled, somewhat immature young woman into an adult who has learned what love truly is. While she doesn't fully succeed, she does write with a light enough touch to appeal to fans of Julia Quinn and Sabrina Jeffries.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month