FICTION

She Gets That from Me

Berkley. Sept. 2020. 448p. ISBN 9781984802002. pap. $16. F
COPY ISBN
There are many ways to start a family. Brooke, a single woman, opts for a sperm donor and with the help of her best friend Quinn, brings adorable Lily into the world. Brooke’s sudden fatal aneurysm abruptly places Lily, age three, with great-grandmother Margaret and Quinn as backup guardian. When a disastrous fall leaves Margaret disabled, Lily goes to live with her beloved Auntie Quinn, transforming their lives. But Margaret wants to find Lily’s father. Her inquiry leads her to Zack Bradley, who meets the precocious Lily and falls in love with her, to the dismay of his wife, Jessica, as she agonizes over infertility concerns. Zack, a wonderful dad and friend, finds his heart torn between commitment to his beautiful wife and this new impromptu family. With a touch of Southern flair and the practical support of Quinn’s strongly supportive parenting group, each person grapples with their responsibilities and longings.
VERDICT Wells (Still the One) sympathetically and accessibly presents many sides to matters of infertility, grief, and ways families are chosen. This tender story full of warmth and hope is perfect for fans of Sarah Jio.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month