FICTION
Sweetest Heartbreak
Amazon Digital Services
Nov. 2017. 337p. ISBN 9780997535419. $2.99. SELF-PUBLISHING
COPY ISBN

Bentley’s (Beautiful Lies) latest opens as Leah is meeting Heath for the first time, though she’s been hearing about him from her best friend Eli for years. While her initial impression of Heath isn’t great, she can’t deny the sparks that are flying between them. As soon as Heath sees Leah, he knows he’s a goner. The problem is Eli: he's clearly in love with Leah. But chemistry and attraction can’t be denied and after a few bumps in the road, Heath and Leah edge into a romance—one that's even shakier then they expected. There is certainly romance and heartbreak, as promised by the title, but there is also growth for both the hero and heroine as they learn to become the people they want to be after a few stumbles. Though the pacing and characterization is a bit uneven in places, the emotional journey for Leah and Heath will tug at readers’ heartstrings and leave them wanting more.

VERDICT Fans of Colleen Hoover and Kylie Scott will snap this one up

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.