MYSTERY

The Apollo Murders

Mulholland. Oct. 2021. 480p. ISBN 9780316264532. $28. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
DEBUTFive years after the accident that cost him an eye, career pilot and astronaut hopeful Kaz Zemeckis is no longer cleared for flight missions and his dreams of orbit are cancelled. Kaz continues his work from the ground, adding experience in the intelligence field. It is 1973 and the United States continues the space race against the rest of the world—Apollo 18 is months away from a launch to the moon. Soon the scientific mission is upended by intelligence about Soviet activity on the moon and a secret Soviet space espionage station. Apollo 18’s astronauts now have a secret agenda: find the Soviet space station and document and sabotage what they can. Kaz is called in to assist the mission from the ground, but when one of the astronauts dies in a training incident, he realizes the spies aren’t only in outer space.
VERDICT Hadfield draws on his expertise as an astronaut to add authenticity and realism to his debut thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler and Andy Weir will enjoy this genre-bender combining military fiction, the detective novel, and techno-thriller.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?