FICTION

The Bookshop of Yesterdays

Park Row: Harlequin. Jun. 2018. 368p. ISBN 9780778319849. $22.99; ebk. ISBN 9781488078736. F
COPY ISBN
Sixteen years after she last saw her Uncle Billy, Miranda Brooks learns that he has passed away and she has inherited his Los Angeles-based store, Prospero Books. Named for Prospero's daughter in The Tempest, a theme recurrent throughout the novel, Miranda follows clues she believes her uncle sent her to unravel the story of his past. The path leads her to people who fill in the holes she didn't know she had in her own story. At first, Miranda's parents are thrilled that she has returned home, but soon her mother is not talking and a wedge is driven between them. With her personal life in shambles and the bookstore in financial straits, Miranda moves into Billy's apartment above the shop and sets out on a quest of self-discovery, taking a chance on revitalizing the store and discovering love where she least expects it.
VERDICT Meyerson's debut is a sweet read filled with family, love, and healing. Readers who enjoy Robyn Carr and Debbie Macomber will be charmed by this tale of self-discovery and new beginnings.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month