HISTORY

The Betrayal of the Duchess: The Scandal That Unmade the Bourbon Monarchy and Made France Modern

Basic. Apr. 2020. 416p. ISBN 9781541645455. $32. HIST
COPY ISBN
Treachery, disguise, capture, and imprisonment—the scandal surrounding an ill-fated 19th-century French insurrection—is all the more captivating in this factual retelling. In 1832, the mother of a deposed heir to the French throne attempted to overthrow her brother-in-law, Louis-Philippe of France. Lacking adequate funding or local support from right-wing allies, the Duchesse de Berry’s rebellion came to a disastrous end when she was betrayed by one of her own emissaries. Popular opinion, rather than condemning Marie-Caroline for the aborted coup, quickly turned against her disloyal betrayer, Simon Deutz, the son of the Chief Rabbi of France. According to Samuels (Betty Jane Anlyan Professor of French, Yale Univ.) the scandal launched an anti-Semitic backlash among French aristocracy and the French press, remnants of which can be seen in the Dreyfus affair at the turn of the 20th century, and even up to the present day. Based on memoirs, contemporary newspaper reports, archival documents, and secondary sources, this tumultuous but largely forgotten period of French history is effectively reexamined.
VERDICT Recommended for readers of Victor Hugo, Alexandre Dumas, and 19th-century French history and literature.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month