TRAVEL & GEOGRAPHY

The Beach House: Coming Home

Harper. May 2017. 352p. ISBN 9780062388988. $15.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062388995. F
COPY ISBN
Melinda Campbell was a young teen from Kentucky's coal mine region when she gave up her baby daughter to Jeremy Richmond and his wife, Tess. For 13 years, she has dreamed of seeing her little girl again. When Melinda is contacted unexpectedly by Jeremy, it is because his daughter Shiloh has pediatric lupus and is expressing a strong desire to meet her birth mother. Melinda breaks from her high-powered career and travels to Santa Cruz, CA, to a cozy beach house where she begins a thorny relationship with Jeremy and works to create a rapport with her daughter, both of whom cannot understand how a woman could ever give up her infant for adoption. The soothing, natural beach setting contrasts with Melinda's poverty-stricken past, Shiloh's illness, and Jeremy's new legal woes brought on by Tess, who abandoned Shiloh five years earlier.
VERDICT Bockoven's second "Beach House" novel weaves a lovely tapestry depicting the many threads that form a life. With a focus on family, relationships, loss, and reconciliation, along with a pleasing hint of romance, this novel will appeal to fans of Luanne Rice and Elin Hilderbrand.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?