MYSTERY

Stolen Things

Dutton. Aug. 2019. 368p. ISBN 9781524744908. $26; ebk. ISBN 9781524744915. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
Laurie Ahmadi is an ex-cop and current 911 dispatcher married to Omid, the chief of police in a small Northern California town. They share an enjoyable life with their teen daughter, JoJo, until the night it all implodes. Answering a 911 call, Laurie hears “Mama? Help me.” Jojo, who was drugged and cannot remember details of the night, has been tied to a bed and raped in a house belonging to NFL star Kevin Leeds, famous for his stance against police brutality. A murder victim is found in another room. How is 16-year-old Jojo involved with these people? And where is Harper, Jojo’s best friend, who was with her that night? Herron treats us to a thriller that slowly peels back the layers of dirty secrets kept by all the people involved—the cops, Harper, Omid, Laurie, Jojo—no one is what they seem.
VERDICT With the current social climate as backdrop, this novel touches on race, homosexuality, police brutality, teenage love, rape, and murder, all within an intense read. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter or Lisa Scottoline. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.